zirhk3355

All Tanglin Halt Road Neighbours! Report In Here!

Yeah you are right - accrued interest seem to be yet another mystery figure from our govt sector. But why fret over it? All you have to do is to make sure everytime you return your cpf money, you take it out immediately thereafter.

Anyway, just for knowledge sake; its not easy to calculate such interests because its based on a monthly rest. You must use an Amortization Table to compute; can find the calculator everywhere on the net.

However, the trick is to know exactly what interest rate to calculate; as jule said, they had changed it to make our lives more difficult. There is like 1% increase in interest for the first $60k or something, then different rates for amounts thereafter. No more flat rate. So unless you are some kind of math whiz, its quite impossible to put your finger to the correct formula.

What do u mean by "All you have to do is to make sure everytime you return your cpf money, you take it out immediately thereafter."

i would put it slightly differently, whatever they say we have to pay...... we have not second option.....so why bother : )

ya... no point fretting over things we cannot control... more white hair...

Edited by TYM

What do u mean by "All you have to do is to make sure everytime you return your cpf money, you take it out immediately thereafter."

That means straightaway buy another property or use for investment lor! Whatever accrued interest you return is still yours to use in other places. But do that before you are 55, so that won't kana the minimum sum scheme.

Always keep your CPF at less than $20K; enough to tide over any harsh period of lose income, yet without letting them make use of our money to earn interests and investment.

Can I use the free waterheater from Citygas for rain shower? Will the jets be powerful enough? How long does the water takes to heat up? Is the citygas waterheater considered a storage heater?

Lastly, which is the best water heater for overall use? Citygas heater, instant heater, or storage tank heater?

Thanks for the feedback!

Can I use the free waterheater from Citygas for rain shower? Will the jets be powerful enough? How long does the water takes to heat up? Is the citygas waterheater considered a storage heater?

Lastly, which is the best water heater for overall use? Citygas heater, instant heater, or storage tank heater?

Thanks for the feedback!

I'm currently using storage tank heater. good enough for rain shower but instant water heater cannot becoz the water wouldn't be warm enough.

as for citygas heater, i'm not so sure.

Armani, which brand of water storage heater are you using? Is it good? How long does it take to heat up the water?

Is it possible to use 2 instant water heaters to combine as one for a powerful jet and hotter water? I read someone saying using 2 coils will do the trick, what does that mean?

And lastly, for condos, where do they hide the instant heater control? I feel like putting my instant heater control in the kitchen for both toliets, is that possible?

Armani, which brand of water storage heater are you using? Is it good? How long does it take to heat up the water?

Is it possible to use 2 instant water heaters to combine as one for a powerful jet and hotter water? I read someone saying using 2 coils will do the trick, what does that mean?

And lastly, for condos, where do they hide the instant heater control? I feel like putting my instant heater control in the kitchen for both toliets, is that possible?

i'm using ariston 30Litres storagr heater. if ur storage heater is permanently on then no waiting time.

but it consumes quite a lot of electricity in this way.

so better to keep it off and on it bout 20min before shower.

2x instant water works in such a way whereby the instant water heaters are connected in a serial mode.

first instant water heater will have cold water inlet and then it's outlet will be connected to 2nd instant water heater's inlet. Thus since the 1st water heater has heated up the water then 2nd water heater heats it up further. but i find not cost effective.

a storage heater cost 200++

2 instant water heater can easily cost you 300++ not worth it.

I'm using 25L Ariston storage heater

Anyone using evov living sofa? Wonder are their sofa washable?

Edited by SPACE

armani, my contractor seemed to have dumped my instruction manual for my ariston storage heater. Do u still have? I have completely no idea how to use.. :unsure:

or to make it easier, are u able to tell me what over here. I only see a knob and a light inidcator so shouldn't be too chim right? !!

Edited by divine_genie

armani, my contractor seemed to have dumped my instruction manual for my ariston storage heater. Do u still have? I have completely no idea how to use.. :unsure:

or to make it easier, are u able to tell me what over here. I only see a knob and a light inidcator so shouldn't be too chim right? !!

I should have it cos my heater's still in the box.. let me know if u still need by end of the week.

Is there a way to hide the air-con trunking? If cannot, how to minimise it? Quite depressing to know that despite getting a flat with hidden wiring, the air-con trunking would be exposed. :paint:

My husband's plan is to run the trunking from compressor to MBR, continue to 2nd and finally continue to 3rd bedroom. Another trunking from compressor all the way to living room. Is there a better way or any other way???

Also for electrical wiring for my wall fans, is there also a way to hide the wiring? Is it by the hacking of wall and concealing it, the way y'all were discussing earlier?

Is there a way to hide the air-con trunking? If cannot, how to minimise it? Quite depressing to know that despite getting a flat with hidden wiring, the air-con trunking would be exposed. :paint:

My husband's plan is to run the trunking from compressor to MBR, continue to 2nd and finally continue to 3rd bedroom. Another trunking from compressor all the way to living room. Is there a better way or any other way???

Also for electrical wiring for my wall fans, is there also a way to hide the wiring? Is it by the hacking of wall and concealing it, the way y'all were discussing earlier?

JS21, it depends. Most of my trunkings are hidden by false ceiling or boxed up. Aircon Trunking, of cos they will do as short if they can, save materials mah. But it's usually the height also, cos got to consider where the aircon unit is and water pipe/insulation. Regarding concealing of wire, usually the electrician will conceal for short distances, cos they also at risk for doing this. If it's for ceiling fan, it's tapping directly from where HDB puts for the light right ? So no trunking mah. Unless you are moving the point else where.

armani, my contractor seemed to have dumped my instruction manual for my ariston storage heater. Do u still have? I have completely no idea how to use.. :bangwall:

or to make it easier, are u able to tell me what over here. I only see a knob and a light inidcator so shouldn't be too chim right? :furious:

the heater easy to operate la. the knob is just temperature setting onli. other than that there's not much of other stuffs. the more clockwise = hotter water in storage heater

Is there a way to hide the air-con trunking? If cannot, how to minimise it? Quite depressing to know that despite getting a flat with hidden wiring, the air-con trunking would be exposed. !!

yup... same as jule's reply. hacking of wall to conceal wire is not allowed (but my contractor hacked as i wanted it to be shifted. shhh....) and

aircon piping and drainage: hide them in the false ceiling.

btw, after some thoughts, if u're hacking short distance(up to 50cm horizontally or vertically) of the wall to hide cables, hbd likely won't know becoz it's be covered by ur lights and ceiling fan. becoz the existing light points layout is approximate too.

Is there a way to hide the air-con trunking? If cannot, how to minimise it? Quite depressing to know that despite getting a flat with hidden wiring, the air-con trunking would be exposed. !!

Sorry.. you talking abt wall fans, not ceiling fans.. it's the same logic.. not too long distance.. if you have no false ceiling, especially if in rooms, the wire will need to run from a further distance, then not very recommended to conceal,but best is to check with your electrician..

Mine was arranged by my ID.. if cannot hide, she will box up for me or tell me where can see, a bit Im ok.

Sorry, I feel like ranting yet again! I could've done the air-con trunking first, before any other work commence, but the STUPID salesman said we must know the floor height first. As we didn't know the floor height, so we held back till now. My appointment for the trunking is supposed to be yesterday, but because I've already lost heart in this reno, I failed to checked properly, and by the time the aircon staff called to remind us of the appt yesterday, my husband said he's not free already. He doesn't want to prioritize this reno first. !!

Then today while studying how to run the aircon trunking, I realise we do not need to know the floor height at all as the trunking is done near to the ceiling!!! I'm not so technically inclined and don't even know how this whole aircon thingy work, but I expect my husband to realise it faster than I do! In fact, he was the one who pointed it out to me how to run the trunking. Yet he doesn't realise we do NOT need to know the floor height??!!! Now I want to do painting this weekend, and have to paint first without the air-con trunking. When it's done, have to paint over again, it's wasting my time and effort! !! !! :curse:

Moreover by the time they can only do the trunking on the 3 December, my parquet is already up, and I've to protect all the flooring when before, I can just hack care! So angry that the stupid salesman didn't ask us whether we're running the trunking along the ceiling, and immediately assumed we're running it along the floor..dodo! And my husband who always acts so technically inclined and a-sai and looks down on me for knowing nuts about technical things, didn't even realise this folly himself! kenasai! :wub::~:~

Edited by JS21