jessi 0 Report post Posted March 28, 2007 Hihi Jessie,*nod nod* me getting grille for scvs bal....my unit haf to get wan, bo pian...too near e lift lah....for safety.But I wondering shd knock down the windows in the kitchen or nt....I see my block got sme units hack off the windows part so it looks like "merged with the scvs bal" except for the wall in btw.....door thk they oso take away....but I scared will make my clothes oil le...(cuz hang clothes in scvs Bal mah).....hm..... mine also leh.. too near to the lift already. my FH said that people can throw things into our service balcony from the lift there but i don't really like having grilles.. ya, if u hang clothes in svc balconay better to have the windows else after cooking then your clothes smells of the food. hehe.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted March 28, 2007 mine also leh.. too near to the lift already. my FH said that people can throw things into our service balcony from the lift there but i don't really like having grilles.. ya, if u hang clothes in svc balconay better to have the windows else after cooking then your clothes smells of the food. hehe..*nod nod*...mabbe change to sliding windows (slid up/dwn)..dun like the shutter type...I din thk abt ppl throwg items into scvs bal....shdnt haf bah...our neighborhd pretty quiet...mre worried abt burglar type cuz veli near lift lobby (even though got blocking wall)....mabbe grill on the MBR back window too....I oso dun liek grills, no grills on other part of hse! *high five* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Allo 0 Report post Posted March 28, 2007 *nod nod*...mabbe change to sliding windows (slid up/dwn)..dun like the shutter type...I din thk abt ppl throwg items into scvs bal....shdnt haf bah...our neighborhd pretty quiet...mre worried abt burglar type cuz veli near lift lobby (even though got blocking wall)....mabbe grill on the MBR back window too....I oso dun liek grills, no grills on other part of hse! *high five* if u observed, the service balcony lookout to the aicon ledge. its dangerous in a away if there is 'spiderman thief' hahaa....i oso dun like grilles... kena 'forced'. bo bian......... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mist 0 Report post Posted March 28, 2007 if u observed, the service balcony lookout to the aicon ledge. its dangerous in a away if there is 'spiderman thief' hahaa....i oso dun like grilles... kena 'forced'. bo bian.........yar... its looks really easy to climb up or down to my neighbour's flat wad a horrible flat design. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Allo 0 Report post Posted March 28, 2007 yar... its looks really easy to climb up or down to my neighbour's flat wad a horrible flat design.i think they designed such a way that all the unsightly things (aircon ledge, laundries) are at 1 common site.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted April 2, 2007 Hi All,Just met up with contractor over the weekend, pending for quotes......Have an enquiry here, nt sure if anyone can help to answer? Any advice wld b greatly appreciated!! My MBR toilet comes tiled (courtesy of HDB) n is >5yrs old, thkg of tearing away the toilet bowl n basin-vanity counter. My contractor says dat I dun haf to retile becuz of dat....n dat I can ask HDB for sme tiles to retile the affected area....is it true? I oni noe dat defect can change....dinno that contractor tear away the peripherals, oso can change tiles ah?As read on quite a few blogs here (whom are all neighbors), it seems dat the tiles are no longer in existence... does it mean HDB can change all my tiles for me (at sme charge I pressume...)?Many many thanks if someone can answer me..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted April 2, 2007 Hi All,Just met up with contractor over the weekend, pending for quotes......Have an enquiry here, nt sure if anyone can help to answer? Any advice wld b greatly appreciated!! My MBR toilet comes tiled (courtesy of HDB) n is >5yrs old, thkg of tearing away the toilet bowl n basin-vanity counter. My contractor says dat I dun haf to retile becuz of dat....n dat I can ask HDB for sme tiles to retile the affected area....is it true? I oni noe dat defect can change....dinno that contractor tear away the peripherals, oso can change tiles ah?As read on quite a few blogs here (whom are all neighbors), it seems dat the tiles are no longer in existence... does it mean HDB can change all my tiles for me (at sme charge I pressume...)?Many many thanks if someone can answer me..... Dismantling the toilet bowl or vanity top shouldn't affect the tiles if done carefully. I dismantled the existing ones that HDB gave me and am doing a solid surface top and cabinet underneath.....replaced with a new toilet bowl too..my tiles are not affected..Also, HDB might not be able to find the exact same tile as the flat is already more than 5 yrs....You shd ask your contractor to be careful when dismantling those...HDB will only rectify any defects before any reno work is done...After reno starts, HDB will not entertain any defect rectification as it is assumed that defect is caused by the reno works... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted April 2, 2007 Dismantling the toilet bowl or vanity top shouldn't affect the tiles if done carefully. I dismantled the existing ones that HDB gave me and am doing a solid surface top and cabinet underneath.....replaced with a new toilet bowl too..my tiles are not affected..Also, HDB might not be able to find the exact same tile as the flat is already more than 5 yrs....You shd ask your contractor to be careful when dismantling those...HDB will only rectify any defects before any reno work is done...After reno starts, HDB will not entertain any defect rectification as it is assumed that defect is caused by the reno works...Hihi Air,Thanks v much for ur explanation! I guess my contractor meant "buy" the tiles frm HDB then, hehee....was in a rush to ask him properly...*hopes of brand new toilet frm HDB dashed* Btw, I just dropped a note in ur blog askg abt ur spray-paint frm David, hehehe....at the same time u replied me here, hee. Thanks ya!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted April 2, 2007 Hihi Air,Thanks v much for ur explanation! I guess my contractor meant "buy" the tiles frm HDB then, hehee....was in a rush to ask him properly...*hopes of brand new toilet frm HDB dashed* Btw, I just dropped a note in ur blog askg abt ur spray-paint frm David, hehehe....at the same time u replied me here, hee. Thanks ya!! No problem! Glad to share! Another option you can explore is overlaying your toilet tiles, but there is always the risk of tiles popping out in time to come if you have got hollow tiles. My ID told me that he has done this b4 and not long after, the tiles started popping out, so now he tried not to encourage overlaying of toilet tiles....but i guess it's up to individual lah... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted April 2, 2007 No problem! Glad to share! Another option you can explore is overlaying your toilet tiles, but there is always the risk of tiles popping out in time to come if you have got hollow tiles. My ID told me that he has done this b4 and not long after, the tiles started popping out, so now he tried not to encourage overlaying of toilet tiles....but i guess it's up to individual lah... Yah, heard of sme horror stories....we were thkg of either hacking n relay (which is exp n contractor oso say no need) or spray-painting by David (which most old-time contractors dun like cuz no gaurantee)....But since can avoid hacking, thk I will go for spraying bah...not gonna stay there life-time oso, hee....So excited for ur reno! Hope to see ur hse fully reno sn! Mine still long-way.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
krisietong 0 Report post Posted April 2, 2007 No problem! Glad to share! Another option you can explore is overlaying your toilet tiles, but there is always the risk of tiles popping out in time to come if you have got hollow tiles. My ID told me that he has done this b4 and not long after, the tiles started popping out, so now he tried not to encourage overlaying of toilet tiles....but i guess it's up to individual lah... actually I got new set of tiles from HDB.. I jus reported some defects and I get to change all the tiles.. but i realised that the contractor did not hack and retile.. they just overlay the wall tiles.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted April 5, 2007 actually I got new set of tiles from HDB.. I jus reported some defects and I get to change all the tiles.. but i realised that the contractor did not hack and retile.. they just overlay the wall tiles.. I thot HDB contractor shd hack n then lay new tiles?....dun worli....if no hollow tile, shd be fine too Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Allo 0 Report post Posted April 5, 2007 I thot HDB contractor shd hack n then lay new tiles?....dun worli....if no hollow tile, shd be fine too no, ah soon told me they dont hack the toilet tiles, they just do overlay. they only hack and redo for kitchen wall tiles.ur h*b contractor is oso ah soon? rectification of defects havent completed? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
koikoi 0 Report post Posted April 5, 2007 looks like all of u got uncle ah soon...me got mr lee...greycat u goin to your new place tmr??? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted April 5, 2007 no, ah soon told me they dont hack the toilet tiles, they just do overlay. they only hack and redo for kitchen wall tiles.ur h*b contractor is oso ah soon? rectification of defects havent completed?I cldnt find defects.....tried as I might, I can oni say at most dat my tiles nt very aligned..... so wishd at hdb can chg my tiles man cuz all I wantd is white color tiles.... Gog dwn to meet contractor dis weekend at his shop to get his detailed quote....Met him at new hse last weekend n was in a rush so I askd him to add in alota thgs (such as curved laminate platform, hack n redo whole toilet etc)....in the end, he told me final quote was abt 30K ! So gog dwn to see wer's the bulk of it hee...looks like all of u got uncle ah soon...me got mr lee...greycat u goin to your new place tmr???prolly nt....no point gog dwn to empty flat hehehe....prolly gog to meet contractor... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites