lot85 0 Report post Posted February 25, 2013 I was never into fengshui, know nuts about it yet I engaged a FSM. My mental state when I made that decision? Not very good. It was more out of apprehension over house purchase decision and wishing everything will be smooth and that I will be less confused.My current sentimment?If you are a fengshui believer, great. If you are not and is someone like me, out of the blue decided to give fengshui a go - possibly out of apprehension, DON'T START! In all honesty, I am not sure if it helps if you are already looking into this fengshui/geomancy thread ...Again I am sharing only my personal perspectives and not meant to offend anyone or get into a debate. I have nothing against fengshui and for something to last for centuries and people keep going into it, there must be some truth somewhere in it? But why I say don't start?1. Once you started, if you don't follow 100%, you don't feel good (felt dumb in fact, why pay money and not to follow everything it says). The cynical thoughts are there : If all turns well, FSMs will say cos they are good. If it turns out not well, FSMs will say 'cos you never follow entirely the instructions given.2. Once you read up more, you get even more confused. One way to overcome is trust 100% the FSM you engage and don't do your own research. Otherwise you will notice discrepancies - bound to have 'cos then I learnt fengshui has different schools of thoughts? As a layman, simple expectation is also ... sigh. a. House readings - depends on which school? b. Reno date and move in date - even different fengshui websites sources indicate different auspicious dates (before taking into account horoscopes and bazis). c. Reno & Move in ceremonial rituals - also filled with ambiguities and range from simplest to the complex and honestly, some downright ridiculous in my view. 3. Fengshui is NOT cheap. First you pay for house audit, then you pay for the fengshui items, and then have someone to tell you not necessary to have them. I tried to look for fengshui "success" stories, ended up they are either FSM endorsements (I am not saying they are not genuine) or hearsay ie fengshui works for my who and who.To sum up? I am just a frustrated FSM newbie. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kooky 2 Report post Posted March 11, 2013 Both husband and I are not into FS but reading this forum, it does give us some knowledge.I joined RenoTalk after we bought our flat so that's to say I didn't engage a FSM beforehand to confirm if the flat is suitable for our family member which I know one who believes in FS will engage a FSM and ask him/her to go with them when viewing a unit before they purchase it.I also read that avoid using RED for kichen cabinets and the stove do not face the toilet. Based on this saying, it means there is a clash with FS because we have chosen Burgundy for our kitchen and because we have created an additional room in the kitchen for our helper, the layout in the kitchen is very small which leave us not much space-planning in the kitchen, hence we can't really relocate the stove to avoid it facing the common toilet.I suppose we will just have to live with what we have and not worry to much. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lot85 0 Report post Posted March 15, 2013 ya. stove and sink can't face each other. oven cannot face sink, stove, fridge. so if you dun have a long kitchen, good luck. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ginderdip 0 Report post Posted June 13, 2013 I am a FS newbie, and the house I bought and lived in, we did not engage a FSM. I did however visit a fortune teller lately, cos my kaki's are all into this kind of stuff.The FT told me nothing wrong in my hse and told me no need to engage FSM. But Im curious and would like to engage 1, my partner is against it, and will not pay.SHould I proceed? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Ivy1981 11 Report post Posted June 14, 2013 I am a FS newbie, and the house I bought and lived in, we did not engage a FSM. I did however visit a fortune teller lately, cos my kaki's are all into this kind of stuff.The FT told me nothing wrong in my hse and told me no need to engage FSM. But Im curious and would like to engage 1, my partner is against it, and will not pay.SHould I proceed?Aiyo....if nvr engage and after lived in okie hor..... then don't engage lor. If things not smoothzzzzz, then engage lor. If partner against, dont do first until he agree lor Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
greekrose 1 Report post Posted July 29, 2013 Aiyo....if nvr engage and after lived in okie hor..... then don't engage lor. If things not smoothzzzzz, then engage lor. If partner against, dont do first until he agree lorTotally agree with Ivy. I backside itchy... wanna engage FSM before I even sign on dotted line, though I am almost 100% buying the unit. Well, just for peace of mind... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites