yellow

Plaster Kitchen Wall Tiles? Possible?

I hacked the wall tiles and then plastered over them. My kitchen walls are now painted. I believe my contractor must have cement screeded over the walls first before plastering.

I don't think it is necessary to hack the wall tiles before plastering. The reason why I hacked the wall tiles was simply because I negotiated a single fee for hacking everything and I didn't realise there was no need to hack.

What about just cement screed over the kitchen wall tiles? Mine's an old resale flat so wonder if there will be any risk if I dont hack the kitchen tiles and just cement screed/ plaster it? :sport-smiley-004:

I hacked the wall tiles and then plastered over them. My kitchen walls are now painted. I believe my contractor must have cement screeded over the walls first before plastering.

I don't think it is necessary to hack the wall tiles before plastering. The reason why I hacked the wall tiles was simply because I negotiated a single fee for hacking everything and I didn't realise there was no need to hack.

hi belle, how much will the contractor charge for plastering kitchen walls. Since plastered walls will give the surface uneven texture, do you have any problem when you installed your kitchen cabinets? Please advise.

I would said plastered walls is rather an interesting and yet cost saving method to get rid of ugly wall tiles.

hi belle, how much will the contractor charge for plastering kitchen walls. Since plastered walls will give the surface uneven texture, do you have any problem when you installed your kitchen cabinets? Please advise.

I would said plastered walls is rather an interesting and yet cost saving method to get rid of ugly wall tiles.

I intended to overlay plaster wall to existing kitchen wall tiles. My contractor said is possible and is about $1k cheaper compare to hacking. My quotation: $980 include painting for size of 2.9m x 4.65m, exclude about 1.4m length of low wall, bathroom and WC door area.

Hope this help..

Jen

I thought of hacking the kitchen wall tiles, plaster and painting over it. Does any one has photo to see?

Will there be any problem on cleaning the wall next time?

I thought of hacking the kitchen wall tiles, plaster and painting over it. Does any one has photo to see?

I think there will more or less trouble cleaning as the plastered wall is not that smooth surface anymore and perhaps u have to clean harder next time but I was thinking you can jolly well change the paint colour every few years to give it a fresh look and cover up the dirts too...

Just my 1cent opinion.

u can try searching online i tink for the pics. normally i see those walls plastered on is western type of kitchen. Their walls are just normal plaster and painted. Even if gt tiles, it's just between the countertop and the cabinet that portion. Other than that is all paint lor.

I plastered over my kitchen wall tiles, paint it with ICI weathershield. no problems cleaning the wall. just use a wet cloth and run over the wall surface. you can look at my blog.

Hi GMC, do you have any special contractor dealing with the plastered walls or it's done by the overall contractor? How much did you spend on that? Care to share? Thanks.

By the way, how do I add avatar? I can't seem to upload from anywhere.

Just to check with the rest, is it possible to use backsplash and tile behind it? Or choose either backsplash or wall tile? Thanks.

My kitchen :notti: Hack away wall tiles, plaster & paint with ICI wash & wear :P But i have no top cabinet, so i have more room to play with :( If u have top & bottom cabinet, i suggest u do coloured glass backsplash in between top & bottom cabinet, will look nicer lo :good:

th_39420_15052007985_122_1127lo.jpg

th_39414_15052007982_122_920lo.jpg

th_39428_15052007987_122_657lo.jpg

th_39426_15052007986_122_540lo.jpg

Opposite Side. Oso no tiles, plaster & paint :)

th_39434_15052007988_122_858lo.jpg

th_39440_15052007990_122_1069lo.jpg

There're more pics in my Reno T-Blog :P Enjoy :notti:

i have plaster over existing wall as it is a cheaper alternative than hacking or overlay.

it is still in good condition and love the sleek look.

Hi Yellow

What made u decide to hack them in the end? instead of plastering?

Hi gothique

I am also thinking of plastering over tiles. Both for my balcony and kitchen tiles! Anyone else that have this experience to share? thanks.

Simple - My parents said I'm crazy.

Then looking at the variety of tiles available, I think maybe it wouldn't look too bad after all. I still love my new wall tiles. Nevertheless, I think it would be fun to draw on painted walls...

FSP, Nice kitchen you have there.

My kitchen :) Hack away wall tiles, plaster & paint with ICI wash & wear :notti: But i have no top cabinet, so i have more room to play with :notti: If u have top & bottom cabinet, i suggest u do coloured glass backsplash in between top & bottom cabinet, will look nicer lo :good:

There're more pics in my Reno T-Blog :P Enjoy :)

May I know what is Coloured glass backsplash? Is it tempered glass with colour behind?

I am thinking hard on the area between the top and bottom cabient, to paint, or put stainless steel plate or tempered glass. Hard to decide. :dunno:

To paint, use ICI wash and wear will do? Or use weather shield ?

May I know what is Coloured glass backsplash? Is it tempered glass with colour behind?

I am thinking hard on the area between the top and bottom cabient, to paint, or put stainless steel plate or tempered glass. Hard to decide. :(

To paint, use ICI wash and wear will do? Or use weather shield ?

No it's coloured glass, the glass itself is coloured. If i have top cabinet, i'll go for coloured tempered glass in between the top & bottom cabinet. Easy to clean & look nice. if u wanna get stainless steel backsplash, get those brushed surface type, dun get those smooth, shiny surface type. The shiny, smooth surface type very prone to scratches.