vicx1234

A "scandustrial" Concept ~ Sengkang Ea

Received some taobao stuff from Peeka today which included our toilet accessories from deHub which do not require any drilling, our 300 velvet hangers, 3M command strips for our art and some other small stuff. Up to this point, quite pleased with Peeka's service though they are not the cheapest around.

2014-03-05110300_zps6bc0ef28.jpg

Great idea with the 300 pcs! I cannot stand the different colours, sizes, design hangers in the wardrobe.

It is so unorganized and look messy, especially if it is a WIW with no doors.

So as you guys know I have been busy travelling to HK and being stuck in reservist the past couple of weeks, leaving our ID to handle the renos (which should be the case) without my usual daily supervision. I am pleased to announce that the contractors have finished their work and we are finally at the end of our reno (save for some touch ups)! :D:D

We have also officially moved in and have been sleeping at our new home since Saturday which is when my wife came back to Singapore. Although there has been a lot of cleaning already done (courtesy of the wife), we have had to clean it again every day because of the residual dust lying on the cabinets or in the air, paint and glue stains left behind etc. Actually, we shouldn't have to clean paint stains right??

Whatever the case, it's such a good feeling to move into a home you can truly call your own.

I'll be posting pics of the completed reno in the next couple of posts so bear with me.

Let's start with the kitchen shall we:

Kitchen Pics

So here is our completed kitchen with the quartz top and white glass backsplash finally in. Do ignore the unsightly plastic bag hanging at the window area. The appliances such as stove, oven, washer and dryer have also been installed so we're all set! Citygas is only coming to turn on the gas tomorrow though, so that will complete things. Note to self: take a close up picture of the Rinnai 3CG stove.

Loving the reflection of the under cabinet LED strip lights bouncing off the glass backsplash. Adds to the brightness of the kitchen and we can really see what we're cooking.

The Samsung fridge we bought is nice and big, not to mention white to fit the look of the kitchen. The shelf next to it will be used to place some crockery and perhaps dry foodstuff, can't wait to bring those over from my parent's place where they still sit.

Overall, quite pleased with the look and space of the kitchen.

2014-03-04002330_zps4daa0acd.jpg

A close up view of the light produced by the LED strip lights.

2014-02-28201740_zps5ec5c9ec.jpg

Can't get enough of looking at the AJ replica wall lights - they create a softer mood and provide nice ambient lighting when you don't need to turn on all the kitchen lights.

2014-03-04002343_zps745150fb.jpg

A closer view of our humongous fridge and Commune shelf.

2014-03-04002353_zps714a76aa.jpg

View of the 'yard' area of the kitchen which houses our washer, dryer and cleaning tools.

2014-03-04002417_zpsac85ccf2.jpg

Lastly, a close up view of our Sellena sink together with our tap/pull out spray faucet dual combo. The spray faucet comes in very handy when washing stubborn food remains off of plates etc.

2014-02-24210326_zps7e678ebd.jpg

Can't get enough of looking at the AJ replica wall lights - they create a softer mood and provide nice ambient lighting when you don't need to turn on all the kitchen lights.

2014-03-04002343_zps745150fb.jpg

Hmmm.....I feel should have 2 more sockets on the other side of the wall, near the window since you have such a long table top.

Hi.. a silent reader of your blog.. your kitchen looks great esp with the undercabinet lighting.. would you mind taking a photo of how the light looks like beneath the cabinet? Would like to know how you have installed it.. many thanks in advance!

Thanks for the comments guys! Will get back to you guys tomorrow with pics. Now still no Internet at home very hard to post pics from phone lah. Haha

Btw is multiquote replying possible from a mobile phone?

Edited by vicx1234

Hmmm.....I feel should have 2 more sockets on the other side of the wall, near the window since you have such a long table top.

You're absolutely right about both the uniformity of the hangers as well as the additional sockets in the kitchen bro. Unfortunately, it was too late for us to add more sockets nearer to the sink by the time we realized it. Regret! Hopefully the other sockets are sufficient otherwise multi pin plug lor. Bo pian.

Thanks for the comments guys! Will get back to you guys tomorrow with pics. Now still no Internet at home very hard to post pics from phone lah. Haha

yes but tedious LOL

Hi.. a silent reader of your blog.. your kitchen looks great esp with the undercabinet lighting.. would you mind taking a photo of how the light looks like beneath the cabinet? Would like to know how you have installed it.. many thanks in advance!

Great to hear from you fsuz! And thanks for the support.

Here is how the under cabinet LED strip lighting is installed:

The LED strip light comes in a roll depending on the length that you buy. Ours came with a sticker backing which made installation very easy - just stick it in place. Our contractor got the LED strip light for us so I'm not to sure where to get it from!

2014-03-05234942_zps95a7f298.jpg

The LED strip is then connected to a driver which our electrician housed in on of the top cabinets. Hope this helps!

2014-03-05234958_zps92a9a3fd.jpg

Hi Vicx, mind taking more photos of your flooring? The contractor advised us to see the matt homogenous tiles as a whole cuz he's worried we might not able to accept the uneven colour of the "cement" tile. Thanks in advance!!

hi hellonub, managed to take a few pics of our flooring yesterday which you can check out below. The colour is definitely uneven but it adds to the raw look and beauty of cement screed. If you like the look of cement screed, this is definitely a tile to consider!

2014-03-05235105_zps2b2cc21e.jpg

2014-03-05235117-2_zps295d4387.jpg

2014-03-05235122_zps9870c231.jpg

Morning guys, I'm starting off the day by posting pics of some taobao stuff delivered by Peeka yesterday.

3M Command Hanging Strips in S,M,L sizes - this is to hold our pop art etc without having to drill holes into the wall.

2014-03-06004817_zps1a60de98.jpg

Small artificial topiaries - 2 with our initials and 2 common round ones. For the letters they only had the letters L, O, V, E for obvious reasons. Luckily our initials consist of 2 of those letters!

2014-03-06004833_zps77eb0229.jpg

2014-03-06004718_zps55e5ea3c.jpg

Toilet Accessories - 1x towel hanger, 1 x clothes hanger, 1 x towel ring, 1 x shower rack and 1 x toilet roll holder. Won't be attaching all the pics. This is just to show the power of the suction holders. It's not the best looking toilet accessories in the world, but since we didn't want to drill too many holes into our walls, we traded looks for functionality and flexibility. This way, we can always change the accessories if they start to get rusty etc.

2014-03-06004559_zpsa3310c08.jpg

2014-03-06004437_zpsc448e356.jpg

2014-03-06004406_zps45823bd0.jpg

You will have to switch to the full version of the site.

Congratulations to the completion of your renovations!

Got try the command strips yet? Wonder if the taobao ones are the same as those sold in Singapore (which happen to be rather ex honestly)