koori

Clueless Single's 4Rm Reno

Not sure if you'll know where the source but if so, please share it with me. My gate/door is number-less.

Hi, the unit number 'plate' will be done by the same wrought iron gate supplier. I understand it will just be a plain rectangle with my unit number on it on the top left hand fixed panel of the gate.

My contractor is arranging for customisation of the gate.

If you already have a gate without the customisation, you can probably get a one of these things (maybe not this particular design...I'm not sure 2 fishes and seaweed represents...).

I'm not sure how much this costs though. This can usually be done by the same wrought iron gate suppliers.

UN-P1000036.JPG

My parent's home has one of these, but very simple design, not with fishes and seaweed..... :P

The picture I linked above is from the site below...

Note : I'm not endorsing them though....I haven't dealt with these folks. Just googled "HDB wrought iron unit number plates" and this site came up with the picture... :

http://metalspecialist.com.sg/newpage2-mar.htm

Photo bombing~

Tiling completed for common bathroom.Flooring done. And photo for this other wall which I said earlier I was going to re-take. :rofl:

IMG_2141_zps30cc21be.jpg

IMG_2142_zps4a80f3a9.jpg

Edges around the doorway are finished with something, not too sure what. Looks neat.

IMG_2146_zpsf1a12519.jpg

Edited by koori

Stove and Sink Support partially done. Sink mounted. Stove delivered, yet to be installed. Tiling of this support structure also not completed yet. :

IMG_2154_zps0fd2369f.jpg

The sideways view. The tiling has been finished on this side. This part will be covered by the kitchen cabinets later, won't be visible. There is also a small cut out at the back for the citygas pipe to go past.

IMG_2162_zpsa459ea7b.jpg

Close up of the Rubine sink.

IMG_2156_zps64bf3bd2.jpg

Spotted a drawing....probably my contractor's instructions to the masonry team?

Oh, and I forgot to update earlier. The stove will be moved about 1 drawer space away from the sink as compared to the previous drawing.

The contractor called me up to say sink/stove a bit too close last Sunday and asked about leaving a space of 1 door or 3 doors away. I opted for 1 door away so it's not that far from the sink. Also asked for drawers instead of door on this side as I will likely be storing utensils in the drawers.

I dun think my contractor is reading Renotalk leh....how he know I hiam the stove and sink too close? I was actually surprised he call me up to 'volunteer' to change the positioning.

hahah...maybe when I was telling Mom on that Saturday when we went up to measure curtain rod length, the tiling/masonry team heard what I said and told him. :P

IMG_2160_zpscfeb5504.jpg

Fridge base? Cabinet base? Based on drawings, this area is the tall unit cabinet is supposed to be....so I thinking is cabinet base. My mum says is fridge base.

Contractor was telling me last week that cabinet can be on either side, but if the fridge is on the outside then sideways view will show the fridge's "ugly" back-end. If hiding in the corner won't be visible, so he recommended cabinet on the outside.

hmmm....will clarify with contractor Monday as I'm meeting him and the guy(s) who will be doing the plumbing.

IMG_2165_zpsc8b0b5d6.jpg

Edited by koori

Just to show a pic - this shows the color disparity between the end of my living room and the start of the kitchen.

Wahahha....the very small patch of beige marble showing through is covered in cement dust, so now it's 'ashy' in color, seems a match the kitchen grey tiles at the moment. :bleah:

The floor area is level, so I won't be doing massive water pouring and scrubbing in the kitchen. I will probably accidentally flood my living area if I do that.

IMG_2170_zpsc58eb4cb.jpg

More photo bombing! Heh..seems like a lot was done since last Tuesday when I went over for a look.

Master bathroom tiling completed too....arghhh....I see I am reflected again in the tiles. haha...aiyah, just upload le....lazy to go retake.

IMG_2173_zps03d2b173.jpg

My earlier post I mentioned this strange tilted pipe coming out of the wall causing a gap? It's sealed with some substance. Probably grout mixed into a black color that matches the tiles. Not really noticeable unless you went up close.

IMG_2176_zps2f0deb09.jpg

The shower bench I requested for. It's tiled with the same white wall tiles. Pardon, my finger got in the way and I did not realise until I uploaded the photo. :P

IMG_2180_zpsdc2f65ff.jpg

The small wall at the 'dry' bathroom side. Not sure why HDB did this wall....nothing better to do? It takes up precious space in the already tiny bathroom. Had to get a smaller sink for master bathroom as compared to the common bath. Also, the WC's outlet pipe does not have enough space. Had to change a model of WC where the back-end of the WC is 'open' and allows flexible piping.

Contractor says te back-end of the WC is against the wall and can't be seen anyways, so is ok. The original WC can fit only if we do a 'L shaped' outlet pipe...he told me it's not ideal because of the angled pipe, likely to get chokages. OMG~ nightmare if toilet chokes. Just imagining it makes me ill.... :help:

I opt to change WC models rather than take the risk.

The wet and dry bathroom area has different floor tiles. Shower area's slightly more textured and a darker grey.

. IMG_2181_zps359eb460.jpg

IMG_2178_zps62598da4.jpg

Bought a load of stuff from Song-Cho - these folks do stainless steel stuff.

Expensive when compared to other stainless steel products, but lasts... Mom's got a few trivets from them like 10 years ago and they are still nice, no rust whatsoever. Some people call this the 'chicken brand' coz their logo is a shape of the chicken. Their stainless steel brand goes by the name 'Wel-Mi'.

They actually issue you a life-time warranty card against rust for purchases above S$150. [if you are getting a dish rack, this target is easy.]

Single layer dish rack. They have double/triple layers type too...those looked like too much clutter for just me, so I opt for a single layer only. The fork/spoon holder and the S hooks pictured on the box not included, sold separately. :P

dishrack_zpsf55cb9f2.gif

Too much stuff from them to take pictures individually....there's shampoo rack, corner rack, trivet, S hooks, bar, toilet roll holder, soap rack with tray, glass-cum-stainless steel shelf, bidet.

All pictured here :

IMG_2214_zpsf2c0cf98.jpg

The white box is the towel rack with single bar. The other 2 big tray like things are stainless steel 'drawers'. These will be fixed in kitchen cabinet interior. Will take pictures of the finished product after the cabinetry is completed. :)

tray_zpsf68554e5.gif

Got 2 plain aluminium rectangular mirrors from them too. The sales lady specifically told me these are not SS, but aluminium. Not under Song-Cho's brand.

They just sell these for a 3rd party as a lot of shoppers ask them about it when getting those stainless steel-cum-glass shelves that we usually put under bathroom mirrors. I just got them at the same place too as I liked the silver and the plain-ness. LOL.

IMG_2195_zps3904ac7e.jpg

Free gifts I got from them. The sales lady was saying this was actually a pre-CNY promotion....when I went there was already day 4 of CNY. Technically, the promotion has stopped.

Not sure if she's just saying this to make me happy, but she said dun care, still gift coz boss haven't send official notification to stop promotion yet.

A portable induction cooker and a stainless steel double grill pan..reminds me of happy call.. can cook on both sides of the pan and can seal both sides to cook. This pan also allows separation of the sides and use them as normal frying pan.

IMG_2211_zps0439ef47.jpgIMG_2205_zpsd3e2ac0b.jpg

Fans with LED light ~ I bought these purely for aesthetic reasons...I have no idea if this brand can make it or not. Will review later after they get installed and I start using them.

Probably not that soon though...My half extended ceiling has not been fixed yet. The false ceiling still stops halfway around the rooms. :bleah:

IMG_2193_zps2ccd0896.jpgIMG_2191_zps57716127.jpg

Water heater - Alpha, metal black color.

IMG_2189_zps0190972f.jpgIMG_2188_zps5fb75c31.jpg

The black tempered glass hob from Turbo. Will update post later when it's been installed. Probably need to wait until cabinet is done, after that quartz top.

IMG_2199_zpscac440ce.jpg

Edited by koori

That is a lot of stuff there ...

The dish rack seem nice :good:

By the way when you use the water heater let me know, I am thinking of getting alpha heater too.

Seem some review online and heard its quite good.

By the way when you use the water heater let me know, I am thinking of getting alpha heater too.

Sure, will review the water heater once I get the chance to use it.

I actually walked into that shop looking for 707 Princeton. The salesguy kept telling 707 is just good branding (marketing), he recommended Alpha instead. Ended up taking Alpha coz it looked nicer.

I'm not sure if I got 'smoked'. The sales guy told me the rainshower that came with this Alpha heater will be able to work without storage tank. I remember reading otherwise somewhere....

He gave me this really long talk about water pressure in HDB. The gist is, I'm on a low floor, so the pressure would be strong enough for the rainshower to work without storage heater. Will see how it goes after installation.

Question....will iZen quartz top make the kitchen look really dark? I found the colors of the tile online based on the tile code and did a picture collage.

The few laminates I put in here are those that I think match my 'greyish' kitchen. I am given the whole range of Jennings laminate to choose from.

GREYCOMBINED_zps9ad2da57.jpg

Same laminates, but with iCrystal.

WHITECOMBINED_zps7aa3e017.jpg

Any views? :D

Haha, Bro, I also bought the Alpha at Royal Fanco too. I also suprise they say this instant heater can use rain shower although of course, dun expect those hotel like kind lah.

Plus I also stay 2nd floor, so he say confirm have enough pressure. Will update also once I start using it. :lol:

Haha, Bro, I also bought the Alpha at Royal Fanco too. I also suprise they say this instant heater can use rain shower although of course, dun expect those hotel like kind lah.

Plus I also stay 2nd floor, so he say confirm have enough pressure. Will update also once I start using it. :lol:

haha..I'm on 4th floor. sama sama quite low floor.

If the 'water pump' theory the sales guy fed me is correct, you should have even better water pressure than I do. :D

I didn't get my water heater from Royal Fanco though.