zirhk3355

All Tanglin Halt Road Neighbours! Report In Here!

Need some advise urgently...

My reno rubbish is left outside my house for the past 4-5 weeks. Any know who to call to get them cleared?

Thanks...

I am not sure if the building centre handles this, but I am sure this comes under town council. Try making a complaint to both of them and see what happens...

if you are looking for winnie the pooh, snoopy, doraemon etc type of clocks, you can go to chinatown.

it's actually opposite white orchid hotel. a little bit hard to find but just spend enough time to walk around and u be able to find.

it's not along main road so u need to walk into those small lanes>pass by shoes wholesalers>accessories like earring etc. i know of 3 such shops there. namely: Ok Station, My city and bebear.

the stuffs there are dirt cheap. and if u're buying 3 items, they will give u wholesale price. eg. 1piece is 100baht and if you buy 3 then it's be 75baht each. located at chinatown.

deco stuffs, you can try platinum fashion mall 5th floor. there's one shop selling handpainted signages(eg. toilet, my room, welcome) and also kitchen towel holders. located at pratunam area

another place is MBK centre 5th floor i think. there are quite a few shops selling some furnishing etc. located at pratunam area.

another place to try is suam lum night market. lots of stuffs there but muz at least slash the price by 60% then slowly let the owner bring up the price else sure get chopped. they have very nice lights, handmade carpets etc there.

you can refer to my webpage to see the stuffs that i bought. :unsure:

In Chinatown, the place to get those accessoories of cartoon, cute stuff are in Sampeng Lane (can find on the map).

Other deco stuff can also find in CCK Market, but only open on weekends.

if you are looking for winnie the pooh, snoopy, doraemon etc type of clocks, you can go to chinatown.

it's actually opposite white orchid hotel. a little bit hard to find but just spend enough time to walk around and u be able to find.

it's not along main road so u need to walk into those small lanes>pass by shoes wholesalers>accessories like earring etc. i know of 3 such shops there. namely: Ok Station, My city and bebear.

the stuffs there are dirt cheap. and if u're buying 3 items, they will give u wholesale price. eg. 1piece is 100baht and if you buy 3 then it's be 75baht each. located at chinatown.

deco stuffs, you can try platinum fashion mall 5th floor. there's one shop selling handpainted signages(eg. toilet, my room, welcome) and also kitchen towel holders. located at pratunam area

another place is MBK centre 5th floor i think. there are quite a few shops selling some furnishing etc. located at pratunam area.

another place to try is suam lum night market. lots of stuffs there but muz at least slash the price by 60% then slowly let the owner bring up the price else sure get chopped. they have very nice lights, handmade carpets etc there.

you can refer to my webpage to see the stuffs that i bought. :thumbs up:

Can try Khao sah or patunam market (near baiyoke sky), i think suan lum night bazzar close liao..

Wooh, looking forward myself to going BKK for household shopping at Suan Lum! That'll be early next year already, can't wait! Miss BKK! Armani, what kind of lightings did you see there? Can elaborate abit more, so I know what to expect? I intend to leave some lighting points as bulbs first, and slowly buy all the lights I like! Have been pushing myself to buy lightings, been to so many lighting shops all over the island until hubby buay tahan anymore!

Can try Khao sah or patunam market (near baiyoke sky), i think suan lum night bazzar close liao..

i just went to suam lum. it's open...

Wooh, looking forward myself to going BKK for household shopping at Suan Lum! That'll be early next year already, can't wait! Miss BKK! Armani, what kind of lightings did you see there? Can elaborate abit more, so I know what to expect? I intend to leave some lighting points as bulbs first, and slowly buy all the lights I like! Have been pushing myself to buy lightings, been to so many lighting shops all over the island until hubby buay tahan anymore!

those lightings they have are not those wall mounted type. it's more of those table lamp and floor lamp. something like those wooden rectangular cube with lights shining through the drawing outside.

but there's one particular shop in suam lum selling sort of designer light below.

ikea light

the difference is that it comes in all kind of shapes, size and colors. really really tempted to buy but baggage too heavy so didn't buy. a small one cost bout 10SGD only.

From the way u guys mention abt shopping in BKK, I hope my bombshelter has enough space for me to plce my loots from there.. Haha!

BTW.. Anyone with my problem? Reno 95% done but work just halt because of high volume in projects? I'm left just with a little bit more to go. :good:

I need to know when can I start painting my house? I've only done the marble flooring for the living/dining, still waiting to do the parquet flooring. Should I wait until after marble polishing before I start to paint? I'm afraid the workers would dirty the walls again. Also, when they sand the parquet, will that dirty the walls too?

Divine_genie, I think you should be more woried about baggage limit. I always have this problem when I go for holidays, end up have to put all the heavy stuff in hand carry, and pretend it's very light so that the crew wouldn't check! :good:

My problem is my contractor seems more gan cheong than me, keep pushing me to make up my mind fast, and kept reminding me it takes 2 weeks to do the carpentry. I'm so afraid he'll tell them the wrong colour. Already yesterday, I chose this colour laminate with a sensory feel (i.e. texture). He gave me a larger sample in same colour but WITHOUT the sensory feel! I told him it's not what I chose, he said I chose this colour what. Luckily we look at model number, a little bit different. So no more arguments.

I need to know when can I start painting my house? I've only done the marble flooring for the living/dining, still waiting to do the parquet flooring. Should I wait until after marble polishing before I start to paint? I'm afraid the workers would dirty the walls again. Also, when they sand the parquet, will that dirty the walls too?

Divine_genie, I think you should be more woried about baggage limit. I always have this problem when I go for holidays, end up have to put all the heavy stuff in hand carry, and pretend it's very light so that the crew wouldn't check! :jawdrop:

My problem is my contractor seems more gan cheong than me, keep pushing me to make up my mind fast, and kept reminding me it takes 2 weeks to do the carpentry. I'm so afraid he'll tell them the wrong colour. Already yesterday, I chose this colour laminate with a sensory feel (i.e. texture). He gave me a larger sample in same colour but WITHOUT the sensory feel! I told him it's not what I chose, he said I chose this colour what. Luckily we look at model number, a little bit different. So no more arguments.

Get them to cover the flooring before they paint. Currently, all my walls are painted but my bedrooms' laminate is not done yet.

Any neighbours know how CPF compute accrued interest? Wanted to ask cos was just checking the CPF website and realised the accrued interest seems to be accumulating quite fast.

Our first deduction (10%) was in Feb 07 and the rest was deducted when we collected our keys in Jun 07.

So does CPF start calculating accrued interest from the day of the 1st deduction?

What is the interest rate? 2.5%?

Can't seems to find the info on CPF website or anybody can point me to the link. Tks.

Any neighbours know how CPF compute accrued interest? Wanted to ask cos was just checking the CPF website and realised the accrued interest seems to be accumulating quite fast.

Our first deduction (10%) was in Feb 07 and the rest was deducted when we collected our keys in Jun 07.

So does CPF start calculating accrued interest from the day of the 1st deduction?

Can't seems to find the info on CPF website or anybody can point me to the link. Tks.

You mean calculation of interest on your money in the CPF Account ? There's some change in the interest rate recently.

Not the interest rate in the CPF OA and SA account but the accrued interest ie. interest your cpf would have earned if it was not used to purchase HDB flat.

Yeah you are right - accrued interest seem to be yet another mystery figure from our govt sector. But why fret over it? All you have to do is to make sure everytime you return your cpf money, you take it out immediately thereafter.

Anyway, just for knowledge sake; its not easy to calculate such interests because its based on a monthly rest. You must use an Amortization Table to compute; can find the calculator everywhere on the net.

However, the trick is to know exactly what interest rate to calculate; as jule said, they had changed it to make our lives more difficult. There is like 1% increase in interest for the first $60k or something, then different rates for amounts thereafter. No more flat rate. So unless you are some kind of math whiz, its quite impossible to put your finger to the correct formula.