heynsl

Fh/999yrs Or 99yrs Condo Better?

That is true but they have to show public cause, eg for building roads, and they have to compensate you at market value or close to market. You can imagine the effect on foreign investors if the govt were to just acquire land for no reason, no responsible govt would dare to use such power frivolously.

I think the answer will be clearer if you track the historical performance of property vs other asset classes (eg gold). Cash is the worst, of course, since it doesn't do anything except suffer from inflation.

As an investment, property is one of the best long-term assets-- it's tangible, real and valuable. There's one thing they're not making more of, and that's land. If you live in it, you save the cost of rental. If you rent it out, you earn rental income.

yah loh, just like last year issue with the transport building and shop house incident is an example. Pay lower than the market evualation price and simply refused to move.

So there is no guarentee you can leave your unit to your next generation.

Wah, this thread is very interesting, cos so diversified.

Start by FH / 99 ...

Start by comparing location, resident/rental, resale value ..... etc.

Then, suddenly switch to amenties, people behaviour & good investment or not. keke .. :yamseng:

yah loh, just like last year issue with the transport building and shop house incident is an example. Pay lower than the market evualation price and simply refused to move.

You forgot that the owners appealed and got a higher payout.

Anyway, what's your beef? The Act has been around donkey years. You have to be smart when you buy a house. Certainly don't buy one next to the road (in case of road widening), etc-- any good agent will advise you.

Wah, this thread is very interesting, cos so diversified.

Start by FH / 99 ...

Start by comparing location, resident/rental, resale value ..... etc.

Then, suddenly switch to amenties, people behaviour & good investment or not. keke .. :o

same same lah ... :rolleyes: at the end of the day ... can make $$$ or not .. kekeke

but a good forum is one where opinions/thots are shared and everyone agree to disagree rite ?

TPY - my thot is that, at the end of the day, only we decide what is best for ourselves when we purchase our home .. be it governed by budget, location, amenities etc. Also if we want to leave our children cold hard cash, gold bars or house ... it's personal and and most of the time highly dependent on indv circumstances ...

But I kinda agree with WaiLeong that our govt (fingers-x) are quite above board when they have to make unpleasant decisions ... $-compensation mighj not be the best but I guess it shd be fairly close to mkt forces although we all know mkt forces tend to be the next lower level from our expected prices ... :o aiyah, not happy now got STOMP wat ... encouraging more "compains" .... :P

before i forget ... dun leave too much to kids hor .. else they will appear in news fighting over the millions .. kekeke

Edited by vampree

before i forget ... dun leave too much to kids hor .. else they will appear in news fighting over the millions .. kekeke

hmm.. so.. china 1 child policy is the best..

1 person to pass down.. no need to fight :rolleyes:

kekeke, remember the $1 purchase at balestier area?

imagine you got no money to engage lawyer, kenna eaten liao loh

as for leaving our 'legacy' behind, it's best to leave cash or trust fund IMHO coz there are ways to avoid estate duties...

but property can only exempt up to $600k nia, and living gift got to be more than 5yrs before you die :notti:

dun understand why must pay gahmen to give our assets to our children !!

as for leaving our 'legacy' behind, it's best to leave cash or trust fund IMHO coz there are ways to avoid estate duties...

but property can only exempt up to $600k nia, and living gift got to be more than 5yrs before you die :notti:

b'coz they always want some share..

u dont know arrrr..

any business got earn money want, government all want to had a leg inside..

You got this wrong. Property exemption is up to $9M. Other assets is up to $600K.

So what if it is FH or 999 years lease. There is a land aqquistion Act. You do not own the land forever.

yup, i agreed in red. so, i think 99yrs is good enough. reasonable priced, convenient and rental maybe better. :deal:

offer another point of view

if you want to leave anything for your children, a good choice would be cash or trust funds, gold bars even better.

a roof over their heads sound good but think in the long run, the condo will become dilapidated and badly require repairs or upgrading. then your child(ren) will have to fork out the money.

will they be able to do so? think in terms of tens or hundreds of thousands of dollars :D

if they can't, then they will be forced to sell the unit at a low low price :)

hmm, i think therat is referring to blue-collar workers...

yup, i agreed in red too. :P

I refer to all regardless is blue, white, red..

some good which I never encounter, some bad which I had encounter....

I had rent my house to a husband + wife China engineer before. What they had done to my house, I really don't know what to say.. only tell my husband. next time rent out.

"NO MORE China ppl. PERIOD."

that's why i mentioned china people are usually inconsiderate. 8|

yup, i agreed in red. nobody can predict the future. so be more practical now lor. if 99yrs can give a reasonable price and convenient then why not. :deal:

You got this wrong. Property exemption is up to $9M. Other assets is up to $600K.

oops :)

so better to leave property? or???

heng i dun plan to leave anything :P:D

Just a brief review .....

Male favours freehold & property investment for future generations.

:dunno:

so, what about female? :(

b'coz they always want some share..

u dont know arrrr..

any business got earn money want, government all want to had a leg inside..

hmm .. wonder if we pass down debts to our kids . will the govt also 'want a share' keke ?

leaving property behind .. i guess if one has been living in the house till death .. the condition of the hosue cannot be that bad ... anyway a landed place will retain a certain value ... for instance the value of the land ... so while it might not have been able to fetch land+house price .. kids will still be able to get land price ...