Vct 30 Report post Posted March 30, 2014 Wow.... Your marble floor "kilat kilat"..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
koori 45 Report post Posted March 30, 2014 are these homogenous tiles ?looks very nice. Hi~ these are marble. I retained the previous owner's flooring. Wah, swee swee liao.But your living room wall how come got one big "dent" har? Or is that your dinning?You're referring to the rectangular 'dent' in the wall har? Based on the floor plan, there is a protruding wall beam in the living room on the right (near the windows).The previous owner built a fake wall to the left to 'match' the beam. So the middle looks like a dent lor, it was painted dark grey.....in the photos looked like some sort of frame for a huge painting. Considered to tear the fake wall down...but problem is we were not sure if there is marble laid on the floor beneath this fake wall. Previous owner did leave spare marble tiles behind, but even with those, it will cause a different 'color'. Not to mention all the skirtings will also need to be re-done. New marble and old marble, even same tiles still have 'color' difference even if they are the same batch leh. Used and new still can tell lar. haha... So ended up I decided to keep the fake wall feature with the dent. Wow.... Your marble floor "kilat kilat"..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
koori 45 Report post Posted March 30, 2014 This was actually taken before the marble was polished. As mentioned in previous posts, I got curtain rods from Ikea. Contractor helped with the installation. I also purchased those ready made curtains from Ikea. I only got those mid-range ones, these shown in the picture are $59 a set. [not 100% blackout as you can see] Picture shows half of the curtain set only....I put it up only to measure how much I needed to alter. The 'standard' length is 250cm, it's too long for my place as you can see in the pic. Mom is getting neighbour auntie to help amend for mine. Note : Ikea does have alteration service too. You can also go to their sewing service counter with the measurements after you buy the curtains. I heard it's $10 per package of curtains...not 100% sure, better to ask from the counter if you are interested. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
koori 45 Report post Posted March 30, 2014 Doors have been installed ~ Only had new doors at master room and storeroom. Photo taken from this angle just nice to show both the doors. The 2 other doors were retained, so I had to pick this door design as it's the same as the original doors. The classic door doesn't come in this design, so opt for a similar looking one. From the living room area, would only see the storeroom door. All the bedroom doors are hidden from view. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
koori 45 Report post Posted March 30, 2014 Just noticed that the electrical outlet at the tall unit cabinet as suggested by Alex has also been completed. Think my reno is completing soon. Hohoho...Just left with the following: 1. iQuartz top for the kitchen 2. Kitchen tap installation. It's actually installed already if you noticed from the pics above. Alex says will remove it and install on the quartz top later. 2. Minor painting - touch-ups / doors. 1 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahhboi 15 Report post Posted March 30, 2014 Wah, that was fast~! Mine still in progress. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
koori 45 Report post Posted April 1, 2014 Wah, that was fast~! Mine still in progress. My hacking started 21st Feb mah. This is the 6th week already....so contractor says 5 - 6 weeks he means 6 weeks. haha....cannot blame him also lah...didn't see so many things and add this add that, subtract this subtract that from the original plan. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
koori 45 Report post Posted April 1, 2014 Speaking about additions....Just saw these casement window handles that looks like 'Shrek'. Greeeeennnnnn~ Thought these can be cleaned, but apparently nothing budges algae + oxidization after all these years....The prior owners must not have cleaned their windows at all to get such build-up. The 'friction plates' (not sure what those are called, anyhow name them) are also either missing screws, or are missing totally....Just called Alex to get replacements for all these handles.....more $$ flying..... Oh well...should be used to it by now...LOL....On other notes, anyone knows if the sticker pasted on the glass for the frosting effect can be removed and replaced? These are pretty old and looks worn...and it's an old fashioned floral pattern. Ha... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ks Toh 74 Report post Posted April 1, 2014 The casement window handles look quite standard. Can buy from any hardware shop. You can even change yourself. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Vct 30 Report post Posted April 1, 2014 On other notes, anyone knows if the sticker pasted on the glass for the frosting effect can be removed and replaced? These are pretty old and looks worn...and it's an old fashioned floral pattern. Ha...Removing the sticker is easy though, but the sticky glue left behind is really hard to remove unless u use chemical lotion and arm with a penknife to do it. Afterwhich go any DIY store to get new ones. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Vct 30 Report post Posted April 1, 2014 (edited) The casement window handles look quite standard. Can buy from any hardware shop. You can even change yourself.Agree on this, simple task. Unscrew existing one, bring along to hardware shop just in case. Edited April 1, 2014 by Vct Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ks Toh 74 Report post Posted April 1, 2014 Removing the sticker is easy though, but the sticky glue left behind is really hard to remove unless u use chemical lotion and arm with a penknife to do it. Afterwhich go any DIY store to get new ones.Better not use penknife unless you know how to. It might scratch the glass. Just use thinner or other chemical to remove the glue. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
koori 45 Report post Posted April 1, 2014 (edited) The casement window handles look quite standard. Can buy from any hardware shop. You can even change yourself.Agree on this, simple task. Unscrew existing one, bring along to hardware shop just in case.Didn't know hardware shops carried these handles. Will scout around. Looking at it, I know it's easy. Just 2 screws each... I thought need to get some windows specialist to be able to buy these handles hence called contractor up earlier. Removing the sticker is easy though, but the sticky glue left behind is really hard to remove unless u use chemical lotion and arm with a penknife to do it. Afterwhich go any DIY store to get new ones. Better not use penknife unless you know how to. It might scratch the glass. Just use thinner or other chemical to remove the glue.Thanks both. DIY project ~ Problem is I've got lousy 'art & craft' hands. A couple of screws probably ok. Tear off film likely ok. Paste film probably will probably get it crooked or something. Edited April 1, 2014 by koori Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
koori 45 Report post Posted April 1, 2014 Half installed quartz top. Think the plumber jumped the gun, shouldn't have installed the tap first. Now it's in the way. The quartz top installation guys probably didn't know how to take the tap off safely so had to leave it. Alex said the quartz guys will be back Friday to install the balance of the worktop. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Songz 132 Report post Posted April 2, 2014 Small hiccups and adding of things is a normal thing in Reno.For the window I agree not to use penknife as it may damage the window. Good luck in the DIYOverall I think the renovation is quite smooth going. Think in a week or 2 you will be able to furnish the place and move in Share this post Link to post Share on other sites