bykaraanne 30 Report post Posted October 17, 2015 Mwahh love your descriptions and reviews! We're rushing from place to place today, but I'll reread your posts again when we have time to breathe. Sending chummy thoughts your way! Xx.Sending chummy thoughts back. Didn't know you guys were still wrapping up purchases. I probably should have been similarly choosy with my choices. Hahaha. I just in and out with everything I buy sia! Hope you got great loots today! xx Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Peachydurians 2 Report post Posted October 17, 2015 Sending chummy thoughts back. Didn't know you guys were still wrapping up purchases. I probably should have been similarly choosy with my choices. Hahaha. I just in and out with everything I buy sia! Hope you got great loots today! xxAhaha not quite, we had multiple errands to run hence the rush. We just went into gain city and bought the fridge that best fit our dimensions! Then hubs already had a budget for washing machine so we just got whatever fit it. Totes in and out. I love fresh flowers too! I used go to the flower warehouse once a week, a few bunches make a glorious difference. Some flowers dry well too so these can keep for months! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
doubleEM 4 Report post Posted October 17, 2015 That's some serious testing there that you have going Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bykaraanne 30 Report post Posted October 17, 2015 Ahaha not quite, we had multiple errands to run hence the rush. We just went into gain city and bought the fridge that best fit our dimensions! Then hubs already had a budget for washing machine so we just got whatever fit it. Totes in and out. I love fresh flowers too! I used go to the flower warehouse once a week, a few bunches make a glorious difference. Some flowers dry well too so these can keep for months!Haha! I'm sure it will be good!!I feel like I'm regretting some things that I've bought or renovated (like the paint color) so feeling a bit mehhh Can't wait for it all to be over! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bykaraanne 30 Report post Posted October 17, 2015 That's some serious testing there that you have going Haha cus everyone kept telling us how bad solid top was... :/ but it was the only one closest to marble and that doesn't cost like $200pfr.Same like my lights... People kept telling me otherwise haha!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ahyong81 3 Report post Posted October 17, 2015 (edited) You must take note that the testing is done on a small piece. When its the whole big piece, if anything spill over, it will be on a bigger surface area and thus it will become much more obvious. If you are cooking very often, solid top might not last very long.When i say it dont last very long, i am refering to the condition of the counter top, it will look dated and ugly. Unless you really maintain it very well.If one dont mind that after 1 or 2 years the counter top look like old and dated, it should be ok Edited October 17, 2015 by Ahyong81 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bykaraanne 30 Report post Posted October 17, 2015 You must take note that the testing is done on a small piece. When its the whole big piece, if anything spill over, it will be on a bigger surface area and thus it will become much more obvious.If you are cooking very often, solid top might not last very long.When i say it dont last very long, i am refering to the condition of the counter top, it will look dated and ugly. Unless you really maintain it very well.If one dont mind that after 1 or 2 years the counter top look like old and dated, it should be ok I don't know why people keep saying that.The EC I'm staying at, heavy cooking, my landlord's one still as good as new. Scratches, definitely, but not stained. And we also never specially go scrub it...Same like everyone keep telling us 22W not bright enough all, end up is super bright... I mean, forgive me maybe I might sound defensive la, but solid top also got different qualities / ranges what. Everyone say until it's like trash, but it's still very popular in many different parts of the world, no?At the end of the day, Quartz, with uglier design, costs 2 - 3x more than this solid top... So weighing pros and cons, we decided to go and try lor, no choice. Our next choice is Caesarstone, quoted at $3960 for our tiny kitchen, and then Silestone, quoted at close to $2600, and then iQuartz, which is at least $2300... And who wouldn't mind something looking "old and dated after 2 years"? Of course we mind! But the truth is as I googled and reviewed solid top is still a very popular choice worldwide, and of course, is more susceptible than the rest but definitely not as bad as everyone is making it out to be.I guess we all wouldn't know unless someone tried? After all a lot of ECs and Condos in Singapore are using solid tops... Especially premium solid tops... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ahyong81 3 Report post Posted October 17, 2015 Actually u can try its not hard to change counter top anyway haha. Its next time you want to change to other also can de. Overseas, they mainly use granite countertop if i am not wrong... from HGtv haha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ahyong81 3 Report post Posted October 17, 2015 (edited) I do my i- quartz at 110 pfr. Not that ex.Why those people quote u so expensive. I do both side kitchen, old 4rm hdb has a bigger kitchen area, total i do 19ft. Only about 2k.Some of the previous id i went, they quote me 130 to 150 pfr for i-quartz.2.3k for how many foot? Your kitchen counter top exceed 19ft?And after doing some research online, solid top is not about staining, its about its easily scratch and chip off, in kitchen sure got heavy ware and knifes, so higher chances for scratches and accidentally chip off if something drop on the countertop.Countertop is not totally bad, if not why will there still be market for it.But just personal preference, if i see scratches or chip off, i will feel heart pain de.Found this on reno forumhttp://www.renotalk.com/forum/topic/46728-solid-surface-vs-granite-vs-quartz/ Edited October 17, 2015 by Ahyong81 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bykaraanne 30 Report post Posted October 17, 2015 Actually u can try its not hard to change counter top anyway haha. Its next time you want to change to other also can de. Overseas, they mainly use granite countertop if i am not wrong... from HGtv hahaI do my i- quartz at 110 pfr. Not that ex.Why those people quote u so expensive. I do both side kitchen, old 4rm hdb has a bigger kitchen area, total i do 19ft. Only about 2k.Some of the previous id i went, they quote me 130 to 150 pfr for i-quartz.2.3k for how many foot? Your kitchen counter top exceed 19ft?And after doing some research online, solid top is not about staining, its about its easily scratch and chip off, in kitchen sure got heavy ware and knifes, so higher chances for scratches and accidentally chip off if something drop on the countertop.Countertop is not totally bad, if not why will there still be market for it.But just personal preference, if i see scratches or chip off, i will feel heart pain de.Found this on reno forumhttp://www.renotalk.com/forum/topic/46728-solid-surface-vs-granite-vs-quartz/HGTV a lot also use solid top! LOL. There is zero scratches or chip off from my current solid top la. Angmohs also like to use Caesarstone and Silestone.iQuartz colors are not nice la. Their only one closest to marble I was quoted straight from them at $2k+. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bykaraanne 30 Report post Posted October 17, 2015 In fact, a LOT of HGTV makeovers use laminate flooring and solid top... Hahaha... My dad say we pay until used to it already. This is straight from iQuartz... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hc28 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2015 In fact, a LOT of HGTV makeovers use laminate flooring and solid top... Hahaha... My dad say we pay until used to it already. This is straight from iQuartz...Hi bykaranne! I was quoted both iquartz and granite at 110-112.5 per ft. Perhaps you can try getting from contractor instead? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ahyong81 3 Report post Posted October 18, 2015 My id told me even the herf flooring they take from the evorich is way cheaper then you get it from their roadshow at those furniture show. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bykaraanne 30 Report post Posted October 18, 2015 Not too sure if my contractor will have much more difference but I'll ask him...Their marble like countertop is not our fav so we did not pursue it. We will probably still go for the solid top since I am very careful in the kitchen most of the time (I have a lot of pot rests and towels on surfaces.)My hubby will be the ultimate decider I guess... Haha... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bykaraanne 30 Report post Posted October 18, 2015 (edited) I just realized iQuartz is quoting me like $220pfr which is madness. Much more expensive than Silestone which quoted $197pfr.My contractor is now helping me get from LH Quartz instead! Thanks guys, for forcing me to revisit the iQuartz quote. If not I would have assumed that the price was crazy like that. Hopefully LH Quartz will be much more responsive and reasonable for me! Edited October 18, 2015 by bykaraanne Share this post Link to post Share on other sites