StephanieLee

My Small Shelter

Hi all

seeking for advice, i juz bought 3 room hdb flat (resell flat). wondering:

1. squatting toilet change to sitting toilet bowl - waterproofing needed?

2. rewiring, is it must do rewiring?

i only have $5K for renovation cost. Is there anything i must do?

congrats in buying your own place!! even though 3 room, a lot of ppl also envious lah...

not sure abt question 1 as mine already sitting.

2) Not necessary but better do it if the flat is old or have not done rewiring for the past 10 years. this is to avoid any short circuit and cause fire.

you need to do repainting?

Hi it depends how old your place is and its current condition. To convert the squatting bowl to sitting bowl would cost $100+ excluding the cost of the WC which can be anything from $195 - 700+. I think the toilet floor may be affected and once you change that, the waterproofing membrane will need to be re-done.

For re-wiring, I agree with may_dream. Better to do it on a safer side but once done, there may be a need to re-paint. Our re-wiring for our whole place is around $2.3k and painting is around $1.2k. Hope this helps!

for electrical, safety is important especially if the last wiring was decades ago...... if u just install the standard ceiling lights like me, normally it would be included in the "package" offered by the ID/contractor, any extra is mainly on the extra powerpoint u want to have

if u want lightbox, the cost will definitely swell up as i believe each downlight is considered as one lighting point which is about $44-50 each(??)

waterproofing wise, dun tink u should save on it, it's for ur own good as well as ur neighbour downstairs.

kitchen wise is debatable but the tech officer from HDB once told me, u can dun do waterproofing for kitchen but the sink area definitely need to do.

but if u hack the floor where the sink is to do waterproofing, might as well do waterproofing for the entire kitchen, normally this is also included in packages offered in some ID firms