koori

Clueless Single's 4Rm Reno

Thanks both. DIY project ~

Problem is I've got lousy 'art & craft' hands. A couple of screws probably ok. Tear off film likely ok. Paste film probably will probably get it crooked or something. :P

Please please update here once you have done. Becos I'm also facing same thing on those film. As mine is a 2nd flr corridor unit, almost all my windows have these old old films. Thinking of changing them too but not sure how much. :(

I approached a few contractors to remove the films. not all will do the job. the price is around $150 for 8 panes of windows. hope that helps

Ya, I did ask around too but most ppl don't want to do it as the sticky glue left behind is not easy to remove i heard. Sad....

You got the contact for that $150 one? Thanks!

Edited by ahhboi

There must be a reason why the films were applied in the first place. So if you remove them, you most likely will have to reapply another film. In that case, wouldn't the contractor applying the new film remove the old film for you?

Hmmmm..... Not sure i wanna re-apply the film. Yup, it does provides more privacy but it makes my hse very dim. :(

Ya, I did ask around too but most ppl don't want to do it as the sticky glue left behind is not easy to remove i heard. Sad....

You got the contact for that $150 one? Thanks!

I was googling about removing window film...and this guy's video makes it look like a piece of cake.

I have no idea if it works....have to go try it out sometime....likely will be after I move in. Coz I got no patience to sit in empty house wait for 2 hours for the water to soak in.

Basically steps are :

1. use some light detergent (like dishwashing liquid) and make a very diluted solution with lots of water

2. Put in spray bottle

3. Spray the film thoroughly. The wetter the better

4. Use some kind of plastic (guy in video used bubble wrap, but he says cling wrap or watever plastic will work) to stick to the film area to retain the moisture

5. Let the moisture sit there for at least 2 hours. The longer the better

6. Remove plastic and start tearing off the film

7. In his video,he used a penknife to cut the film to smaller pieces for easier removal. His video says must make sure the blade is stainless steel coz it's 'softer' than glass. I not sure about this, personally might not try. I am afraid of scratching the glass.

Viola! Clean window!

Here's another video :

same principle, but this one doesn't wait at all, simply used a 'glass scraper' to scrape off, even the glue residue.

Now where to get glass scrapers? DIY shops?

I would want to re-install the film. That's why I'm wondering if I call some window film contractor to say I wanna install new ones will they remove the old ones for me? LOL.

Corridor unit leh....not sure I can live without the frosting. I chose not to install curtains in living room coz I prefer it unblocked.

Windows in bedroom, the one facing the corridor needs the frosting film too. The master bedroom and the other bedroom, not so much. I'm not very close to the next block of flats, so likely won't get 'peeped' at.

Would still feel safer with frosting though....I mean if you wanna change clothes without drawing the curtains in the room or having to go into the toilet.....

Dunnid to worry if someone in a taller unit in next block of flats saw something they not supposed to see.

Haha, I guy mah, most likely nobody will ever wanna peep at me. lol :D:D:P

For me, my flat doesn't get much sunlight. No east west sun, and as im on 2nd flr, sunlight are also blocked by nearby flats.

I also just came to know this recently when I'm in my hse whole day.

And those films are also blocking most sunlight too, really makes my unit very dim. :(

Plus point is most likely my unit will be cooler during hot afternoon. :lol:

I did it once in my previous flat, its really not easy especially the part using knife have to be very careful, if you are not confident pls refrain from doing it. Once the window is clean, applying the new film is piece of cake, yes spray more soapy water and after the film is up, u can actually adjust it accordingly with the soapy water still on. Once done, u still have to use penknife to cut off excess unless u measure it first before putting on.

I learn all this from my friend's car tinting shop, he even gave me the chemical lotion which remove the leftover sticky glue real easy.

Haha, I guy mah, most likely nobody will ever wanna peep at me. lol :D:D:P

For me, my flat doesn't get much sunlight. No east west sun, and as im on 2nd flr, sunlight are also blocked by nearby flats.

I also just came to know this recently when I'm in my hse whole day.

And those films are also blocking most sunlight too, really makes my unit very dim. :(

Plus point is most likely my unit will be cooler during hot afternoon. :lol:

Haha...my unit is the first unit once you step out of the lift lobby. So my neighbours 1,2,3,4,5, etc....will all pass by my unit to reach their houses wor.

Not on purpose peep lah, but still people will just look if it's at eye level mah....you dunno how many 'very eng' people are looking out of their windows everyday.... My parent's place here got rain 'alarm' somemore. An auntie on the opposite block monitors weather (so free) and will broadcast '下雨了!‘ when she sees people still having laundry outside our block when rain starts dripping.

The frosting on your windows so good block sunlight... Mine doesn't leh. It only keeps people from viewing into my unit, does nothing to the sunlight as far as I can see. It's still bright when the sun is shining.

curious, which contractor did you approach? Can share? Might try asking for prices on remove+ install new film.

Haha...my unit is the first unit once you step out of the lift lobby. So my neighbours 1,2,3,4,5, etc....will all pass by my unit to reach their houses wor.

Not on purpose peep lah, but still people will just look if it's at eye level mah....you dunno how many 'very eng' people are looking out of their windows everyday.... My parent's place here got rain 'alarm' somemore. An auntie on the opposite block monitors weather (so free) and will broadcast '下雨了!‘ when she sees people still having laundry outside our block when rain starts dripping.

The frosting on your windows so good block sunlight... Mine doesn't leh. It only keeps people from viewing into my unit, does nothing to the sunlight as far as I can see. It's still bright when the sun is shining.

curious, which contractor did you approach? Can share? Might try asking for prices on remove+ install new film.

Haha, I more heng, I only got another corner unit who will pass by me. furthermore, as Im on 2nd flr, they usually use the stairs beside instead, so nobody really passby my unit so far. lol :lol:

Next time I go in the afternoon, I try take some pics and update my blog. Really not much sunlight....... Looks dim dim dark dark de.... :(

I did it once in my previous flat, its really not easy especially the part using knife have to be very careful, if you are not confident pls refrain from doing it. Once the window is clean, applying the new film is piece of cake, yes spray more soapy water and after the film is up, u can actually adjust it accordingly with the soapy water still on. Once done, u still have to use penknife to cut off excess unless u measure it first before putting on.

I learn all this from my friend's car tinting shop, he even gave me the chemical lotion which remove the leftover sticky glue real easy.

ya. just googled and there is this very very detailed instruction video....haha....as of this moment, this looks like a big project liao...I am thinking of getting those flat scraper

Hesitant coz the old film is stuck there for >15 years plus the previous owners likely never washed the window based on the 'shrek' handles. :D

Wah! Your parents' neighbour so good wor! Ahahah.. thats what we called 守望相助!

This was actually taken before the marble was polished. As mentioned in previous posts, I got curtain rods from Ikea. Contractor helped with the installation.

I also purchased those ready made curtains from Ikea. I only got those mid-range ones, these shown in the picture are $59 a set. [not 100% blackout as you can see]

Picture shows half of the curtain set only....I put it up only to measure how much I needed to alter. The 'standard' length is 250cm, it's too long for my place as you can see in the pic.

Mom is getting neighbour auntie to help amend for mine.

Note : Ikea does have alteration service too. You can also go to their sewing service counter with the measurements after you buy the curtains. I heard it's $10 per package of curtains...not 100% sure, better to ask from the counter if you are interested.

IMG_2444_zps9fb3abba.jpg

Lucky you! I am getting curtains from Ikea too! Most likely, i will alter them myself to save some $! :)

Wah! Your parents' neighbour so good wor! Ahahah.. thats what we called 守望相助!

I admire her lungs....hahaha....everyone on opposite block can hear her. Also good lah. I heard her from my living room and ran to take in laundry once during a weekend. [ our kitchens face each other across a narrow carpark].