zirhk3355

All Tanglin Halt Road Neighbours! Report In Here!

Went to MSCP Garden last weekend. Seen some ppl started to vandalize all the fire hose box. Glass shattered everywhere 8| So sad :(

Lots of young punks start hanging around there too doing hanky panky in school uniforms. Saw very very young boys at the hall in front of blk 89 & 91 smoking at nite too :P

Haiyoooo... what lah going to happen to the neighborhood :bangwall:

Hi Zirk

Saw your blog about the metal gate. Do you have the contact number of the handyman? I think safer to do it too.

Does bring up concerns about the safety of the area though. Seems like the situation not very good :bangwall:8|

Last week, this hinge welding handyman approached me (2nd time) at the door and suggested me to reinforce my hinges. He charged me 6 bolts & nuts + welding and painting for S$90. A little confused, because after Khriz put up the price at his blog, it supposed to be S$60. So I told him that someone at block 89 was charged at S$60 only leh. Then he said,"Oh, that one is only welding, no bolts and nuts, so S$10 per hinge." Then I told him that, "No mah, that someone said inclusive of everything leh." Then he finally admit that,"Oh yah, that guy and his 2 other neighbours together, so I charged him cheap. Ok lah, I also charge you cheap." Then I kachiao him again by saying,"Then can I just do it for 4 hinges?" Then he a bit sianz liao, said,"No lah, minimum 6 leh." Then remembered that he told me before the 1st time we met he said my door only need 4 hinges, I told him,"No mah, last time you told me 4 can liao, no need 6." Then he really fed up and said, "Hey, you should do more, just recently there's a break in leh, come'on..." Then I told him I will discuss my wife first. So he said ok and left.

Later I went to the NPP downstairs and verify with the police that whether there is any break ins at Tanglin Halt new flats recently. The policeman told me yes there are but most of them are isolated cases, meaning the thief only take advantages of tenants who didn't lock their gate and steal their stuffs. He also said there are none of the cases which is break in by hacking the hinges. I also showed the policeman the pics of the hinges before and after welding. He said,"This is the first time I've seen these things." But he said this handyman is not a conman, he's just trying to sell. And whether the hinges are reliable or not depending on individual whether to have an extra protection or not. And it's no harm lor...

So if the handyman approach me again, I think I will tell him that," Hey, you told me got break in cases recently, but none of them are by breaking of the hinges leh, how do you explain that?" I think by then, he won't approach me again liao. But I think I won't tell him that, I will just ask him how much does it cost to just weld the hinges instead of reinforce it with bolt and nut. I having low budget mah...hehe

Went to MSCP Garden last weekend. Seen some ppl started to vandalize all the fire hose box. Glass shattered everywhere 8| So sad :(

Lots of young punks start hanging around there too doing hanky panky in school uniforms. Saw very very young boys at the hall in front of blk 89 & 91 smoking at nite too :P

Haiyoooo... what lah going to happen to the neighborhood :bangwall:

well its like that, i jus cannot comprehend the behaviour of these junior members of our society...assuming one day they get sick n tired of the MSCP garden, they prob start vandalizing vehicles in the carpark....this starts to get me worried

Outside MSCP lift at Level 5, roof garden.

mscpvandal1pf3.jpg

---

mscpvandal2fo7.jpg

In the middle of the roof garden.

mscpvandal3cq7.jpg

---

mscpvandal4qt8.jpg

I had already forwarded the pics to our NPP and town council. Also gave them some pics the other day of a few boys cycling and skateboarding at the roof garden, but not so nice to put their faces here. I guess they will have people knocking on their doors soon... :notti:

BTW I also made another complaint against town council; notice the first fire hose? WHY IS IT NOT USING TEMPERED GLASS??

dude

my neighbour car kena liao. cash card, etc was stolen from his car that was parked at the mscp. but he didnt make police report though.

That's so terrible! :notti:

Maybe should form our own neighborhood watch like the good old days.

Actually this neighborhood used to be notorious for drugs and gang fights. I guess it still is :sport-smiley-004: Just 2 weeks ago, I witness gang fights at the playground right outside the NPP!! One Indian guy kena beaten up till bloody faced. The gang multi-racial one. One member angmo looking some more :notti:

Maybe should form our own neighborhood watch like the good old days.

Actually this neighborhood used to be notorious for drugs and gang fights. I guess it still is :sport-smiley-004: Just 2 weeks ago, I witness gang fights at the playground right outside the NPP!! One Indian guy kena beaten up till bloody faced. The gang multi-racial one. One member angmo looking some more :notti:

You are very right! I had been staying here since I was in sec 2 and had seen everything - from gang fights, to drugs, to glue sniffing, etc. During my schooling days, I was even unwittingly pulled into some incidents, like staring, neighbour disputes, BGRs, etc; luckily all along I was also quite big-sized and got a few "those-kind-of" friends, so didn't get badly injured or anything.

Nevertheless, fret not, its not as bad now. The really bad ones were thrown into jail, rehab or move away to avoid trouble, the changed ones also moved out. Now left with only a few kids, that are just mischief rather than trouble-maker.

Oh ya neighbourhood watch is definitely very useful. I had always tried to organise people at my current estate for Citizens On Patrol (COP) with my dad, but perhaps due to the age groups, the RC here rather go for bus trips to bring the old folks for joyrides.

Hopefully with more youngsters in, there will be more volunteers...

it is time they install Circuit camera's at e carpark and roof garden. the MSCP at my current place has the camera and is a very good deterent for acts of vandals as these cameras are placed very strategically.

mscpvandal1pf3.jpg

How come no fire hose in the fire hose box? Ganna stolen? :yamseng:

It is sad that our few months old neighbourhood is already being vandalised. Everytime I went to check out the progress of my reno, do feel a bit sad that our neighbourhood is getting dirtier and the lifts interior are being scratched. Hopefully this is only temporary and mainly bcos of the reno going on. Really hope that the building services centre/main contractor will rectify all the damages and defects after most of the reno are completed and residents have settled down.

This is our neighbourhood and we should do our part to protect and maintain it. Support the neighbourhood watch proposal.

it is time they install Circuit camera's at e carpark and roof garden. the MSCP at my current place has the camera and is a very good deterent for acts of vandals as these cameras are placed very strategically.

I caught your hint; as long as placed strategically, the rest doesn't really matter, right?? Hehe... :rolleyes:

These are vandals we're talking about, for all you know they might just paint over the camera lens, if they don't just steal the camera itself. I'm down for the COP thing

There's already graffiti on the tables opposite the letterboxes at blk 91, that pisses me off...i'm not happy about punks scrawling their declarations of love all over the place, i mean who cares

I hope the fire hose just hasn't been installed yet, what would you do with a stolen fire hose? :dunno:

A new question, do we need to update our address at the NPP?

A check with the ICA website says we need to update within 24 days at the NPP. But I remember asking the HDB officer when we collect the keys and he says it will be automatically updated throughout the goverment bodies...

Did any of you update your address please enlighten ;)

These are vandals we're talking about, for all you know they might just paint over the camera lens, if they don't just steal the camera itself. I'm down for the COP thing

There's already graffiti on the tables opposite the letterboxes at blk 91, that pisses me off...i'm not happy about punks scrawling their declarations of love all over the place, i mean who cares

I hope the fire hose just hasn't been installed yet, what would you do with a stolen fire hose? :dunno:

Blk 91! That is my block! :curse:

Fire hose by itself is not worth a lot of money but rather the bronze/copper coupling that is more valuable. It is not what you would do with a fire hose but rather what you would do without when you really need one. These vandals and thiefs really need to be punished. :)

The cops at our NPP really need to get off their butts and walk around the neighbourhood to show their presence. How much do they know what is happening in the neighbourhood sitting in the air-con NPP.

Edited by TYM

Blk 91! That is my block! :)

same lor...wah lao new block kena lidat liao...wtf

The cops at our NPP really need to get off their butts and walk around the neighbourhood to show their presence. How much do they know what is happening in the neighbourhood sitting in the air-con NPP.

To be fair to them I did come across 2 policemen making their rounds at our block when I was popping by my house in the afternoon...but how much coverage can 2 guys provide?