blueeeeie 0 Report post Posted April 14, 2013 The kitchenHubby likes these tiles for the kitchenApparently they call these the "subway" tiles since subway outlets like to use these sorta tiles for their stores..Looks good with dark colored kitchen cabinets.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueeeeie 0 Report post Posted April 14, 2013 Hi lawrence!I only realized you had a blog here after I started mine.. I saw ur chandeliers are up! Good progress.. looks like u can move in soon too.. lucky u! I still have a few more weeks to go.. wait till neck long liao Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueeeeie 0 Report post Posted April 14, 2013 (edited) Toilet fittingsSlim design toilet bowls selected for both the master and common toilets.. need to be able to make space for the basins and vanity tops.. We wanted to go for something a little more unique for the common toilet.. so we ended up choosing a full chrome basin pairing it off with a tap that looks like an android robot! (I'm a big android fan)As for the master.. something small and simple was sufficient.. again.. space was an issue hence the choiceAnd even though this isn't part of the toilet fittings.. we choose the kitchen sink on the same day as the basins.. so the photo ended up being lumped in here too.. Edited April 14, 2013 by blueeeeie Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueeeeie 0 Report post Posted April 14, 2013 Aircons installed!Aircons are up!!The aircon site surveyor guy was pretty bad at planning the trunking.. honestly.. his suggestions for how to run the pipes were beyond ugly! If it were up to him.. trunking would be everywhere!!!!Thank goodness for smart contractors..Master bedroom! Trunking hidden in toilet..Baby room.. trunking running along the corridoor ceiling..Study.. some trunking showing up but still bearableLiving room.. no trunking showing at all!Not too bad considering I have no false ceiling.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueeeeie 0 Report post Posted April 14, 2013 ToiletsAnd after many many days.. the toilet tilings are done!Master toilet.. Common toilet.. a little regret on the choice of floor tiles in this case.. the mosaic would have gone a lot better with plain grey floor tiles instead of the natural stone look ones.. but what's done is done liao!Heh heh.. you can just fill up the common toilet with water and it'll be a swimming pool!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueeeeie 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2013 Walls and FlooringOnce all the wet works were completed.. it was time to make way for the dry works.. First up.. partitions!!!Did up a looong partition stretching from the front entrance all the way to the window.. smooths out the original kink and its great for hiding all the cables from my home theatre system..Then another partition in the master bedroom too.. again.. for the tv and hiding of wires..The kitchen partition was requested for by my hubby.. he didn't like the original tiles and since he didn't wanna spend more tiling over such a large area.. he just requested for another partition to hide the tiles..Then we have the flooring!Ah.. flooring.. byebye raw looking cement.. hello new york apartment...With the same flooring stretching across the whole house.. it really created a loft apartment feel to it.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueeeeie 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2013 LightsI have been poisoned.. utterly poisoned I tell you! This gorgeous artemide tolomeo mega wall lamp would look so fantastic as a dining room light Not to mention these little small wall bedside lamps.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jus4fun 4 Report post Posted April 17, 2013 Good progression! Everything sesms to sail pretty smoothly.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueeeeie 0 Report post Posted April 17, 2013 Good progression! Everything sesms to sail pretty smoothly.. Yeah.. keeping fingers crossed that things will continue to be smooth.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueeeeie 0 Report post Posted April 17, 2013 (edited) Lighting installation part 1So I had decided on the artemide lightings for my dining, study and bedroom wall lights and since I wasn't made of money.. I ordered the replicas from taobao instead.. the rest of my lights were ordered locally..The lights shown here are the ones I had ordered locally..All my lights are surface lights cos I had no false ceiling.. I decided on 2 black "milo tin" lights for my kitchen.. 3 black box spot lights for my living room and corridoor.. 1 rectangle light for my study (its not here yet so its not installed).. 2 white "milo tin" lights for my toilets.. and 1 white twin spotlights from philips.. all spotlights are of course LED.. and last but not least 3 crestar fans with lights as well (they were on offer!)Here's what it looks like:Corridoor spotlight.. switched on to test its brightness.. very nice.. Living room spotlights.. couldn't switch on yet.. but still nice...Kitchen lights.. I've always thought the milo tin lights had potential to make design statements.. Toilet light.. showing only common toilet here.. but its the same setup in the master..And the twin spotlights from philips.. I love these spots a lot.. Edited April 17, 2013 by blueeeeie Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueeeeie 0 Report post Posted April 17, 2013 Lighting installation part 1 continuedCrestar fans.. the drop is a lot lower than I expected.. but I still need to stand on tip toe in order to touch the light of the fan.. And not forgetting the ikea light for my little boy's room.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jus4fun 4 Report post Posted April 17, 2013 Paiseh suaku me.. I see no trunking even for the ceiling lights and fans... For BTO flats, r all the power point and lighting positions pre-fixed, so the electrical cables r pre-run liao? What if you dun like the positions and wanna change? Need to hack and conceal back? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueeeeie 0 Report post Posted April 17, 2013 Paiseh suaku me.. I see no trunking even for the ceiling lights and fans... For BTO flats, r all the power point and lighting positions pre-fixed, so the electrical cables r pre-run liao? What if you dun like the positions and wanna change? Need to hack and conceal back? For BTO flats.. all the lighting points are pre-fixed (you're right).. so for those people who install false ceiling.. the electrician will just pull and extend the wires out to the points where lights and fans are going to be installed then everything is hidden by the false ceiling..For people who don't want false ceiling.. the electrician will cut a thin channel from the original point in the ceiling to the point where you're installing the light or fan.. then the channel and original point is then patched back with plaster and painted over.. Its the same method they use when you want to move your power points or tv points in your wall..From the start of the reno till now.. my lighting points have shifted 2 or 3 times already.. as my contractor always says "you want to change? No problem!" hah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Sappyd 8 Report post Posted April 17, 2013 Hi there.. Wanna ask.. Whr did u buy ur "milo" tins lights? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blueeeeie 0 Report post Posted April 17, 2013 Hi there.. Wanna ask.. Whr did u buy ur "milo" tins lights?I bought it at Modulux along jalan besar.. but I saw these milo tin lights in many of the lighting shops along there.. They come in 3 sizes.. small medium and large..The ones in my toilet are the small ones.. the ones in the kitchen are the medium ones.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites