dreamzgal 0 Report post Posted May 20, 2013 (edited) Lights installed from TB so far so good, no major hipcups.. worth the buy 100000 times than purchasing in SG! lawrenceke, thanks for the assurance I bought 70% of my lights from Taobao and waiting eagerly for them to arrive in a week time Bro, here it is.. my humble petite unit.. 别见笑 The 3Ds were done b4 i bou my furniture & confirmed the paint colours & wallpaper, so not very choon, but they gave quite a close impression.. except for the kitchen cos i did fair bit of changes.. So i'm sure urs will turn out even more swee swee [paiseh, take up so much of ur t-blog space]Living Rm View #1Living Rm View #2Common RmKitchenjust4fun, your home looks gorgeous. In addition to the meeting with the ID and carpenter, I also took this opportunity to have my purchases delivered to my home. After the ID and carpenter left, I stayed on to tear open the boxes (like an excited kid on boxing day) to have a glimpse of the items which will soon form part of my house. Besides busy dismantling these boxes, I also jotted down the descriptions on all the boxes (in both English and Chinese) so that the workers will have an easier time identifying them during installation. I suppose I'm the most thoughtful client my ID will ever encounter (of course, with the exception of constantly throwing new request at him... ).These are the pictures.1) Tecno Hob which I have ordered from Harvey Norman2) The shiny glass surface of the Tecno Hob (can't wait for it to be installed on the kitchen cabinet! )3) Tecno Slim Hood (Yeahhhh! I'm a Techno person! Wahahahaha! )4) Blanco double-bowl sink from Heritage Bathroom Gallery5) 7 pieces stainless steel bathroom accessories (also from Heritage Bathroom Gallery)Ben, seems that your renovation is progressing well... so happy for you I can't wait to open up my purchases too.. In addition to the arrival of my local purchases, the Taobao items have also smoothly crossed the South China Sea and shown up in my Punggol flat. I must applause the effort of peeka staff in China for securing my items in layers and layers of air-filled cushion wrap during the packaging so that the protection level for the items is at its maximum. Well done! After opening up the boxes, I just browse through the items as I'm pretty lazy to fix up the parts and pieces. Shall upload more pictures after I have time to revisit my house again to join up all the small segments together.Meanwhile here are some of the photographs:-1) The packaging of my crystal chandelier purchased from Taobao (awesome right?! )2) All the small components of the crystal lighting set (Yawnnnnn... I got to construct them like how I used to play with Legos )3) The LED lightbulb of the crystal lighting set4) Sink Mixer from Taobao (I have gotten the same as lawrenceke. To find out how it looks like when installed, please view his T-blog - http://www.renotalk.com/forum/topic/59703-my-humble-abode/?p=795023)Wow... Peeka really package your lights well. Mine should be arriving next week... and I can't wait to see them though they are just common lightings...Can't wait to see your completed home Edited May 20, 2013 by dreamzgal Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mishmish 7 Report post Posted May 20, 2013 This may sound dumb...I have been thinking about the "cold" drinks part for a while. Except for once when we went back during lunchtime, don't really know how else to leave cold drinks behind for them. Currently we could only provide them with room temperature drinks...(these days room temperature quite hot too...)So far I have checked their tiling. Being an outsider in the reno industry, don't really know what to check. Haha. Can see some tiles slightly off-aligned but I can live with it lah...Fixing the chandelier sounds fun! Like doing jigsaw puzzle, I like! Have fun!I also wonder about how to pass them cold drinks. Not dumb at all. When I go in the day sometimes, I feel so warm and stuffy because of all the dust and construction debris around. Then I feel bad that my drinks aren't cold. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bengologist 1 Report post Posted May 21, 2013 n u keep adding VOs to ur reno.. but no matter wat, i nvr see the Green Man rip his trousers de! so dun worry, it may get a little tight but u wont go bottomless... wahaha! Hahaha! That's really my big big problem, always having the urge to add VOs to my reno without peeping at the deficits in my bankbook. LOL!The vanity sets will be my last addition (I promise.........I try.............I think........should be......... hmmmmm........ ) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bengologist 1 Report post Posted May 21, 2013 This may sound dumb...I have been thinking about the "cold" drinks part for a while. Except for once when we went back during lunchtime, don't really know how else to leave cold drinks behind for them. Currently we could only provide them with room temperature drinks...(these days room temperature quite hot too...)So far I have checked their tiling. Being an outsider in the reno industry, don't really know what to check. Haha. Can see some tiles slightly off-aligned but I can live with it lah...Fixing the chandelier sounds fun! Like doing jigsaw puzzle, I like! Have fun!Haha! I managed to see them once in a while (to be exact, Saturdays) when I visit my house and I will buy a few bottles of 1.5L chilled water for them because the house always transform into a hot sauna these days. If they have not eaten, I will ask if they require any food so that I can go 'tabao' treat them. I'm also a stranger in this reno industry, so I'm only relying on my eyes to spot visual defects. Those technical defects I might require the help of my friend who's working in this industry. It might sound fun but the thought of fixing it up in my 'sauna' house this coming Vesak Day certainly scares me off. I'm praying for rain this coming Friday. Hahaha! I will upload more pics when I'm done with the chandelier. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bengologist 1 Report post Posted May 21, 2013 lawrenceke, thanks for the assurance I bought 70% of my lights from Taobao and waiting eagerly for them to arrive in a week time just4fun, your home looks gorgeous. Ben, seems that your renovation is progressing well... so happy for you I can't wait to open up my purchases too.. Wow... Peeka really package your lights well. Mine should be arriving next week... and I can't wait to see them though they are just common lightings...Can't wait to see your completed home Hahaha! I can totally feel your excitement! Remember to upload a few photos of your Taobao loots! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bengologist 1 Report post Posted May 21, 2013 I also wonder about how to pass them cold drinks. Not dumb at all. When I go in the day sometimes, I feel so warm and stuffy because of all the dust and construction debris around. Then I feel bad that my drinks aren't cold.Yeah that's true. I even discussed with my parents to bring the small fridge (really small) in my current living room over so that those guys will have cold drinks while working under such hot and humid conditions. However no one is free or willing to bring it over, so we eventually dropped the idea. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lawrenceke 0 Report post Posted May 21, 2013 Hi Beng,You need to get your electrician to hang up the chandelier base plate first before you hang up the crystals. If you fixed the whole chandelier up before hanging onto the ceiling.. it will be too heavy to install it up!This is what i meant..Then when you are ready.. you install just like how i did.. one by one.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bengologist 1 Report post Posted May 21, 2013 Hi Beng,You need to get your electrician to hang up the chandelier base plate first before you hang up the crystals. If you fixed the whole chandelier up before hanging onto the ceiling.. it will be too heavy to install it up!This is what i meant..Then when you are ready.. you install just like how i did.. one by one.. Hey lawrenceke!Thanks a million for the pictures and instructions! I'm gonna need this when I try to fix it this Friday. How heavy is your chandelier? Your false ceiling able to support the weight? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dreamzgal 0 Report post Posted May 21, 2013 Hahaha! I can totally feel your excitement! Remember to upload a few photos of your Taobao loots! Yes.. yes... I will Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jus4fun 4 Report post Posted May 21, 2013 Hey lawrenceke!Thanks a million for the pictures and instructions! I'm gonna need this when I try to fix it this Friday. How heavy is your chandelier? Your false ceiling able to support the weight? Think lawrence mounted it onto the ceiling directly.. the false ceiling/cove light is at one side of the ceiling above the dining area... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lawrenceke 0 Report post Posted May 21, 2013 Think lawrence mounted it onto the ceiling directly.. the false ceiling/cove light is at one side of the ceiling above the dining area...Yeah, i mounted it on the real ceiling. Never mount it on false ceiling, it will be too heavy to support. I believe the chandelier is dirt heavy depends on how many crystal balls you have.. i have 72 for my set. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bengologist 1 Report post Posted May 21, 2013 Yeah, i mounted it on the real ceiling. Never mount it on false ceiling, it will be too heavy to support. I believe the chandelier is dirt heavy depends on how many crystal balls you have.. i have 72 for my set.Yeah, thanks for the clarification. I have mentioned it to my ID that the chandelier I have purchased might be about 8 to 9 kg, so it must be connected to the real ceiling, perhaps further reinforced by the metal support in the false ceiling. If they connect it to the false ceiling instead, then I guess i'm gone. It will be a matter of time before the whole thing will collapse on anyone and/or the glass dining table. I will highlight that again to my ID.Thanks dude! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
niko 1 Report post Posted May 21, 2013 20th May 2013Time for a weekly update (I wish I can do daily update but progress is not fast enough ) !As many of you have already known by now, I had a "showdown" with my ID and carpenter last weekend to talk about the renovation issues, highlight the slow progress and discussed about the layout of the kitchen cabinets/bedroom wardrobes which requires carpentary work. Despite my constant usage of words like "showdown", "confrontation", it was just a relaxed and casual talk about my renovation project they are working on and it was so much like talking to two friends that I even had the absurdity to inform my ID of my decision to ADD EXTRA WORK to the renovation. He was like when I told him that I wanted to hack the existing toilet basins and replace with vanity sets (sink+cabinet combo). He must be thinking, "Can you don't add things one week at a time? One shot add everything will be easier for me." in his mind. Lol.. I also wanted to add something for my kitchen but my carpenter guy say no cos all my kitchen cabinet have already done, can't add at all..he must be thinking why I keep give him so much problem keep adding this and that. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Bengologist 1 Report post Posted May 22, 2013 Lol.. I also wanted to add something for my kitchen but my carpenter guy say no cos all my kitchen cabinet have already done, can't add at all..he must be thinking why I keep give him so much problem keep adding this and that. Well, that's a good and bad thing depending on how you see it. The bad thing is that you can't have what you want in mind. The good thing(S) are that you save money and your renovation progress is fast! My renovation is wayyyyy behind schedule, so I'm still able to add new items into the renovation plan ( + = Don't know to laugh or cry). Hahahaha! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
niko 1 Report post Posted May 22, 2013 (edited) Hahahah...Yes it true.. That why I told my carpenter guy what I want for my kitchen cabinet. When I give him deposit, the next day he proceed my order. When I meet him the 2nd time, he already done all my carpenter works.. So kitchen cabinet can't add anythings.. So sad... I told him not need so fast, as im not in hurry.. My renovation not fast, just that all are individual sub-con. I plan the schedule by myself. Now I facing some problem, one part of my kitchen base do wronging, have to ask the tiler guy redo again. I really happy that my tiler guy is very good, no complain at all when I need his help to change this and that. Edited May 22, 2013 by niko Share this post Link to post Share on other sites