Berlinbear

🐶 Westie's Home 🐶

Hi. Nice ornate iron-wrought railings. Looks like you are keeping them.

Btw, you hacked away the utility room wall? Are you doing a open-concept kitchen?

Erm, the iron wrought thingy not exactly my style. Hacking a lot of walls cos there will only b 2 of us staying plus a dog!

Hi. Nice ornate iron-wrought railings. Looks like you are keeping them.

Btw, you hacked away the utility room wall? Are you doing a open-concept kitchen?

Tats the tricky part, most EMs have very dark staircases which is a pity, as it is actually the highlight tat differentiate it from other HDB units,

Natural light brighen up the stairway. :good:

Looking forward to more photo of the transformation.. :yamseng:

Day 6 - Tiles fall in!

Crane the tiles!

2B216971-5149-4E60-9FAC-F0994E22BE1B-21480-000013EA7DDDAD1E_zpsc84f8268.jpg

Stocks

B6BAEFF1-9679-4ECE-87B5-949086B75117-21480-000013EA89C1494E_zps04a16e1b.jpg

Homo wood-like tiles for 2nd floor lobby and rooms

B3544422-90F5-4A56-8255-4152B976D1A0-21480-000013EA9F9FC45B_zps140dafdf.jpg

Homo wood-like black tiles for entertainment room

73E1E416-6BD2-42AD-9982-78002E4C26C9-21480-000013EA9A07AF87_zps50960fca.jpg

We r so ready to get laid!

8440DC11-A1DE-4A10-AE8B-0A6B7D02C3BE-22484-0000153DFC03F517_zpsb9e40e6c.jpg

Stalker alert! Haha, u r welcome to stalk. Afterall, that's the purpose of a forum. To share and exchange opinions & information.

Haha same as us.. A ( lazy )couple and a dog staying in EM

Shall stalk your blog !!!

Too bad you throwing away the old railings...look quite nice, just need to repaint it all black or white.

Then again I dont know what your theme is..maybe it will look out of place

Theme? Haha, there is no theme.

But then again, the thought of repainting it did cross my mind. Eventually decided to revamp everything anew.

Too bad you throwing away the old railings...look quite nice, just need to repaint it all black or white.

Then again I dont know what your theme is..maybe it will look out of place

Hi berlinbeAr, saw that you had the wall of your bedroom hacked. Do u require PE endorsement? I'm having headache now as ours require PE. And the PE through my ID said require BCA etc etc !!! Crazy! I I spoke to HDB technical officer Liao but he still told me get PE. Looks like I need to source for another PE.

Hi spikedoll, for hacking of wall definitely need PE endorsement. Must take such "major" overhaul bits seriously as HDB dun take them lightly. Unless of cos u r planning to stay there your entire lifetime. My previous occupant owner was asked to fit new windows parts as their originals failed inspection.

My contractor simply applied for the permit and the process is fairly swift and straightforward. IMHO, if your ID gives u lame reasons about BCA, difficulties, permit problems then it only points down to few tings: plain unprofessional, lazy, lack of knowledge or cutting cost.

The purpose of engaging an ID apart from providing ideas is to provide professional support, knowledge and facilitate the overall process of renovation. If I'm in your shoes, I will definitely bang table, summon boss and demand for the exacting demand to be carried out. On hindsight, he should be doing all the hdb calling, sourcing of PE and legwork for u instead. This is not even being demanding, it's basically exacting simple expectations.

Do have a good talk with your ID. I really see no reason why it could be an issue. If it's due to lack of industry knowledge, know-how or lack of manpower resource, then I think this ID is crap! Still, the least they could do is to be upfront or honest even so. Sorry for my ranting. I simply can't stand poor service rendered when we are handing our cold hard cash to these "professional industry ppl". In our society, anything associated with design is not exactly cheap. Make sure they deliver where it matters!

Hi berlinbeAr, saw that you had the wall of your bedroom hacked. Do u require PE endorsement? I'm having headache now as ours require PE. And the PE through my ID said require BCA etc etc !!! Crazy! I I spoke to HDB technical officer Liao but he still told me get PE. Looks like I need to source for another PE.

After CNY long break, the Reno continues....

Day 8 and 9

Cementing At kitchen

196564B0-0F0E-4B8F-933F-48991138FB5D-37697-0000249951C851B2_zpsa35c10d5.jpg

Cementing at toilets

8A7628B4-94A3-43AF-9E3D-0BAE57008071-37697-0000249939BE13D2_zps68f61eec.jpg

Tiling begins at MBR toilet

5ECB190F-F3F8-4810-839E-27BCAAA10F8B-37697-00002498E4000372_zpse523d8a6.jpg

Tiling at common toilet

1F1CDE92-CEDA-4482-91C4-7AD82A809001-37697-0000249BE25E09ED_zpsd8cf67e4.jpg

Toilet wall tiles design r quite a bold step for us at least. Not exactly conventional or conservative but we really like how everything is shaping out.

My contractor Benny is very knowledgable and we felt assured in his hands. Keep our fingers crossed meanwhile for further progress :)

Hi spikedoll, for hacking of wall definitely need PE endorsement. Must take such "major" overhaul bits seriously as HDB dun take them lightly. Unless of cos u r planning to stay there your entire lifetime. My previous occupant owner was asked to fit new windows parts as their originals failed inspection.

My contractor simply applied for the permit and the process is fairly swift and straightforward. IMHO, if your ID gives u lame reasons about BCA, difficulties, permit problems then it only points down to few tings: plain unprofessional, lazy, lack of knowledge or cutting cost.

The purpose of engaging an ID apart from providing ideas is to provide professional support, knowledge and facilitate the overall process of renovation. If I'm in your shoes, I will definitely bang table, summon boss and demand for the exacting demand to be carried out. On hindsight, he should be doing all the hdb calling, sourcing of PE and legwork for u instead. This is not even being demanding, it's basically exacting simple expectations.

Do have a good talk with your ID. I really see no reason why it could be an issue. If it's due to lack of industry knowledge, know-how or lack of manpower resource, then I think this ID is crap! Still, the least they could do is to be upfront or honest even so. Sorry for my ranting. I simply can't stand poor service rendered when we are handing our cold hard cash to these "professional industry ppl". In our society, anything associated with design is not exactly cheap. Make sure they deliver where it matters!

Thanks for the reply. No it's nothing to do with my ID. Apparently it's the PE who gave alot crap on BCA Etc.We wouldn't want take any risk either for not having PE endorsement. I spoke to the technical officer and he told me mainly on safety issues that require PE endorsement that's all. We then told our ID and he then told the PE to prepare the endorsement so we can proceed, if not we will look for other PE. When I told the hdb technical officer on why some EM units do not require PE, he said now very strict and those EM layout is different from mine zzzz. He said why need go to BCA ??

Anyway hope the PE can speed up and go ahead if not gonna delay coz hacking start today!!!