zirhk3355

All Tanglin Halt Road Neighbours! Report In Here!

Hi Guys, I have chosen a Daikin system 4 inverter. The Air-con man says the compressor is slightly too big to go through the MBR's window to the air-con ledge. He has suggested to cut off the frame of the window at the bottom by 3cm to let it through. And of cos he will 'repair' the cut after that.

How is the frame/window built smaller than others?

Regards. Dave

Edited by evad

maybe u shld try going for couple program

http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/PopularTopics/C...8July+07%29.htm

Can they really slide the compressor across from the kitchen window to aircon ledge? My husband did suggest that yesterday, but the aircon man was reluctant, saying the compressor weights 80kg! And he mentioned that the aircon ledge might still be too small for that compressor. :furious: He kept singing praises for the Mit invertor version. hmm...

I was taking the Mit system 4 non-invertor, that's why cannot go through the window. Yesterday I went down to the aircon shop and ask my salesman to calculate the "savings" I can get if I can switch to Mit invertor, we calculated based on 12 hours every night for one room. Can save $30 a month, so can breakeven in 3 years. quite worth it, if hypothesis is right.

But I feel that our Tanglin Halt area is quite windy, so I might not even on the aircon as often as my current place. How about the rest of you? Do you still on the aircon every night despite the windy conditions? I'm tempted to live in my unit for one week before deciding if I really need an invertor aircon.

As for my fridge space, we asked the contractor to leave a 80cm gap. It is too big a gap for a 60cm fridge. At that time, we didn't want too small a gap in case we upgrade to a bigger fridge in the future. Argh, I thought of doing some tiny shelving, but it's too wierd. So now I'm trying to find a big enough fridge to make the gap less obvious. :furious:

Now, I'm still hoping very much to get back the Sitex promotion. Crap, why didn't I pay attention to it in the first place??? :furious:

I think you should leave a comfortable gap for your fridge, for me i regreted for no planning a bigger space for my fridge and washing machine. now the gap between both fridge and washing machine is about 1cm and about 1.5cm from my kitchen carbinet.

Air-con compressor can be big and bulky, hdb have a standard guideline for compressor space.. So compressor should be able to go thru the window... For me i install invertor aircon.. ALthough now our area maybe very windy, it maybe due to year end season.. So is better to have inverted aircon standby for season that had no wind...

Hi Guys, I have chosen a Daikin system 4 inverter. The Air-con man says the compressor is slightly too big to go through the MBR's window to the air-con ledge. He has suggested to cut off the frame of the window at the bottom by 3cm to let it through. And of cos he will 'repair' the cut after that.

How is the frame/window built smaller than others?

Regards. Dave

mine's a Daikin SYstem 4 inverter too, but yet to install. The company didnt mention anything abt not been able to fit. I even have grilles on the window already.

Huh your grilles are on the aircon ledge windows already?? Then how you expect the aircon man to work man?? They have to climb out for installation one leh...

Please dun ask the man to climb out from the kitchen window; your flat is also quite high leh... :dunno:

Huh your grilles are on the aircon ledge windows already?? Then how you expect the aircon man to work man?? They have to climb out for installation one leh...

Please dun ask the man to climb out from the kitchen window; your flat is also quite high leh... :dunno:

I think those man climb out from the kitchen window, my neighbour, they actually climb out from the kitchen but with safety harness... anyway for me, i will just ask them to find a way to get it done without cutting anything and let me know how they do it...

That grille can open one i think, since it's 1 panel

Now I'm eyeing at one 68.5cm width fridge but height might still have problem, hopefully contractor left more than 1.8m space for me. :pray: My husband mentioned one 75cm fridge he saw in a brochure but this might have problem stuffing into that 80cm space ....my dad kept emphasizing that I should get a bigger fridge, he can't stand the small fridge that my mum bought for them. Haha.

As for aircon, I think I'll get the Daikin sys 4 non-invertor which according to aircon man, it can fit through our small window. Cheaper than Mit Starmex too..ha..I'll just use our natural free "aircon" more often.. :yamseng:

I think the stress of the reno must have gotten to both of us, that's why we fight! :dunno: We already have plans to enrol for a marriage counselling programme right after this reno!! Thanks for the link, SPACE.

Now I'm eyeing at one 68.5cm width fridge but height might still have problem, hopefully contractor left more than 1.8m space for me. :pray: My husband mentioned one 75cm fridge he saw in a brochure but this might have problem stuffing into that 80cm space ....my dad kept emphasizing that I should get a bigger fridge, he can't stand the small fridge that my mum bought for them. Haha.

As for aircon, I think I'll get the Daikin sys 4 non-invertor which according to aircon man, it can fit through our small window. Cheaper than Mit Starmex too..ha..I'll just use our natural free "aircon" more often.. :notti:

I think the stress of the reno must have gotten to both of us, that's why we fight! :notti: We already have plans to enrol for a marriage counselling programme right after this reno!! Thanks for the link, SPACE.

daikin? heard from gaincity's aircon man that daikin has only one compressor. if it were to fail then all the room's aircon will fail too. most of other brands has two compressors.

one 9000BTU compressor for MBR and

one 12000BTU compressor shared by two bedrooms.

so if one fails. the other can still work. but of course, if either of the compressor fails. the entire system needs to be changed of course.

i guess the aircon man just don wanna dismantle ur window to put the compressor unit out, therefore suggested u daikin. i'm using panasonic... my aircon man dismantled my window to put the compressor unit out. haha....

Ohhh that means can dismantle the windows...he said it cannot be dismantled! Armani, your aircon man is more hardworking...haha.

Actually if conditions are really so windy, I prefer to sleep without aircon and just on the fan. So my aircon is used just as a back-up. I'm quite alright with Daikin, only hope energy consumption will not be higher than Mit. I keep reading & hearing mixed reviews. Family & friends tell me Daikin is better, then forummers tell me Mit Starmex is better. Brrrr...it's so cold nowadays with that strong wind, I really don't see myself switching on my aircon much.

Ohhh that means can dismantle the windows...he said it cannot be dismantled! Armani, your aircon man is more hardworking...haha.

Actually if conditions are really so windy, I prefer to sleep without aircon and just on the fan. So my aircon is used just as a back-up. I'm quite alright with Daikin, only hope energy consumption will not be higher than Mit. I keep reading & hearing mixed reviews. Family & friends tell me Daikin is better, then forummers tell me Mit Starmex is better. Brrrr...it's so cold nowadays with that strong wind, I really don't see myself switching on my aircon much.

Hi JS21, I think if your usage is not heavy, any air-con will be fine for you cause the different may not look large enuff. I think price and durability will be the main considerations... Am a heavy usage person, so i get inverted and energy saving aircon.. coz when my bill come i will be in shock... =)

We collected the keys 2 weeks ago. In the processing of finalizing the reno items with ID, I've 2 questions needed your comments.

1. The ID charges $120 for installing water storage heater. Expensive? We intend to get a free gas water heater from Citygas. Will Citygas charge less for the installation?

2. Where to buy a nice and big top cabinet (will install above bathroom sink)? The ID quotes $900 for a 4-5 ft top cabinet with sliding mirror. Expensive?

Thank you.

1. The ID charges $120 for installing water storage heater. Expensive? We intend to get a free gas water heater from Citygas. Will Citygas charge less for the installation? Citygas does it at $80 (piping & install+free heater), ask your ID to save the trouble.

2. Where to buy a nice and big top cabinet (will install above bathroom sink)? The ID quotes $900 for a 4-5 ft top cabinet with sliding mirror. Expensive? thought our toilet is small. u can consider ikea mix & match

Edited by HOME2BE

Hi Home2Be,

Many thanks for your advice. Will take these items out from the reno quote.

One more question about Citygas gas heater installation. Does it come with valve? Or need to pay extra for it? Thank you.

Edited by GTeton

One more question about Citygas gas heater installation. Does it come with valve? Or need to pay extra for it? not too sure, got to ask around

remember your ID still need to connect water pipe to the kitchen tap etc... So he still need to charge you something. Citygas only fix up the heater from main base to the heater only but can help to relocate the pipe. Please get ur ID down to direct the piping linkage in case blocking any cabinate etc.

Edited by HOME2BE