ToniChopper

Country Kitchen

decided to do the painting of the house ourselves.. in hope of saving some cost.. but after all are done, actually there isn't much saving, but a lot of satisfaction and we are able to add something unique to the rooms.

20120721_173801-1_zps810374fb.jpg

Hello Everybody, just want to share some reno pics which I did for my unit. My bto flat came with flooring done, so all the reno I did was for the kitchen cabinets,

master-room toilet, and the doors. The rest was buying the furniture. Main bulk of my reno was spent on the kitchen. We were on a budget so did not do much for the rest of the place. Shall upload more pics later :)

Welcome! One Piece fan I assume? :good:

Looking forward to more pics!

Yes! Sorry, I created another topic, as I couldn't edit the title of this topic. I've already asked the moderator to close this topic. I will be posting more stuff on my new topic. Thanks for the support :)

after flipping thru many many magazines, we decided to draw out our kitchen design and get the contractors to quote it to ensure that all are quoting the same stuff.

our kitchen layout is a gallery kitchen - long and narrow. would v much prefer to have a more squarish type of layout to have easier movement in the kitchen.

I'm very concern that adding too much top cabinet will make the place look dark and cramp and no top cabinet will have storage issue in future... so we went for glass panels and light colors.. here's the drawings:

dwg2_zps40b1cb24.jpg

dwg1_zpscbe6c0da.jpg

with all the paint work done, we move on to getting a contractor for the carpentry and misc work

not much contractors are interested in doing country-type-of kitchen particularly with solid wood. but we had our minds set on that already. it's really finding the best deal and getting a good contractor that understands our idea. we went to most of the shops at katong and other IDs before deciding.

after reviewing with 4 contractors, we finally decided on mr yeo.

the cement works was up first...

cementbases_zps7b6151e2.jpg

then gas piping...

gaspiping_zpsaad22112.jpg

gas heater and hot water piping...

hotwaterpiping_zps8eb12d8e.jpg

electrical works at kitchen...

electricalworks_zps9d475548.jpg

Hope to see more updates. My reno is done except for the kitchen. Not sure whether to do country style or modern.

for us, we love the warmth that country kitchen brings and personally modern type are too common for us.

we are old skool... & nothing beats solid wood!

go thru magazines particularly the angmoh ones.. although the kitchen they show are humongous, you can pick up good ideas from there :)

btw, you are doing your reno in phases?

all the best to your reno!

next up... windows to service balcony. alot of ppl in my estate opted for sliding windows. but i didn't want to waste the view and the ventilation, so was firm on choosing casement windows.

i passby a house with a unique window type, and i fall in love with it.

window_zpsca045db4.jpg

i told mr yeo about this and got him to quote for a 3-panel-sized.... to my horror... it cost 1.6k for such a small window.. mr yeo told me there's another company doing this but it's made in taiwan/china (i couldn't remember) and that cost 1.2k... :(

i drop that idea totally... wayyyy out of my budget.. *sad*, but still.. i wanted casement windows. the only problem is the suspending metal hanging rack that hdb provided. the window panel has to be higher than that when it swings out. so, i got mr yeo to double the base of the frame to avoid the rack.

and here's my window...

serviceyardwindows_zps03ae642c.jpg

am glad i did it cos i think it'll make hanging clothes out alot easier too :) love the breeze... ahhhhhhh

for us, we love the warmth that country kitchen brings and personally modern type are too common for us.

we are old skool... & nothing beats solid wood!

go thru magazines particularly the angmoh ones.. although the kitchen they show are humongous, you can pick up good ideas from there :)

btw, you are doing your reno in phases?

all the best to your reno!

My reno is more or less complete minus the kitchen and some areas like the TV feature wall. I am doing in phases because I am staying in the house while renovation is going on. You could take a look at my reno here My Reno

I think you would know from my reno why I am still deciding between the country or ultra modern. Neither style quite fit my current deco. I love country style but I want to melt at the thought of cleaning after cooking. But ultra modern style is a bit off too. The only thing I am sure is that I want to get those tiles that look like dark wood planks. Saw them at Soon Bee Huat and really love them.

My reno is more or less complete minus the kitchen and some areas like the TV feature wall. I am doing in phases because I am staying in the house while renovation is going on. You could take a look at my reno here My Reno

I think you would know from my reno why I am still deciding between the country or ultra modern. Neither style quite fit my current deco. I love country style but I want to melt at the thought of cleaning after cooking. But ultra modern style is a bit off too. The only thing I am sure is that I want to get those tiles that look like dark wood planks. Saw them at Soon Bee Huat and really love them.

Hi Pink Tissue, I believe French Colonial country style can fit your current deco. I think you will like it. Maybe you can google for some pics of french country kitchens? :)