The Guru 0 Report post Posted November 13, 2007 Anyone using Hubstation? I need some advise... As for the conceal electrical conduits... By right, is cannot hack the walls... if i not wrong, HDB say must apply... subject to approval...Then again, depends on your electrician too... If they are those who have License one, they will not hack, cos HDB will terminate their license if kena caught... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
djulyn 0 Report post Posted November 14, 2007 Hi all, need advise from you.My mum's place's window and handle needs fixing but the original contractor no longer in business... over 7 years liao. any recommendations on who I can look for to fix?Thanks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skyspectrum 0 Report post Posted November 14, 2007 For replacement of window grills/handles/joints, you can contact any of the authorised HDB contractors. You can source this in HDB website. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
evad 0 Report post Posted November 14, 2007 Dear to be neighbours, I finally got my keys. Hopefully someone can advice me if the "heater" switches outside the two bathrooms. Are these for those individually electric heaters or can they be use to on / off at the two individual bathrooms even though using those centralised gas heaters fixed in the kitchen. Appreciate your advice. Thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
vineyard 0 Report post Posted November 14, 2007 (edited) How big is the area to be covered with mirror, ie the HS door + adjacent walls?My flat got this mirror wall, 2 x tinted black mirror + 1 x clear mirror, floor to ceiling, wide about 2m, damage is $800+. According to the contractor, tinted mirrors are about 150% times more ex than clear ones.So if your total area is about my size or less, maybe possible $500+ or $600+... I wanted to install a tinted black glass mirror too during the reno, but in the end my id just say that the glass cannot be a square glass as the HDB's wall is tilted with reference to the edge, i will need a customised glass to fit in.... cost extra $$$.. so i just say forget it.. i will diy.cost of tinted black mirror of area ~1.8 x 0.74 x 2.0 x 0.8 m = 0$ ( i am related to the glass industry. but normal practice is $9/sq feet)cost of transporting the mirror myself (looking like a contractor in the lift) = 0$cost of MaxBond to fix up the mirror = $8.50 cost of seeing the whole mirror fix up in the living room and look nice when the id say its expensive or impossible but you DIY = priceless!Dear to be neighbours, I finally got my keys. Hopefully someone can advice me if the "heater" switches outside the two bathrooms. Are these for those individually electric heaters or can they be use to on / off at the two individual bathrooms even though using those centralised gas heaters fixed in the kitchen. Appreciate your advice. Thanksthe switch in each toilet is meant for each individual toilet i.e. you cannot control the central heater in the kitchen with the switch in your MBR. unless your electrician wants to rewire for you. i am using the MBR heater switch in the MBR for an extra socket in the MBR toilet for hair dryer and toothbrush and such...btw, its illegal (according to hdb) to have a electrical socket beside the toilet basin, because they are afraid that you might try to mix water and electricity..( oh when will these hdb people grow up?) Edited November 14, 2007 by vineyard Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted November 14, 2007 Dear to be neighbours, I finally got my keys. Hopefully someone can advice me if the "heater" switches outside the two bathrooms. Are these for those individually electric heaters or can they be use to on / off at the two individual bathrooms even though using those centralised gas heaters fixed in the kitchen. Appreciate your advice. ThanksMost of us should have three 'heater' switches; the two RIGHT OUTSIDE the respective toilets are for the instant heaters (installed inside the toilet and connected directly to your shower-head/rainshower) and one in the kitchen. You should find a grey box inside the toilets; this is where you hook up the instant heaters. The one in the kitchen is for the centralised ELECTRICAL heater.If you are using the centralised GAS heater, ALL these switches become useless; gas heaters work on water pressure, ie they turn on when they detected that had turned on the taps/showers, or upon low water pressure. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
deepakvali 0 Report post Posted November 15, 2007 cost of seeing the whole mirror fix up in the living room and look nice when the id say its expensive or impossible but you DIY = priceless!E 80/20 rule always apply, 80% of the ID's are just predators waiting to pounce on their preys, the easier to pounce the better so the less effort required to satisfy their hunger this analogy in renovation terms be, the less work the ID puts in with the best results is Good. Something that has a higher probability of failure or multiple reworks is a No-Go as it will definitely reduce the ID's bottomline.....nonetheless there are the exceptions but not many. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
evad 0 Report post Posted November 15, 2007 Hi VIneyard & Zirhk3355,Thanks for the information.Evad.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted November 15, 2007 E 80/20 rule always apply, 80% of the ID's are just predators waiting to pounce on their preys, the easier to pounce the better so the less effort required to satisfy their hunger this analogy in renovation terms be, the less work the ID puts in with the best results is Good. Something that has a higher probability of failure or multiple reworks is a No-Go as it will definitely reduce the ID's bottomline.....nonetheless there are the exceptions but not many.Sometimes the tricky question to ask when the ID says this and that cannot be done, is, "If I pay you each time you redo something, can it be done?" If the answer is yes, then tell him, "Well, sorry I am not going to pay that way, but you had just answered that it can be done. So just do it." Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
djulyn 0 Report post Posted November 15, 2007 For replacement of window grills/handles/joints, you can contact any of the authorised HDB contractors. You can source this in HDB website.Thanks! I was looking at the list but not sure who to pick heh. So wanted some recommendations. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
SPACE 0 Report post Posted November 16, 2007 Hi, just want to check, anyone of you have problem with the toilet bowl seat? I can't seem to be able to position it upright, it just keep falling back down Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
armani 0 Report post Posted November 16, 2007 How big is the area to be covered with mirror, ie the HS door + adjacent walls?My flat got this mirror wall, 2 x tinted black mirror + 1 x clear mirror, floor to ceiling, wide about 2m, damage is $800+. According to the contractor, tinted mirrors are about 150% times more ex than clear ones.So if your total area is about my size or less, maybe possible $500+ or $600+... i just came back from bangkok. bought a huge pooh bear clock for less than 10SGD and a few others stuffs. oops... too much side-track. thanks a lot. seems like the feature walls quite cheap. i'll be doing my HSS and perhaps the two walls near HSS. shall be going to new hse to look see on saturday. i guess reno shd be completed. shall do an inspection then can takeover. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
divine_genie 0 Report post Posted November 17, 2007 armani, any good places to intro for purchase of housing stuff like deco, clocks etc in BKK?? Am heading to BKK next month Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TYM 0 Report post Posted November 17, 2007 Hi, just want to check, anyone of you have problem with the toilet bowl seat? I can't seem to be able to position it upright, it just keep falling back down No such problem for us. Can get Building Service Centre to check, they are pretty nice. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
armani 0 Report post Posted November 18, 2007 armani, any good places to intro for purchase of housing stuff like deco, clocks etc in BKK?? Am heading to BKK next monthif you are looking for winnie the pooh, snoopy, doraemon etc type of clocks, you can go to chinatown.it's actually opposite white orchid hotel. a little bit hard to find but just spend enough time to walk around and u be able to find.it's not along main road so u need to walk into those small lanes>pass by shoes wholesalers>accessories like earring etc. i know of 3 such shops there. namely: Ok Station, My city and bebear. the stuffs there are dirt cheap. and if u're buying 3 items, they will give u wholesale price. eg. 1piece is 100baht and if you buy 3 then it's be 75baht each. located at chinatown.deco stuffs, you can try platinum fashion mall 5th floor. there's one shop selling handpainted signages(eg. toilet, my room, welcome) and also kitchen towel holders. located at pratunam areaanother place is MBK centre 5th floor i think. there are quite a few shops selling some furnishing etc. located at pratunam area.another place to try is suam lum night market. lots of stuffs there but muz at least slash the price by 60% then slowly let the owner bring up the price else sure get chopped. they have very nice lights, handmade carpets etc there. you can refer to my webpage to see the stuffs that i bought. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites