lynzi 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2007 As for me, I'm doing l-box for my living and an island false ceiling juz for my dining. So my false ceiling is the exact same measurement as my dining table. In all, I'm only using 8 PLC. Me and hubby don't like too many downlights like my parent's place cos in the end they only use the normal ceiling lights. We don't quite like false ceiling all the way as we wanna save money too. At first we wanted to do l-box for dining area also but my ID said if do smaller false ceiling will be cheaper than to do l-box all round. So ok lor...we juz follow wat he said. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gothique 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2007 helloi think it's possible not to do any ceiling works in the "false ceiling / Lbox" manner. but i think one central light in a room is not enough cuz the corners tend to get darker. and there will be quite strong shadows. better to have a few sources of "milder" light spread over the ceiling, rather than one single strong source of light in the center.How to achieve that without false ceiling / Lbox, i am not sure! if u can live with the trunking I guess it's fine... by the way, false ceiling and L box is made of gypsum is it? the same material as we use for false wall partition? or different? any kind soul please enlighten. I actuallly thought of having just a board to cover all the trunking cuz i don't really want to get PLC lights which i understand needs 6 inch false ceiling. if just normal light, can just drop like 2 inch?thanks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
threecharacters 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2007 helloi think it's possible not to do any ceiling works in the "false ceiling / Lbox" manner. but i think one central light in a room is not enough cuz the corners tend to get darker. and there will be quite strong shadows. better to have a few sources of "milder" light spread over the ceiling, rather than one single strong source of light in the center.How to achieve that without false ceiling / Lbox, i am not sure! if u can live with the trunking I guess it's fine... by the way, false ceiling and L box is made of gypsum is it? the same material as we use for false wall partition? or different? any kind soul please enlighten. I actuallly thought of having just a board to cover all the trunking cuz i don't really want to get PLC lights which i understand needs 6 inch false ceiling. if just normal light, can just drop like 2 inch?thanks.Ahh.. I don't have false ceiling in my place. The corners which are darker are lit up by floor lamps, and little table lamps etc. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
storeberry 0 Report post Posted March 9, 2007 My current house have conices with downlights so I am thinking whether to have a L-box to make it more modern or just leave with the conices... What do the rest think? What's the different between L-box & false ceilings? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lawry 3 Report post Posted March 10, 2007 You can also include wall lamps and floor lamps if sufficient illumination is your main concern and you don't want to see the trunkings.False ceiling or L box is easy $1000+ each, not to mention all the PLC lights you have to install on them, additional installation cost and wiring costs as well. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gothique 0 Report post Posted March 10, 2007 hi peeps...yeah i think false ceiling not cheap, min will be $1k or more, and that excludes lights. Wall lamps also need trunking, if yours is old resale flate then cannot hide!Floor lamps nice but there will be wires running all over the place. to me, that is the same as trunking or even worse cuz when mopping the floor, will be quite headache to mop over / under all the wires! Anyone comment?oh and i also check with contractor, even if dun have PLC lights, min height drop for false ceiling is 4 inch due to the bracket min height. so that will be out for me... most likely going for L box... which is cheaper it seems. Still sourcing for quotes... haiz.. headache! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
storeberry 0 Report post Posted March 11, 2007 Hi a contractor quoted me for a L-box at my living hall for $250 then to intsall 5 fluorescent light for $350. Reasonable? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bubblepearl 0 Report post Posted March 12, 2007 storeberry, the 5 fluorescent light for $350 include wiring, cabling, switches and the tube itself? If just installation only..abit exp leh.Btw..is that false ceiling can use lesser PLC? while L-box requires more PLC? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sakae sushi 0 Report post Posted April 9, 2007 hello my supplier quote me below. is the quote reasonable?living, dining & kitchen9mm thick plaster ceiling: 406ft2 = $730.00L box (recess lighting): 39ft = $175vertical board for recess lighting: 39ft = $80.00bedroom and MBR9mm thick plaster ceiling: 429ft2 = $775.002 toilet9mm thick plaster ceiling: 38ft2 = $70.00total about $1915.00 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites