wisann 0 Report post Posted March 31, 2013 (edited) I have been a silent follower of some blogs here in renotalk since we started our house hunting and now that we are going to collect our key next week, I thought of starting this small blog of ours and maybe document our renovation process a lil bit We do not engage any ID, so yeah, most of the ideas here come from us (mostly my wife lol) and here is the floor plan of our 5-room resale HDB The first thing to go is the wall between the kitchen and livingroom, we plan to create an open kitchen concept Hopefully we can get some pointers from sifu here regarding the renovation.Note about the title, home gallery hehe.. Coz I am a wedding photographer and plan to furnish my house to look like a gallery to showcase the photographs that I took, but um, of course the idea is home first, gallery second lol.For those who are curious, you can visit my photography page here:www.facebook.com/wisantojiangphotographywww.wisantojiang.com Edited March 31, 2013 by wisann Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Makanology 29 Report post Posted March 31, 2013 Welcome and I like your balcony! Are the windows all the way from floor to ceiling? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wisann 0 Report post Posted March 31, 2013 (edited) Hi Makanology, yes, it's full-height window. This is one of the reason why we fell in love with this flat and die die want to get it haha.. Another reason is the possibility to have an open concept kitchen. Plus, we might add an island as well. Excited! Edited March 31, 2013 by wisann Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
spikedoll 2 Report post Posted March 31, 2013 Nice pics u have taken ! And all the best for your Reno ! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wisann 0 Report post Posted March 31, 2013 Thanks spikedoll. I am following your blog religiously haha... Hope can find some inspirations from you guys Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
swaskie 0 Report post Posted March 31, 2013 yr place is huge and welcome to the reno family!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wisann 0 Report post Posted March 31, 2013 We were thinking of getting 4-room flat at first, but after viewing 5-room flat, we can't seem to think about it hence in the end we pulled the trigger and bought a 5-room one. Hopefully it is huge enough for us in the long run Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wisann 0 Report post Posted April 1, 2013 We bought the very first item for our new house, a queen-size Sandford Lotus mattress from Courts Megastore We tested a few mattresses but none can match the feeling that we got from Lotus mattress, well, Omazz is better, but it costs much more haha. In the end, we settle with Lotus instead. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wisann 0 Report post Posted April 9, 2013 Finally got our keys today. We will do a short praying tomorrow and the renovation should follow afterwards. Exciting time Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
summersann 6 Report post Posted April 9, 2013 Finally got our keys today. We will do a short praying tomorrow and the renovation should follow afterwards. Exciting time All the best for your renovation! Your renovation pictures are going to be promising (considering your profession) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wisann 0 Report post Posted April 23, 2013 We started the hacking today, after long delay lol. Pardon the image quality though, my wife is the one overseeing the renovation and she captured this using her old mobile phone. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wisann 0 Report post Posted April 23, 2013 All the best for your renovation! Your renovation pictures are going to be promising (considering your profession) Hahaha.. This weekend I am going down to check out the progress, will try to snap some images too Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
WhiteCookie 0 Report post Posted May 2, 2013 nice! are we expecting open concept kitchen with an island? seems like it hehe. so tempted to do it but no space for mine. haa all the best for your reno! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wisann 0 Report post Posted May 3, 2013 nice! are we expecting open concept kitchen with an island? seems like it hehe. so tempted to do it but no space for mine. haa all the best for your reno!Yes, we'll have an island Hopefully it turns out well. I haven't visited the flat since the renovation started, my wife is the one supervising Anyway, we have bought a few appliances and still have a few items yet to be decided. Probably you guys can give us some recommendations?1. Vacuum cleaner. Can't decide to get a bagless or bag version haha. Though I really like the Dyson DC39. It looks super cool. But it costs like SGD 999 at courts hmm.. And my hands itchy, go and check at amazon, with delivery fee and GST added, it only comes up to SGD 604. Is it advisable to buy vacuum cleaner from amazon? The saving is around 40% though.2. Curtain. I will have a guy from the curtain boutique to give me quotation this Sunday. Dunno how much it will turn out to be.3. LED TV. With 3m distance between my TV and sofa, I am eyeing the LG 55LM8600. Hopefully can get a good deal this coming PC show 4. Herman Miller Aeron. Wohooo.. My dream chair. Still indecisive whether to buy from Hardwarezone Mass Order or from XTRA. Anyone here got any lobang for Herman Miller chair? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites