TYM 0 Report post Posted March 27, 2007 Read in the U-weekly mag fengshui section the following about shoe cabinet design.Shoes are best placed near the door, not in other parts of the house like bedroom. Cos shoes come into contact with the 5 elements (gold, wood, water, fire & earth ) when worn outside, theroefore a bit messy.Placing shoes in the house other than near the door will bring the bad "qi" right into the house, affecting the occupants. But for shoes that are not worn out or for internal use only, it is ok to place in any part of the house.It was also mentioned that in fengshui, shoe cabinet design is the most ideal when it is 5 racks high, symbolising balance and harmony of the 5 elements. But for cabinets that are less than 5 racks high, it is also ok cos shoes natural element is Earth, ok to be nearer to ground. Placing shoes too high will cause the person wearing it to sprain or trip when walking (believe it or not). Further to being 5 racks high, every rack should place no more than 5 pair of shoes, again this symbolises the balance and harmony of the 5 elements.Placing of the shoe cabinet is also important. A person in a desk-bound job (Southeast) and one who is require to put in certain amount of labour in his job (*) will have different placement of their shoe cabinet. This position need not be changed annually.The tip of the shoes should be pointing inwards. Else when opening the cabinet, the tip will be pointing towards you, no good. Over time, it will affect your health.Just sharing what I have read. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
HSH21 1 Report post Posted March 27, 2007 The tip of the shoes should be pointing inwards. Else when opening the cabinet, the tip will be pointing towards you, no good. Over time, it will affect your health.Just sharing what I have read.This was what my HB read and told me... but hor... I read from somewhere that the shoes should not point inwards... so now I confused... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted March 27, 2007 This was what my HB read and told me... but hor... I read from somewhere that the shoes should not point inwards... so now I confused...just don point DOWNwards is ok liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
karen77sg 0 Report post Posted March 27, 2007 I ever heard 2 FSM mention tat we should not see the shoe cabinet once we open the main doorfrom the corridor.Shoe cabinet should be placed in a postion whereby u cannot see it from the corridor.Cos shoes are not "heng" things.....And the height of the shoe cabinet should not be taller than u. I did not ask my FSM why,just follow suit.Tats y the placing of my furniture is a bit odd as the shoe cabinet is just beside my dinningtable...Bo pian! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TYM 0 Report post Posted March 27, 2007 Sometime, there are just too many conflicting/different instructions and interpretations from different FSM.Sometime dun know who to listen or whether to listen or not. !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
HSH21 1 Report post Posted March 27, 2007 Shoe cabinet should be placed in a postion whereby u cannot see it from the corridor.Oh... how to put the shoe cabinet near the door and yet can't be seen from the corridor... At first I read that shoe cabinet is not suppose to be directly facing the main door... that's why I changed the position to next to the door... but it still can be seen from the corridor... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
karen77sg 0 Report post Posted March 27, 2007 Oh... how to put the shoe cabinet near the door and yet can't be seen from the corridor... At first I read that shoe cabinet is not suppose to be directly facing the main door... that's why I changed the position to next to the door... but it still can be seen from the corridor...Mine cannot be seen from the corridor...mabbe is due to the layout of the house.My FSM say if I were to put it on the other side, then will affect my hubby's career...Pengz...actually I would prefer to put there cos it is evenly spread out and more space for my dinningarea....but now cannot liao lo.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted March 28, 2007 Mine cannot be seen from the corridor...mabbe is due to the layout of the house.My FSM say if I were to put it on the other side, then will affect my hubby's career...Pengz...actually I would prefer to put there cos it is evenly spread out and more space for my dinningarea....but now cannot liao lo....sometimes just follow some simple guidelines when there are one too many "ways/solutions".1) dirty shoes should not be placed at the entrance of your house. Entrance is for Qi to enter.2) if possible, buy those cheap $2 rugs and place outside your house. when returning home, stamp/brush your shoes's bottom(outsole) b4 bringing them in.3) always clean your shoes. especially the outsole(bottom).4) buy shoe cabinets that allows the shoes to be place pointing upwards.placement of shoe cabinet is subjective to one's house(layout), just dont place it at your entrance blocking part of the walkway. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Glamqueen 0 Report post Posted March 28, 2007 Read in the U-weekly mag fengshui section the following about shoe cabinet design.Shoes are best placed near the door, not in other parts of the house like bedroom. Cos shoes come into contact with the 5 elements (gold, wood, water, fire & earth ) when worn outside, theroefore a bit messy.Placing shoes in the house other than near the door will bring the bad "qi" right into the house, affecting the occupants. But for shoes that are not worn out or for internal use only, it is ok to place in any part of the house.It was also mentioned that in fengshui, shoe cabinet design is the most ideal when it is 5 racks high, symbolising balance and harmony of the 5 elements. But for cabinets that are less than 5 racks high, it is also ok cos shoes natural element is Earth, ok to be nearer to ground. Placing shoes too high will cause the person wearing it to sprain or trip when walking (believe it or not). Further to being 5 racks high, every rack should place no more than 5 pair of shoes, again this symbolises the balance and harmony of the 5 elements.Placing of the shoe cabinet is also important. A person in a desk-bound job (Southeast) and one who is require to put in certain amount of labour in his job (*) will have different placement of their shoe cabinet. This position need not be changed annually.The tip of the shoes should be pointing inwards. Else when opening the cabinet, the tip will be pointing towards you, no good. Over time, it will affect your health.Just sharing what I have read.I think it makes sense to place shoes toes in....easier to retrieve shoes mah.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Homeowner 1 Report post Posted March 28, 2007 Oooh. Now I know why this ex-neighbour of mine always stamp his feet very loudly when he comes home... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted April 2, 2007 sometimes just follow some simple guidelines when there are one too many "ways/solutions".placement of shoe cabinet is subjective to one's house(layout), just dont place it at your entrance blocking part of the walkway.if it's like 5ft from the main door okay or notthinking of building a divider and use the bottom half as shoe cabinetalso, anyone know if the 5 rack refers to 5 shelves or 5 racks including the bottom... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
met 0 Report post Posted April 4, 2007 1) dirty shoes should not be placed at the entrance of your house. Entrance is for Qi to enter.Read from a link in this forum that the main door maybe not be necessary as the"Qi" entrance to ur hse,the FSM say its depends on which "opening" is more frequently use..like if ur main door is close most of the time while the living room window is the one always open,one can consider the window as the main entrance where the "Qi" enter,so there no fast and hard rule regarding this..any thoughts on this?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted April 4, 2007 Read from a link in this forum that the main door maybe not be necessary as the"Qi" entrance to ur hse,the FSM say its depends on which "opening" is more frequently use..like if ur main door is close most of the time while the living room window is the one always open,one can consider the window as the main entrance where the "Qi" enter,so there no fast and hard rule regarding this..any thoughts on this??that will be 纳气 for your livingroom, not for your whole house. it will depend on which direction your livingroom's windows are facing.a main door is the only place that humanbeing enters and leaves. unless the houseowner climbs in thru the window instead of the door. thats why the main door is always the main 纳气口 for the whole house. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
foreverhappy 0 Report post Posted June 23, 2007 Hi i am intending to custom made a full height cabinet. The upper half will be use for storage purpose nd he bottom half will be for placing of shoes then for this case is it ok or its still consider that the height it taller than the owner? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
enci 1 Report post Posted June 24, 2007 Hi i am intending to custom made a full height cabinet. The upper half will be use for storage purpose nd he bottom half will be for placing of shoes then for this case is it ok or its still consider that the height it taller than the owner?forever, if u r a Buddhist, then it does not matter and fengshui need not be applied and practised. The Buddhist's practical solution is " u happy then ok liao ". Alternatively, if u r a "fengshui-ist" , Taoist or non-buddhist, it is encourgable u consult a good fsm, which I personally think yr own "feel" is more impt. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites