drmzer 0 Report post Posted October 27, 2013 (edited) Finally gotten our keys on Friday the 13 September after 3 years of long wait .Floor PlanLiving roomMBRMBR Toilet Edited November 11, 2013 by drmzer Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
drmzer 0 Report post Posted October 27, 2013 (edited) Concept for our homeHas done quite some research looking for our idea cosy home. What we have come to conclusion was the Modern Rustic.Search for ID / ContractorUnlike many couples who did their research way for months, we only started looking ard a week plus juz b4 the collection of our keys. It was not as simple as we tot, even though we already have a few recommended contacts on hand. Going thru appointments and discussion is definitely a tiring and time-consuming process.Went thru a few rounds of talks and quotations with the shortlisted few to have a better understanding. After much consideration and discussion, we finally agreed to engage a contractor instead of an ID firm.Design wise, an ID firm will paint u a better picture and I am fascinated by some of the designs. But we decided to save e $10-$15K to doll up our hm and engaged an equally good contractor who impressed us with their prompt replies / advices and worksmanship - Marco & Deon from Hoong Fatt Heng.We look forward to the day they gonna start work =P Edited November 10, 2013 by drmzer Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
drmzer 0 Report post Posted November 9, 2013 The 1st wk...so excited tat e reno has started...yeah the floor protection were laid and the works for the L-box and false ceiling are in the process. Manage to meet up with Marco on site and gt updated that the wiring were also done earlier so that they could carry on with e ceiling works. Was pretty pleased with the progress, seems fairly efficient thus far the moment i step in, i saw tis...kekethe diligent guys the walkway...living rm... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
drmzer 0 Report post Posted November 9, 2013 Lightings...hmm...how to start tis thread...well, i dare not say I went to many shops to see lightings but we did shop-hop in Balestier & Jln Besar to check out the design and ideas:Balestier - many shops along this long stretch of rd. If you have no idea on wat to get, the vast varieties and design here is definitely an eye-opener. But pricing wise, they may be be as competitive.Jln Besar - the shops here are more willing to attend and explain to you. Show interest and they can offer you their best pricing.But in e end, I gt e lights at neither of these 2 plcs...haha. As my sis is also doing up her plc in Punggol Wave, she recommends tis lighting shop in Ubi to us so we gave it a shot.Took some pics:For our living room:we were overjoyed when Marvin says can help us custom-make our dining lights when we spotted this lying around..keke. He is really a humorous and helpful guy who assisted us in getting most of the lights Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mavicaste 58 Report post Posted November 10, 2013 Punggol Emerald? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
drmzer 0 Report post Posted November 11, 2013 Punggol Emerald?Bingo! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mavicaste 58 Report post Posted November 12, 2013 Bingo! Hi neighbour! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
francisg 2 Report post Posted November 12, 2013 hi fellow future neighour, my BTO is also in 266B Punggol Emerald, have not get the keys yet HDB said it will be this quarter, but somehow i am doubting so, can i ask how high is the ceiling from the floor? Also how's the joint from the ceiling slab to the wall? is it straight? i love to build a light box too but afraid that it will lower my ceiling Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mavicaste 58 Report post Posted November 12, 2013 hi fellow future neighour, my BTO is also in 266B Punggol Emerald, have not get the keys yet HDB said it will be this quarter, but somehow i am doubting so, can i ask how high is the ceiling from the floor? Also how's the joint from the ceiling slab to the wall? is it straight? i love to build a light box too but afraid that it will lower my ceilingHi francisg,I am from 266B as well, think it will be quite a feat already if the units are delivered in mid January judging by the state of the progress. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Harriette 42 Report post Posted November 13, 2013 Hi, can I have the address of the light shop in Ubi? What do you like about this shop? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
drmzer 0 Report post Posted November 16, 2013 hi fellow future neighour, my BTO is also in 266B Punggol Emerald, have not get the keys yet HDB said it will be this quarter, but somehow i am doubting so, can i ask how high is the ceiling from the floor? Also how's the joint from the ceiling slab to the wall? is it straight? i love to build a light box too but afraid that it will lower my ceilinAbt 102 inch / 259cm / 8.5 feet (ceiling - floor)We took Marco's recommendation & down our false ceiling & Lbox in e living area by 8 inches to flush with the beam height at e proposed study area so as to acquire a more uniform effect.Usually for cove lighting & Lbox, e standard drop is abt 6 inches. If you dun wan ur false ceiling tat low, can down by 3-4 inches if you are using only LED downlights. Nowadays, e newer LED downlight is not tat thick, thus a 3-4 inches false ceiling / Lbox is possible. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
drmzer 0 Report post Posted November 16, 2013 Hi, can I have the address of the light shop in Ubi? What do you like about this shop?"the lights culture" - 33 Ubi Ave 3 #01-50 Vertex S(408868)1) great service & recommendation fr tis lighting specialist called Marvin. Assisted & walk us thru when we needed his attention n advice.2) lightings in this shop are already decently priced (they priced-tag their products in e shop)3) if really interested & getting e item, you may check whether price is still negotiable - we did leave e plc with smiles 4) the best thg is Marvin can customized for us if he has e means - will post our customized dining lights when it is ready & fixed Worth to take a trip down if u r sourcing for lights. There are also other shops ard tat building to see lightings, kitchen and toilet accessories and furnitures. Gd luck in ur search ya Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
drmzer 0 Report post Posted November 16, 2013 "Philips Carnival Sales" is now on - 16 & 17 Nov 2013 @ Lor 1 Toa Payoh (till 6pm while stock lasts)Philips Lightings & Home appliances on sales (up to 60%) tis wkend - dun miss it Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
drmzer 0 Report post Posted November 17, 2013 Week 2...Well, nothing much tis week. Nonetheless, e false ceilings are down & the gain city guys have installed e aircons.The living area:Our system 4 :Gain City guys - came in ard 11am, show me 2 options on how they could lay the piping and how the trunking will look like. Took e recommended advice and installations were completed before 5pm. Pretty efficient & work nicely done Living room aircon:Rm aircon:This is e latest look of our Hall:We did some shopping this week. Manage to grab some good deals at the 'Philips Carnival Sales' Also gt a sofa from Harvey Norman (Millenia Walk) - great advice & excellent service from this lady called Lacey. Even when we had a last minute change, she was there for us Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
drmzer 0 Report post Posted November 23, 2013 (edited) Week 3 Definitely a good week for us...keke...cos our brick walls have started... Our 1st brick wallHe's our contractor guy, Marco, posing for a shot He will be working on all our brick walls single-handedly Edited November 23, 2013 by drmzer Share this post Link to post Share on other sites