SPACE 0 Report post Posted November 1, 2007 (edited) Was ondering anyone using private gas?yap that is the standard pricingCan someone tell me is it true that for Tanglin Halt, haulage cost is fixed, whether it's for whole house or just living/dining. The haulage guy told my husband the haulage cost is $950 for our 4 room unit, whether be it for whole house or just living/dining. Is that true? Can someone verify that for me? We only need haulage for living/dining only, really don't want to be kotoh! Tks! Edited November 1, 2007 by SPACE Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
HOME2BE 0 Report post Posted November 1, 2007 Can anyone help me to get the dimension for the followings?1) Bedroom Door 2) Toilet Door3) MainDoor Metal gateThanks in advance! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
deepakvali 0 Report post Posted November 1, 2007 deepakvali, hahahaa.. next thurs is deepavali lor.. u have any idea which part of clementi they move to?eh harlowr, deepavali bears no signifcance to me other then it being a horliday or i am not sure which part of clementi they moved to, if i dont remember wrongly its somewhere in central as they were featured in The Sunday Times - LIFE section some months back..... i guess you can tell from here i aint any chicken rice fan....... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LadyLuck 0 Report post Posted November 1, 2007 eh harlowr, deepavali bears no signifcance to me other then it being a horliday or i am not sure which part of clementi they moved to, if i dont remember wrongly its somewhere in central as they were featured in The Sunday Times - LIFE section some months back..... i guess you can tell from here i aint any chicken rice fan.......hahaaa.. ok. got it.thanks anyway, wow featured in THE sunday time ah. erm.... but really nice hor. chicken extra tender Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
deepakvali 0 Report post Posted November 1, 2007 hahaaa.. ok. got it.thanks anyway, wow featured in THE sunday time ah. erm.... but really nice hor. chicken extra tenderi personally enjoy the chicken rice stall at Mei Ling Street market (ex Magaret Drive) not because the Chicken is tasty but because I can eat the Rice with boiled Bean Sprouts....I usually pass on the chicken Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LadyLuck 0 Report post Posted November 1, 2007 i personally enjoy the chicken rice stall at Mei Ling Street market (ex Magaret Drive) not because the Chicken is tasty but because I can eat the Rice with boiled Bean Sprouts....I usually pass on the chicken oh.. jus for the boiled bean sprouts ya.. heheee too bad i cant take lar, if its not halal strange feeling hungry now Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted November 1, 2007 Can someone tell me is it true that for Tanglin Halt, haulage cost is fixed, whether it's for whole house or just living/dining. The haulage guy told my husband the haulage cost is $950 for our 4 room unit, whether be it for whole house or just living/dining. Is that true? Can someone verify that for me? We only need haulage for living/dining only, really don't want to be kotoh! Tks!For my case (5-rm) it was $1250, then my ID bargained with them saying that only living/dining, so they conceded at $900. However, the sand guy does not seemed to be the same one now...Perhaps now that alot of people had done their reno so the sand contractor decided to increase the price, and/or be more strict on bargaining. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
JS21 0 Report post Posted November 2, 2007 You are right. It's not the same guy. The new guy quite screw up (imo). Few days ago, my marble put at my block's lobby for a few hours UNATTENDED, before he sent his men to cart it up. He told my husband, anything missing, he'll pay. So my husband decided not to wait not knowing when they'll appear, marble arrived around 3pm, he left, leaving the marble unattended. Then at 7pm, the haulage guy called him saying he does not want to be responsible if any tile is misiing, so my husband gotta make a trip back to count the no. of tiles. Luckily, nothing missing.Then yesterday, my contractor ordered the white cement, a tin of bondage stuff, and other miscellaneous stuff wrapped up in a huge bag. It was also left unattended for many hours! My husband called the haulage guy who again said anything missing, he'll pay. Initially he said 7pm will get his men to haul it up. At 8+pm, we went to check, the stuff were still there, only thing is, one hole in the bag, and the tin was missing! My husband called the haulage guy and told him something's missing already, and within minutes, the haulage guy suddenly turned up with all his bangala workers! He said since morning, he saw the stuff and already there was a hole, already like this! He was quite defensive. My huaband don't want to be involved, tell him that's between him and our contractor. So sickening, I think it's that haulage guy's fault, but anyway, see how they're gonna settle it. Hopefully it'll be replaced, and they wouldn't try to substitute it with a cheaper product or not use it at all. Moreover, our contractor don't know why so kan chiong to pay the haulage guy, already paid him already. Now wanna settle things, even harder! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted November 2, 2007 You are right. It's not the same guy. The new guy quite screw up (imo). Few days ago, my marble put at my block's lobby for a few hours UNATTENDED, before he sent his men to cart it up. He told my husband, anything missing, he'll pay. So my husband decided not to wait not knowing when they'll appear, marble arrived around 3pm, he left, leaving the marble unattended. Then at 7pm, the haulage guy called him saying he does not want to be responsible if any tile is misiing, so my husband gotta make a trip back to count the no. of tiles. Luckily, nothing missing.Then yesterday, my contractor ordered the white cement, a tin of bondage stuff, and other miscellaneous stuff wrapped up in a huge bag. It was also left unattended for many hours! My husband called the haulage guy who again said anything missing, he'll pay. Initially he said 7pm will get his men to haul it up. At 8+pm, we went to check, the stuff were still there, only thing is, one hole in the bag, and the tin was missing! My husband called the haulage guy and told him something's missing already, and within minutes, the haulage guy suddenly turned up with all his bangala workers! He said since morning, he saw the stuff and already there was a hole, already like this! He was quite defensive. My huaband don't want to be involved, tell him that's between him and our contractor. So sickening, I think it's that haulage guy's fault, but anyway, see how they're gonna settle it. Hopefully it'll be replaced, and they wouldn't try to substitute it with a cheaper product or not use it at all. Moreover, our contractor don't know why so kan chiong to pay the haulage guy, already paid him already. Now wanna settle things, even harder!Usually the items are left unattended at the void deck, but just like you, I was very uncomfortable at first. My items delivered were also left there for a few hours and sometimes half a day as well. I guess this is "market practice" ba??But your husband is right, the issue for the missing items is between your contractor and the haulage guys, don't get involved. Even in the first place, the marble tiles being delivered also you all should not get involved; if missing then its their problem! Once you start to call them and all that, then you become involved and they will try to push things to you.Payment-wise, yes usually the haulage people need to be paid first before any work is done; that's what I did also. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
deepakvali 0 Report post Posted November 2, 2007 oh.. jus for the boiled bean sprouts ya.. heheee too bad i cant take lar, if its not halal strange feeling hungry now after all this talk, despite having a nice full dinner at 7PM, i went to Magaret Drive Hawker Center for a nice warm packet of Char Kuey Teow at 9.45PM with a big warm bowl of Red Bean Soup....made my night so nice with deep snooze !!that day while these bhangladeshi work, it reminds me so clearly of how army personnel work with eye power.....i witnessed the exact culture while they were carting packs of tiles up to my place....reminds me of the good old days Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TYM 0 Report post Posted November 2, 2007 after all this talk, despite having a nice full dinner at 7PM, i went to Magaret Drive Hawker Center for a nice warm packet of Char Kuey Teow at 9.45PM with a big warm bowl of Red Bean Soup....made my night so nice with deep snooze Sinful but yummy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
JS21 0 Report post Posted November 2, 2007 The HDB people are coming to my place to cement screed the 3 bedrooms on Monday. What height shall I tell them to do? I'm supposed to mark it out on the wall. My marble height is 20mm, and timber strip height is 24mm (inclusive of layer of plywood beneath). I'm thinking as thinly as possible as,1) too high, and looks like I have to dismantle all the doors!2) I don't want the ceiling to be even lower if cement is too thick.Is it possible to do just a very thin level, enough to level the floor? Any comments & ideas will be appreciated! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TYM 0 Report post Posted November 2, 2007 The HDB people are coming to my place to cement screed the 3 bedrooms on Monday. What height shall I tell them to do? I'm supposed to mark it out on the wall. My marble height is 20mm, and timber strip height is 24mm (inclusive of layer of plywood beneath). I'm thinking as thinly as possible as,1) too high, and looks like I have to dismantle all the doors!2) I don't want the ceiling to be even lower if cement is too thick.Is it possible to do just a very thin level, enough to level the floor? Any comments & ideas will be appreciated!Mark it out on your own? I tot your contractor supposed to coordinate all these for you? I am not so sure cos if you mark it out on your own, there is a risk that you floor may end up uneven as the base for each rooms may not be at the same level to begin with. Anyway, our screeding was done by ID so his tilers know the final floor level for the whole house. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
JS21 0 Report post Posted November 2, 2007 We're letting Jason Parquet do the timber flooring, that's why it doesn't really involve the contractor. He only say after the cement screeding for bedrooms, they'll do the marble height accordingly so that whole house would be level. But thing is, the door height is very low, so if cement + flooring material too thick, have to dismantle the door liao! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
JS21 0 Report post Posted November 2, 2007 Our contractor said the bedroom doors can be sawed, but will be ugly<--Duh! He said the cement screeding people will know what height to do. So I guess on that day, both of us have to be around to make sure the layer of cement used have to leave a gap of at least 26-27 mm for the timber strips inclusive of 2-3mm allowance. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites