hi Mmoh, i am a rainbow boy. LOL

Welcome Rainbow1979 & BunniBoi, another bunny! Is Rainbow a gal and Bunni a boy? If so, finally we got a boy here. Welcome to the growing 2-roomer family! :dancingqueen:

Rainbow, I saw similar a proposal in the HWZ thread pointed out by kyooko previously where the consideration is to hack the bedroom wall and create a wall to have a bigger bedroom but reducing the size of the living room.

Kyooko probably can share some info on the bathtub as she is considering 1 while I would never take up 1. :P

I like your kitchen layout, easy to place the appliances and cabinets.

My personal opinion hor, personally I dont like to showcase my bedroom to visitors although I do have plan to seal up the bathroom - kitchen wall so if there is any visitor, they have to go to the bathroom via my bedroom. but in general, I dont like the idea of hosting my guests with my bed in sight.

Anyway, going back to your design, do you want to consider the following:

• L-shaped wardrobe so that you have enough space yet can place your bed against the wall. Not sure if I remember correctly, saw somewhere that in fengshui (if you believe), it is better if your bed is against a wall
  • You can move your desk to the wall behind the display table
  • Your dining area blocks the walkway from living room to bedroom. You might like to consider a squarish table that is against the wall and can sits 3 pax instead of 4.
  • The "living room" space seems under utilised.

Just some personal opinion for your reference. :D

Bunniboy, probably 2Roomer can share some info about hidden bed with you.

Btw, when are you getting your bto?

LOL, paiseh, welcome rainbow boy :P

btw, nice design on the hidden tables & benches!

Since you are boy, do you need such a big closet?

Edited by mmoh

Actually, i wanted a walkin warerobe lol... i have alot of clothings one leh.

LOL, paiseh, welcome rainbow boy :P

btw, nice design on the hidden tables & benches!

Since you are boy, do you need such a big closet?

Ello mmoh

Yes am boi....the profile pic is pretty close to wat I look like.....lol

Well I just gotten the reply frm HDB on Wednesday, that my ballot was successful. Not sure when my date of selection yet...as Northshore residences will only be ready by 2020.... but am trying to find out more info frm u guys/gals, like what to look out for, things to note, what is necessary, good ID etc.

Actually, i wanted a walkin warerobe lol... i have alot of clothings one leh.

wah! must be fashionable boy! Actually if you want to hack the wall and dont mind a small living room, u can include a walk in wardrobe.

Ello mmoh

Yes am boi....the profile pic is pretty close to wat I look like.....lol

Well I just gotten the reply frm HDB on Wednesday, that my ballot was successful. Not sure when my date of selection yet...as Northshore residences will only be ready by 2020.... but am trying to find out more info frm u guys/gals, like what to look out for, things to note, what is necessary, good ID etc.

depends on ur Q no. shd be within the next few weeks. good luck to ur selection!

wow! 2020! another 5 yrs to go leh! so fast starts looking around liao! good to have so much time to research but note that 5 yrs down the road, the designs and technology would have changed alot, esp the technology.

Hi mmoh

My Q no. 22 hope able to get the unit, block & floor i wanted.

Ya lor...long way to go....that why slowly do research and get infomation I need and things need to look out for.

Hey all~ first time poster here.

Glad to see fellow singles in a 2-room thread.

A little bit about my future flat.

Its in Woodlands, currently still building, probably complete in 2017.

Will be getting an ID i suppose, but I guess its way too early for me to start planning now right?

Cheers everyone~

Here's my floorplan and a preliminary idea I have on what to do.

Anyone can help see and comment whether feasible ma? thanks~

Sorry if the image is too large lol, i only have MS paint at my disposal now.

*Edit* Amended image size so this time should be easier to view.

iz28b6.jpg

Edited by ryanyth

Hi ryanyth! welcome! You can start talking to ID but some may not entertain you. I have some contractors telling me to look for them after I have gotten the key as they prefer on site measurement.

Yours seems like a 37m2 unit with the sliding door? So far all the other 47m2 are all walls.

For your question on what is the thingy beside the household shelter. It is actually a cabinet to house all your electrical and cable switches. You can refer to a link I posted in page 5 on 2Roomer's question of using that as a shoe cabinet.

For your toilet, the design is good for a L-shaped shower screen, exactly what I wanted... -_- If you want to place a bathtub, you need to reposition the basin at the entrance? Then u need to change a sliding door maybe.

MS Paint, you can click resize to reduce the size.

Hi ryanyth! welcome! You can start talking to ID but some may not entertain you. I have some contractors telling me to look for them after I have gotten the key as they prefer on site measurement.

Yours seems like a 37m2 unit with the sliding door? So far all the other 47m2 are all walls.

For your question on what is the thingy beside the household shelter. It is actually a cabinet to house all your electrical and cable switches. You can refer to a link I posted in page 5 on 2Roomer's question of using that as a shoe cabinet.

For your toilet, the design is good for a L-shaped shower screen, exactly what I wanted... -_- If you want to place a bathtub, you need to reposition the basin at the entrance? Then u need to change a sliding door maybe.

MS Paint, you can click resize to reduce the size.

Thanks mmoh.

Ya I thought so to. Since my flat only ready in 2017 no point find an ID so soon lah. Now is brainstorm of ideas lol.

Ya it's a 37m2. And yea that's a sliding door, but I'll probably remove it and put string curtain to have a more open partition I guess. I don't like the idea of having a "hard" partition. A more open but "soft" partition like a string curtain is more for my taste imo. Not sure what this sliding door looks like also.

Sorry wasn't able to find a link you mentioned. Oh dear it's an electrical cabinet? Sian 1/2. Is it removable? So ugly they put a electrical cable box right at that area bleagh! Its not too big i hope? Thinking of making that corner into a gaming/entertainment corner.

Yea for toilet, my first choice is a small bathtub with shower.

But if die die cannot then L-shape shower like you mentioned lor.

Some additional info/question:

I opted for the Optional Components which means HDB will be doing my tiling.

While the tiles look plain, thats the kind of feel i want. Plain and Cold to the touch.

In fact, my whole place going for a pure white super minimalistic and accentuated with black colour lol~

That said, if the tiling is really koyak, i can still ask ID to remove all of them right?

Edited by ryanyth

Wow, hello everyone! :D This thread is brimming with activity all of a sudden! All the 2-roomers reporting in one by one, haha.

@rainbow1979

Your WIW dreams are not entirely lost! Can consider something like this I spotted on Pinterest: http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-azVIgLyYYV0/UHWPfHVvmLI/AAAAAAAAIi0/Xx-MPDmr-B4/s1600/Screen+Shot+2012-10-09+at+10.31.56+PM.png

There was another one where they build a partition wall right behind where your bed is placed so your bed is leaning against a wall (if you've fengshui concerns like what mmoh mentioned) but yet still have a nice division of space. Will update again when I dig it out from all my pins lol.

That said, if the tiling is really koyak, i can still ask ID to remove all of them right?

I believe there's a 3-year no-hacking rule for new bto flats - can overlay tho! :)

Sliding Door

HDB sliding door I took from the HDB Hub show flat.

The electrical cabinet is not removable. It is quite narrow actually.

let me try to attach the image here D3CCBCBD-2B40-4A0E-8A47-054E1573A5D7_zps

For tiles, if you hack the tiles, you need to do the water proofing again which I understand is very troublesome. Alternative is to over lay.

Edited by mmoh

Was wondering walk in wardrobe is really useful within the little space anot. Also budget only about $20k to play around leh.

Btw anyone have Lobang to buy furnishings from taobao? I heard from many people buying their interior stuffs online from sofa to cabinets and it's cheaper than Sg.

Wow, hello everyone! :D This thread is brimming with activity all of a sudden! All the 2-roomers reporting in one by one, haha.

@rainbow1979

Your WIW dreams are not entirely lost! Can consider something like this I spotted on Pinterest: http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-azVIgLyYYV0/UHWPfHVvmLI/AAAAAAAAIi0/Xx-MPDmr-B4/s1600/Screen+Shot+2012-10-09+at+10.31.56+PM.png

There was another one where they build a partition wall right behind where your bed is placed so your bed is leaning against a wall (if you've fengshui concerns like what mmoh mentioned) but yet still have a nice division of space. Will update again when I dig it out from all my pins lol.

HDB sliding door I took from the HDB Hub show flat.

The electrical cabinet is not removable. It is quite narrow actually.

let me try to attach the image here D3CCBCBD-2B40-4A0E-8A47-054E1573A5D7_zps

For tiles, if you hack the tiles, you need to do the water proofing again which I understand is very troublesome. Alternative is to over lay.

Thanks for the pics.

I'm definitely removing the sliding door. I'm not going for any wooden finishings.

that cabinet looks pretty big from what you have shown. Bleh can't buy a L-shape gaming desk to fit that corner. Need to think of some other way to do it Sian. :(

@rainbow1979

if u want a walk in wardrobe, I recommend making the shelter as one. I had a friend that install aluminium clothing rack that fit in nicely into the shelter. And because he no need wardrobe, the space is freed to do something else. You might wanna put that as consideration.