Unsure

Buying Flat That Has Been Announced As En-block (sers)

How do you go about knowing which SERS flat owners wants to sell to you? Do you engage an agent to help or went around knocking the door???

If I bought over a SERS flat but have not ROM, what is the timeframe given to produce a marriage cert?Within 3 months from signing the agreement to purchase the SERS flat??

Can those who has bought a SERS flats advise me on the above? Thanks

Hi zirhk3355, it should be ready by 2qtr 2011. intially they said will be ready by mid 2010. I'm still keeping my fingers crossed. Well the sers officer said it can actually finish early - they always have that buffer period in case it can't be completed on time. Now with the sand problem!:dancingqueen: sigh!:lol:! My flat cost $198,600 after $30k discount. 39 n 40th flr would cost just $210k after discount. But mine is only 94 sqm exterior but interior is only 85 sqm. reason i chose it besides e bay windows is also the interior layout and view. I will have sort of an L-shape view while those 90 sqm flats - all their view fm hall to bedrooms - straight view (boring). Those flats with just 3 qtr height windows are cheaper.

It was in the papers and the hdb's sers site have the pic of the future flats featured upto now also.

Yes, its true that the flats will always be early - my DPD is 31 July 2008, but the letter that I received some time back told me that the flats should be ready by 2nd Quarter 2007.

Hmmz, so the pricing is about the same as during my time in 2003, but your flat is smaller lor. How do you know the exterior and interior areas? Is it stated in the floorplan? Erm, in the first place what do you mean by exterior area...hehe, I duno about all these one...

Have a question, anybody can help?

If family gross monthly income is >$8,000, and flat kena SERS, still entitle to purchase replacement flat from HDB?

If your flat kana SERS, you are eligible for a replacement flat if you fulfill the criteria, such as whether you got proper family nucleus, whether you own private properties, whether you had bought HDB flats before, etc. The monthly income >$8000 is not one of such criteria.

About whether you can take HDB loan, I am not too sure about that. Maybe you should write in to ask. Don't go to HDB Hub; the customer service officer doesn't know alot and will just babble off whatever they think is correct because no 'black & white' mah. Write in and ask for an official reply, by email also can.

How do you go about knowing which SERS flat owners wants to sell to you? Do you engage an agent to help or went around knocking the door???

If I bought over a SERS flat but have not ROM, what is the timeframe given to produce a marriage cert?Within 3 months from signing the agreement to purchase the SERS flat??

Can those who has bought a SERS flats advise me on the above? Thanks

During my time I used housing agents. Not easy task, because alot of the owners want to mark up high high and earn alot from this; they have the mindset that they strike lottery liao. I viewed more than 10+ units before I can get a reasonable seller.

Alternatively, you can give out phamplets and go knocking doors yourself lor. For paperwork, you can use "http://www.diyhdb.com/", who charge like $400 to $500 for paperwork, which is much cheaper than the usual housing agents who charges 1%. But do take note that there is a timeline where the owners can sell the flat, so if you look around yourself, you have to be very hardworking, otherwise once the timeline is over, then cannot sell liao.

Lastly, if I am not wrong the timeframe to produce the marriage cert is 6 mths from 2nd appt - even if not ROM-ed yet by then, can still write in to ask for more time. Simple reasons will do, such as busy with work, no available slots at ROM, etc.

Edited by zirhk3355

During my time I used housing agents. Not easy task, because alot of the owners want to mark up high high and earn alot from this; they have the mindset that they strike lottery liao. I viewed more than 10+ units before I can get a reasonable seller.

Alternatively, you can give out phamplets and go knocking doors yourself lor. For paperwork, you can use "http://www.diyhdb.com/", who charge like $400 to $500 for paperwork, which is much cheaper than the usual housing agents who charges 1%. But do take note that there is a timeline where the owners can sell the flat, so if you look around yourself, you have to be very hardworking, otherwise once the timeline is over, then cannot sell liao.

Lastly, if I am not wrong the timeframe to produce the marriage cert is 6 mths from 2nd appt - even if not ROM-ed yet by then, can still write in to ask for more time. Simple reasons will do, such as busy with work, no available slots at ROM, etc.

Thanks zirhk3355. You mentioned there is a timeline for the owner to sell the flat. Is the timeline = deadline for Submission of Resale/Transfer Applications for SERS Flats ?

Yes, its true that the flats will always be early - my DPD is 31 July 2008, but the letter that I received some time back told me that the flats should be ready by 2nd Quarter 2007.

Hmmz, so the pricing is about the same as during my time in 2003, but your flat is smaller lor. How do you know the exterior and interior areas? Is it stated in the floorplan? Erm, in the first place what do you mean by exterior area...hehe, I duno about all these one...

Hi zirhk3355,

The pricelist will state the exterior and interior in sqm. So if i take your estate as a reference, i should believe that clementi will also be completed early 2010. the buffer time is for them to do other stuff like touching up etc... in your case, i just passed by yday and saw there is like a roundabout within the 3 blks.

Pls do let us know if you guys can go up 2 take a look at your new flat, i wana look see look see also. hehehhe

Unsure,

When i got interested on this enbloc thingy.. i was a bit late, i missed out a good 6-7 mths after announcement and when people started to sell and nearly lost all hopes until i found this current one by chance. In fact i spotted the ad and told my agent, who is supposed to be an enbloc specialist at clementi!:dunno: but didn't even read the ad!:lol:! anyway when i went to view the flat was told there was already an offer in the morning, so their agent said whoever can produce a cheque first, it can be considered...

I didn't quite like the house but my mom liked it, somehow i unwillingly paid my deposit and have lived there now about 1 yr. So slowly i've grown to appreciate the house - it was bought & renovated just 2 yrs before enbloc by previous owners.

Heard fm my agent that there was one seller (an old lady), who didn't even know abt the $30k discount and sold without including that amount!8| but anyway their house was in a terrible 'original' state.

Another seller - who supposedly just did reno 1 yr before it was announced for enbloc was asking at least $50k abv valuation!8| but at least i understand that they got the highest compensation. According to my agent - fm her sources she concluded that my compensation is one of the high one too.

Just keep on looking

How do you know the exterior and interior areas? Is it stated in the floorplan? Erm, in the first place what do you mean by exterior area...hehe, I duno about all these one...

The exterior in my case, would be the thick wall that will form the bay window. So all bay windows will jut out - like your new flat the windows in the bedrooms if they jut out it is bay window. if not it will be normal window and therefore the size will not affect.

So if you minus the extra thick wall for the bay windows.. the internal floor space size is only 85sqm for my future flat.

Thanks zirhk3355. You mentioned there is a timeline for the owner to sell the flat. Is the timeline = deadline for Submission of Resale/Transfer Applications for SERS Flats ?

Yes, that's correct. So you must really be on your toes and keep in touch with all the announcements. I noticed that sometimes they will report in the media, but not always. You should be checking out HDB website frequently.

Hi zirhk3355,

The pricelist will state the exterior and interior in sqm. So if i take your estate as a reference, i should believe that clementi will also be completed early 2010. the buffer time is for them to do other stuff like touching up etc... in your case, i just passed by yday and saw there is like a roundabout within the 3 blks.

Pls do let us know if you guys can go up 2 take a look at your new flat, i wana look see look see also. hehehhe

Yup you are quite right - unless something bad happens (touch wood), most of the time they complete the estate one year in advance.

Are you referring to the driveway where people can drop off passengers under shelter? Or the two big round driveways at the carpark? I like the round driveways, because it more spacious instead of the current MSCP's ramps, which always have sharp corners. Round ones also look more sophisticated and classy, like condos and shopping centres.

Sure, once I see that the fencings are taken down, I will post in the forum so that you can take a look. I dun mind to show you my flat too (after the FS master had seen it) if you are interested. ;)

Unsure,

When i got interested on this enbloc thingy.. i was a bit late, i missed out a good 6-7 mths after announcement and when people started to sell and nearly lost all hopes until i found this current one by chance. In fact i spotted the ad and told my agent, who is supposed to be an enbloc specialist at clementi!:sport-smiley-004: but didn't even read the ad!:)! anyway when i went to view the flat was told there was already an offer in the morning, so their agent said whoever can produce a cheque first, it can be considered...

I didn't quite like the house but my mom liked it, somehow i unwillingly paid my deposit and have lived there now about 1 yr. So slowly i've grown to appreciate the house - it was bought & renovated just 2 yrs before enbloc by previous owners.

Heard fm my agent that there was one seller (an old lady), who didn't even know abt the $30k discount and sold without including that amount!!! but anyway their house was in a terrible 'original' state.

Another seller - who supposedly just did reno 1 yr before it was announced for enbloc was asking at least $50k abv valuation!!! but at least i understand that they got the highest compensation. According to my agent - fm her sources she concluded that my compensation is one of the high one too.

Just keep on looking

Yes, like I said its a very tedious process lor; some might even put it as more complicated as buying resale, because there are so many things to consider. And remember hor, unsure, if you intend to go for bank's loan for your SERS flat, keep far far away from OCBC bank. :furious:

The exterior in my case, would be the thick wall that will form the bay window. So all bay windows will jut out - like your new flat the windows in the bedrooms if they jut out it is bay window. if not it will be normal window and therefore the size will not affect.

So if you minus the extra thick wall for the bay windows.. the internal floor space size is only 85sqm for my future flat.

Hmmz, but I dun remember my pricelist having that leh; only one area, never state interior or exterior. But going by the dimensions and calculating from there, the area stated should be for interior only ba.

Anyway, what is the use of knowing the exterior area?? Maybe they want to create the impression that the flat is bigger than that the 85sqm, which I felt is not necessary lor. Nowadays people are ok with small areas, especially if the family is small. Why need such a big space, got alot of cleaning to do leh!

Its the location and facilities that are more important - that's why those small SOHOs or studio apts are still fetching a high price if they are located in town areas.

Are you referring to the driveway where people can drop off passengers under shelter? Or the two big round driveways at the carpark? I like the round driveways, because it more spacious instead of the current MSCP's ramps, which always have sharp corners. Round ones also look more sophisticated and classy, like condos and shopping centres.

Hi zirkh3355,

Yes i was refering to that drop off point... so condo like..

Sure, once I see that the fencings are taken down, I will post in the forum so that you can take a look. I dun mind to show you my flat too (after the FS master had seen it) if you are interested. :)

Oh yes, i would like to view your flat.. 5rm and very high floor rite? Hmmm you are so lucky!:sport-smiley-004:

the 30k is cpf right? not cash that hdb is giving me correct?

I considered a sers flat at ghim moh blk 9 (or 9a). it's a 4 rm 82 m^2. The val b4 sers is 260~270k. as the owner has pri property, they cannot choose 5 rm and no $30k. yet, they ask 330k. i think 300 k maybe reasonable.

Be careful there: The compensation that you will receive when the SLA take over your SERS flat in future may be quite different from the valuation before SERS. Do ask the owner for the exact compensation amount, if not avail, they will at least have the range of compensation amount.

And considering that they cannot choose 5-rm and no $30k discount, the only benefits you will have are:

1. 'special' price for replacement flat (which is only slightly lesser than public selection), and

2. priority in choosing replacement flat.

So even if I assume a high compensation amount at $270k, you will be paying a whopping $60k upfront for these two benefits! And this is not including the interest you will incur from taking up mortgage loan for this SERS flat. IMO not worth to pay even $300k...

Do try to look for more units, especially those that have more benefits...

Hi zirkh3355,

Yes i was refering to that drop off point... so condo like..

Oh yes, i would like to view your flat.. 5rm and very high floor rite? Hmmm you are so lucky!:notti:

Hmmz, I think such drop off point is a standard feature for most new estates now - even my parents' place, which was just upgraded, also have it. Think your estate also will have one lah.

The latest exciting feature to look forward to should be the sky garden, as recently featured in newspaper. A good eg is the Pinnacle@Duxton, where the garden is at its top floor, 50th storey!! My estate got sky garden, but haiz, only 4-storey high, which is on top of the MSCP. Hehe...what about yours, got sky garden too? I think even if not at high floor it will be on top of your MSCP too, which had also became a standard feature liao.

My unit not the highest floor, but at #34. Actually want to choose #33 or #35 (see my nick and you can guess why), but they do not have bay windows. Well there's a 'numeric' reason why I chose this unit at #34, but erm, dowan to reveal my full unit number in public here, so if you really coming over then I can explain to you then... :yamseng:

Edited by zirhk3355

Do try to look for more units, especially those that have more benefits...

Hmmz, I think such drop off point is a standard feature for most new estates now - even my parents' place, which was just upgraded, also have it. Think your estate also will have one lah.

The latest exciting feature to look forward to should be the sky garden, as recently featured in newspaper. A good eg is the Pinnacle@Duxton, where the garden is at its top floor, 50th storey!! My estate got sky garden, but haiz, only 4-storey high, which is on top of the MSCP. Hehe...what about yours, got sky garden too? I think even if not at high floor it will be on top of your MSCP too, which had also became a standard feature liao.

My unit not the highest floor, but at #34. Actually want to choose #33 or #35 (see my nick and you can guess why), but they do not have bay windows. Well there's a 'numeric' reason why I chose this unit at #34, but erm, dowan to reveal my full unit number in public here, so if you really coming over then I can explain to you then... :)

Ermmm... mine is an integrated housing..... fm the 3D pix, don't have such drop off point.. as there will be an aircon interchange, 7 levels of shopping and MSC. Don't know at this point, where the drop off point will be. Yes, clementi's roof top garden will on the 8th floor with exercise corners, pergolas, function hall etc.

Can't wait to hear more and see the new plans for a green Dawson place!:) seems so much better than ours.. .hheheehhe

Hahahha.. of course, i do understand sum people are into feng shui lah.... You'd be surprised to know my unit number.... of course i would love to come over and view when you get your keys and when tey release the area. Actually i had the chance also to choose 34th floor but didn't because the whole house came with just 3qtr height windows. Well have to live with my choice now. :))

I remember when my friend at Kallang (en bloc also), haven't received her keys, we went to take a look at those blocks..... so fascinating/exciting..... Her's is the worst case, took almost 6 yrs. She shifted in last Aug '06. upto now still doing the surrounding porch, playground etc...

Hmmm come to think of it... i actually have 3 colleagues who have gone thru hdb ENBLOC and 2 awaiting including me... these days so many enblocs......

Edited by hdbfan

Be careful there: The compensation that you will receive when the SLA take over your SERS flat in future may be quite different from the valuation before SERS. Do ask the owner for the exact compensation amount, if not avail, they will at least have the range of compensation amount.

And considering that they cannot choose 5-rm and no $30k discount, the only benefits you will have are:

1. 'special' price for replacement flat (which is only slightly lesser than public selection), and

2. priority in choosing replacement flat.

So even if I assume a high compensation amount at $270k, you will be paying a whopping $60k upfront for these two benefits! And this is not including the interest you will incur from taking up mortgage loan for this SERS flat. IMO not worth to pay even $300k...

u r rite. i didnot take it. waited until recent wis...

Ermmm... mine is an integrated housing..... fm the 3D pix, don't have such drop off point.. as there will be an aircon interchange, 7 levels of shopping and MSC. Don't know at this point, where the drop off point will be. Yes, clementi's roof top garden will on the 8th floor with exercise corners, pergolas, function hall etc.

Can't wait to hear more and see the new plans for a green Dawson place!:) seems so much better than ours.. .hheheehhe

Hahahha.. of course, i do understand sum people are into feng shui lah.... You'd be surprised to know my unit number.... of course i would love to come over and view when you get your keys and when tey release the area. Actually i had the chance also to choose 34th floor but didn't because the whole house came with just 3qtr height windows. Well have to live with my choice now. :))

I remember when my friend at Kallang (en bloc also), haven't received her keys, we went to take a look at those blocks..... so fascinating/exciting..... Her's is the worst case, took almost 6 yrs. She shifted in last Aug '06. upto now still doing the surrounding porch, playground etc...

Hmmm come to think of it... i actually have 3 colleagues who have gone thru hdb ENBLOC and 2 awaiting including me... these days so many enblocs......

Can't quite remember what happened during my selection, but in the 3D rendering there also wasn't any roundabout drop-off point. Well it just turned out in the end...

Actually its funny that they decided to change something about Dawson, when its just built not so long ago. Its like wasting money lor - now we know why HDB flats are so ex.

Lastly, for my unit no its not about fengshui lah - its more for gambling! :) Well I would be even happier if can get 3355 accordingly, which is related to alot of the numbers in my life. But I guess will just have to live with this unit number lor. I haven't approach any FS master yet, though I would want to do so when the flat comes...

Can't quite remember what happened during my selection, but in the 3D rendering there also wasn't any roundabout drop-off point. Well it just turned out in the end...

Actually its funny that they decided to change something about Dawson, when its just built not so long ago. Its like wasting money lor - now we know why HDB flats are so ex.

Lastly, for my unit no its not about fengshui lah - its more for gambling! :notti: Well I would be even happier if can get 3355 accordingly, which is related to alot of the numbers in my life. But I guess will just have to live with this unit number lor. I haven't approach any FS master yet, though I would want to do so when the flat comes...

Hi zirkh3355,

HDB does change the outlook of the flats/surrounding fm the initial 3D rendering or pictures. one of my friend at kallang also said, one of the front blocks view got blocked by a pillar purely for aesthetic and not functional purpose. that pillar was not there before in the hdb brochure with the picture in front of the booklet!

Been passing by commonwealth past three days... hmm are they painting new colours for those flats facing inside? i mean those facing the damien hall church. looks different fm those facing the mrt side.

Edited by hdbfan