AlisaWu

Yet Another Budget Reno >.<

@hushpuppy

rectangular lights

http://trade.taobao.com/trade/detail/tradeSnap.htm?spm=a1z09.2.9.117.z1UoSB&tradeID=535018967274190

led strips

http://trade.taobao.com/trade/detail/tradeSnap.htm?spm=a1z09.2.9.211.z1UoSB&tradeID=535018967334190

but i have yet to receive so cannot vouch for the quality..

waiting for all my shipment to arrive at the warehouse before sending it over..

as my friend's place is undergoing HIP, i have allowed him to stay at our place while the rectification works are being done..

but he paisei, so me and hubby also move in to accompany him..

during our stay there, we realized that the water pressure is pretty much non-existent, i mean like, right now, nobody has even moved in yet and already like that, then when everybody move in liao then how? :dunno:

was contemplating getting water storage heater or city gas and city gas representative advise that since i got 2 rainshow and 1 bathtub, i can go for http://www.citygas.com.sg/home-products/?cat=Heating model MA-10FE and MA-1210FER, anybody can advise whether it will be just as shiok on rainshower?

also, there are mosquitoes staying in my house!! so irritating, scratching all night and morning hubby managed to kill it, and it was full of blood :angry2:

any remedies for mosquitoes, as i do not expect to on my aircon 24/7, planning to open the windows and on ceiling fan..

Edited by AlisaWu

Hi Alisa, in case you have not buy the aircon, you may want to try another vendor which I used.

I sourced around and found his price is ok. Offered on site vist prior to installation as well as 2 times installation.

@vct, the price is for 1m, 1 roll is 100m..

Thanks guys for the mosquito net idea, will definitely call them up when my reno near completion..

@oceaneleven, can you send me the contact? Thanks

Encountered another problem now is that I'm looking to buy a 160cm acrylic tub, however, my space is also 160cm, which is too zhun for me not to worry, maybe my measurement got prob and the space is slightly smaller, or the tub comes slightly bigger then how.. I have seen reviews from the seller that the tub can be grinded to fit if the difference is just a little bit but is this possible?

I wanna explore fully the possibility of the 160cm tub before I go down 1 size to 150cm.. anybody can advise??

And is there any shop that can help to do this? I scare my contractor don't know..

My dad is an engineer and he says can and he has the tools but his health is not good so dun wan him to do it.. we ownself, scare spoil the tub..

@vct, the price is for 1m, 1 roll is 100m..

Thanks guys for the mosquito net idea, will definitely call them up when my reno near completion..

@oceaneleven, can you send me the contact? Thanks

Encountered another problem now is that I'm looking to buy a 160cm acrylic tub, however, my space is also 160cm, which is too zhun for me not to worry, maybe my measurement got prob and the space is slightly smaller, or the tub comes slightly bigger then how.. I have seen reviews from the seller that the tub can be grinded to fit if the difference is just a little bit but is this possible?

I wanna explore fully the possibility of the 160cm tub before I go down 1 size to 150cm.. anybody can advise??

And is there any shop that can help to do this? I scare my contractor don't know..

My dad is an engineer and he says can and he has the tools but his health is not good so dun wan him to do it.. we ownself, scare spoil the tub..

One of the best way is to get the supplier up yr house help u do measurement, anything goes wrong.... "They measure not u measure". "SAFE"

Btw, thanks for the LED strip info. Will post my mosquito screen tomorrow, i think i can get cheaper but must DIY.

Edited by Vct

problem is, i wanna buy online :notti:

anyway, seller already advised, for my space, i will not be able to maneuver the tub in..

so will get 150 and get my contractor to fill up the rest of the 10cm with tiles..

Hi Alisa, in case you have not buy the aircon, you may want to try another vendor which I used.

I sourced around and found his price is ok. Offered on site vist prior to installation as well as 2 times installation.

Hi, can I have the contact for this too, am staying at level 2, many many bugs..... :bleah:

problem is, i wanna buy online :notti:

anyway, seller already advised, for my space, i will not be able to maneuver the tub in..

so will get 150 and get my contractor to fill up the rest of the 10cm with tiles..

160cm size VS 160cm space. Even give acrylic, it would not have fitted in.

No point to file it down to fit and filing may spoil the look of the tub.

Perhaps you may share the link of the tub so we all can have a better idea how the tub look like,

BTW, your inbox is full.

This is the insect screen i bought i'm talking about. Dimension is 1.5m x 1.3m. Hdb windows usually measures in between 1m - 1.1m

Problems:

1) If you are covering up one set of windows only, ok more than enough. (one set means one window with 2 glass panels) (Gd luck if yours is sliding window, have to join/glue/sew 2 screen together)

2) If 2 sets of window in a row or more window, have to purchase more set.

3) As you can see on the pics, the velcro is on one side and the other side is adhesive tape to be paste on the window frame.

4) I tested the net on the velcro and when i tried separating them, the velcro is DAMAGING the net! (Bad design as we need to close window during rain right?)

Solutions:

1) I've found a place selling exactly the same kind of net(plenty of colours) at around $30 -$50 for about 5m - 10m. (Unconfirm, will make a trip down to check)

2) I will be ordering magnet strip (one to be fix on the net and the other glue to the window frame) so that it will be easy to remove when closing windows.

http://singapore.rs-online.com/web/c/fasteners-fixings/magnets-magnetic-strips/magnetic-strips/

3) Good for sliding window as its one whole roll (cut your desire length)

4) The only thing i'm afraid is "what if the magnetic strips repel against each other?" = Die :curse:

Btw, my unit is low level and with kids around, no choice whole house need to fix screen.

gallery_58717_305_407320.jpg

Edited by Vct

This is the insect screen i bought i'm talking about. Dimension is 1.5m x 1.3m. Hdb windows usually measures in between 1m - 1.1m

Problems:

1) If you are covering up one set of windows only, ok more than enough. (one set means one window with 2 glass panels) (Gd luck if yours is sliding window, have to join/glue/sew 2 screen together)

2) If 2 sets of window in a row or more window, have to purchase more set.

3) As you can see on the pics, the velcro is on one side and the other side is adhesive tape to be paste on the window frame.

4) I tested the net on the velcro and when i tried separating them, the velcro is DAMAGING the net! (Bad design as we need to close window during rain right?)

Solutions:

1) I've found a place selling exactly the same kind of net(plenty of colours) at around $30 -$50 for about 5m - 10m. (Unconfirm, will make a trip down to check)

2) I will be ordering magnet strip (one to be fix on the net and the other glue to the window frame) so that it will be easy to remove when closing windows.

http://singapore.rs-online.com/web/c/fasteners-fixings/magnets-magnetic-strips/magnetic-strips/

3) Good for sliding window as its one whole roll (cut your desire length)

4) The only thing i'm afraid is "what if the magnetic strips repel against each other?" = Die :curse:

Btw, my unit is low level and with kids around, no choice whole house need to fix screen.

gallery_58717_305_407320.jpg

Wow, you are DIY-ing the insect screen?

Can share what's the material of the screen you purchased? :)

My 2 cents worth.

Magnetic strip types generally tend to peel off after a few years because have to pull the screen up and down. This happened for my parents' home, whole house have mosquito/insect screens with magnetic strips. I do not know how long have they had the screens but I think it has been quite a long while judging from the look of the screens.

If it's 1 section window with 2-3 window panels then, it will be one big screen fit to the window frame and you will have to peel back the screen and close the screen back whenever opening/closing windows. It is quite a hassle mostly and after a while, the whole screen comes down on you because the magnetic strips no longer hold in place due to frequent peeling back/closing the screen.

Have seen that there are sellers in malaysia selling sliding insect frames and folding insect screens with tracks or no tracks only so no idea whether singapore sells these as well. You may want to consider the alternatives as well.