BunBun 5 Report post Posted March 3, 2008 Sounds like you're going to have your hands full since Yuki is more 'play' motivated. I think both of you will be burnt out very fast by then.As for bathing, hold her down on the floor and coax her gently. Say all kinda mushy nonsensical stuff to it to calm it down cos some dogs don't like to be bathed & always put up a struggle. Believe when Yuki matures into an adult, she'd be more settled down already then it will be less of a problem Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
compassvale 0 Report post Posted March 3, 2008 Greycat - Puppy spray with amonia may not help at all. The best and cheapest way to get the same effect is to rub off a little bit of pee on the newspapers, and leave it in the spot where you want her to pee. They will know. I realised that praise is still the best mechanism to train a dog, especially for one that is so eager to please, they will pee at the right place, then come "hao lian" to you for a treat! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xlan 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2008 greycat.. wat i did in the initial stage was to close the bathroom door.. so it is no way she can "escape".. only 2 of us.. then i started singing n clapping n she tot i playing with her.. then slowly start the shower with the shower head pointing to the floor besides her.. let her try the water bit by bit.. she was very frightened but still better.. at least she stayed still to let me bath her w/o struggling.. ya.. clap n praise.. very effective! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2008 Thank u all! Will try ur tips one by one soon.... Now she pee & poo in both correct & wrong place ...I oso dunno to praise or scold her...*headache*. Now I keep scolding her n smacking her cuz of the wrong, think she don dare to do business soon liao... And the smacking is losing effect, her skin growing thicker & she nt scared anymre...grr....Xlan, Im starting to thk corgis r as notti as JRT liao ...they jus wanna play whole day....She see got ppl in the hse, she will wan to come out to play & skip dinner wan.... But at least, we managed to teach her to respond to her name nw, tried this "duckmeat" version of dogsnack. And my fren is gona make sme dried chicken snacks for her using the food dehydrator, mabbe she'll like it mre, dat picky gal... Thank you all! Will jiayou...hopefully she'll be ready for April Greycat-BrownMse openhouse... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Cantona7 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2008 Yuki biting her chlorobone...see her "chop" her spot on the carpet liao...My Muji carpet gone liao...Maybe u wan to keep ur carpet first b4 Yuki learn where to pee pee. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLhome 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2008 Maybe u wan to keep ur carpet first b4 Yuki learn where to pee pee. yeah i totally agree with cantona... Thanks!~ Your golden lab looks the gentle type, meaning that its not so ferocious or mild?she indeed looks gentle. n not at all ferocious, veri tame. but she can be veri rough when playing. btw she's retriever not a lab. maybe her fur not as much as other GR. tats y u mistaken her as a lab. poor doggy! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gingerbelle 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2008 (edited) hi greycat, u ve a beautiful doggie! ive a female chihuahua.shes now 2yrs old. im oso like u, inital stage wen i brought my gal home, she anyhow pee/poo, bite my sofa until spoilt, end up ive to buy new sofa. but is best tat u train yr dog now, since shes still young. my wawa was 2mths+ wen i brought her home.as for her pee/poo, y not u train yr dog to use the peepad? i trained my wawa to use peepad as i find tat she will step on her pee on the newspaper. is in fact cleaner too. as for her poo, my wawa will simply also poo on the peepad & i will throw it into toilet bowl n flush it down.i didnt buy any cage for my wawa, i fence her up using playpen.but shes quite strong for a wawa, at 3mths she can bite the playpen(lets say i put the playpen in a square shape, but after i reached home, the playpen becomes star shape etc). so end up i put her in kitchen & fence up with playpen.pups will tend to bite cos they oso teething, my sofa was badly bitten by my wawa wen she was 3-6mths. end up we had to throw tat sofa away n buy new 1. so i bought lots of milk bones for her to chew. & toys oso.until now shes still chewing on her milk bone.i hope u dun mind my lor sor story attached a pic of my wawa @ 2mths+My Chihuahua Edited March 4, 2008 by gingerbelle Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Cantona7 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2008 hi greycat, u ve a beautiful doggie! ive a female chihuahua.shes now 2yrs old. im oso like u, inital stage wen i brought my gal home, she anyhow pee/poo, bite my sofa until spoilt, end up ive to buy new sofa. but is best tat u train yr dog now, since shes still young. my wawa was 2mths+ wen i brought her home.as for her pee/poo, y not u train yr dog to use the peepad? i trained my wawa to use peepad as i find tat she will step on her pee on the newspaper. is in fact cleaner too. as for her poo, my wawa will simply also poo on the peepad & i will throw it into toilet bowl n flush it down.i didnt buy any cage for my wawa, i fence her up using playpen.but shes quite strong for a wawa, at 3mths she can bite the playpen(lets say i put the playpen in a square shape, but after i reached home, the playpen becomes star shape etc). so end up i put her in kitchen & fence up with playpen.pups will tend to bite cos they oso teething, my sofa was badly bitten by my wawa wen she was 3-6mths. end up we had to throw tat sofa away n buy new 1. so i bought lots of milk bones for her to chew. & toys oso.until now shes still chewing on her milk bone.i hope u dun mind my lor sor story attached a pic of my wawa @ 2mths+My ChihuahuaUr wawa is veri cute too. She is my wifey favour doggie. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gingerbelle 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2008 thk u. she is my baobei darling Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2008 Ur wawa so cute!! :wub: looks so sweet sleeping....can put inside bagbag?? Gingerbelle, yuki is using a peepan nw so nt stepping on her pee. But prob comes when she dont pee/poo there nia.... Cantona-bro & LLhome: BrownMse likes the carpet le....anyways, yuki is using the carpet as a testing ground (test her limits) so I been smacking her butt when she bites the carpet.... Must let her know I cannot b bullied.... The battle continutes tonite!!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xlan 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2008 greycat.. mus really train yuki n not spoil her.. we nw hv'ing v bad experience with wangbao.. cos of new born.. most attention given to BB.. hence wangbao jealous.. since centre of attraction no more on him.. he throw tantrum n pee poo everywhere in the house.. now my bro seemed to b the one hv'ing post natal depression.. tis weekend we r flying back to see wat we can help.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2008 Harlow Xlan....Oh no, dats sad to hear ....heard dat babies (new family members) haf to intro to the pet rite? Otherwise they will feel neglected. I oso worry b4, if we haf babies in future, how to manage pet & bb....My best wishes to ur bro & wangbao.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xlan 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2008 ya.. me too quite worry on this.. for myself as well.. nw worry if baby can successfully learn where to pee poo in new hse (i hvn't bring her to new place yet, intend to do so in april).. n if i hv BB in near future.. i dun hv confident to handle both babies leh.. seeing my bro's state now.. even add on to my worries.. sigh.. at 1 point my bro almost totally give up wangbao n nearly breakdown.. my SIL see 情况不妙 quickly call her bro down to temp take wangbao 回娘家.. luckily now seems calm down le n seems like situation turn better.. wangbao is back home now.. but still i'm not sure on the exact situation.. still v worrying for them.. sigh.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gingerbelle 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2008 greycat, yup yup, my wawa can put in a carrier. wenever i bring her out i will use carrier but now she hates to b inside carrier, will whine nonstop. good to hear tat yr yuki is taining to use peepad. u reali muz ve patience to train her. but dun wori, IMO, gals r easier to train. took my wawa 2wks to learn whr to pee/poo & whr NOT to pee/poo.jia you! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted March 4, 2008 Xlan--Aiyo dat sounds very bad....hopefully will slowly adjust in...Who's the main caregiver of wangbao? ur bro or SIL? I was thkg if its ur bro den shd b ok cuz mommy will have to pay mre attention to newborn bb bah....I haf seen before a neighbor (3yr old little gal) who owns 2 doggies (Italian greyhound) & they love her to bits & protect her with their life...so hope my yuki can do dat in future too, protect my kids Always hear of ppl giving up their pets after they haf babies, if really happens dat way, I guess they muz haf no choice oso, very sad den... Thank u gingerbelle Share this post Link to post Share on other sites