SeirenGrey 1 Report post Posted January 28, 2013 People tell me $30k reno is impossible for my 5-room reno but somehow still can! *lol* I'm sure everything will work out. Have a smooth reno journey ahead! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
HappyAng 0 Report post Posted January 28, 2013 Hi rockyAtRenotalk, congrats of your EM purchase. Wish you a smooth renovation journey. Ha..Ha.. True! We encounter few IDs / Contractors, eye open wide when they saw EM floor plan. Be prepared, renovation an EM is not cheap lor.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rockyAtRenotalk 0 Report post Posted January 28, 2013 People tell me $30k reno is impossible for my 5-room reno but somehow still can! *lol* I'm sure everything will work out. Have a smooth reno journey ahead! SeirenGrey, Wow, congratulations to you! Well, if you could choose your flat properly before you buy, then you could save lots on the renovation. But if you get something like ours, then there's much to do. Thanks!Rocky Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rockyAtRenotalk 0 Report post Posted January 28, 2013 Hi rockyAtRenotalk, congrats of your EM purchase. Wish you a smooth renovation journey. Ha..Ha.. True! We encounter few IDs / Contractors, eye open wide when they saw EM floor plan. Be prepared, renovation an EM is not cheap lor..HappyAng, Thank you! And your EM is coming up really well too. I've been camping at your thread for a while, and really looking forward to your end result. Btw, I will "steal" your recessed toilet idea. ;0Rocky Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
HappyAng 0 Report post Posted January 28, 2013 HappyAng, Thank you! And your EM is coming up really well too. I've been camping at your thread for a while, and really looking forward to your end result. Btw, I will "steal" your recessed toilet idea. ;0RockyDon't say steal lah.. we share ideas.. Sure, will post more photos later in my T-blog. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rockyAtRenotalk 0 Report post Posted January 28, 2013 Owner's impressionsAlrighty.... so I got my hands a little dirty and did some 3D work on my own. No, these are not from my IDs, as you can see from the poor quality work. But at least this is something that we envision for our home. So here we go!Living RoomDining RoomKitchen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rockyAtRenotalk 0 Report post Posted January 28, 2013 Don't say steal lah.. we share ideas.. Sure, will post more photos later in my T-blog. :yamseng: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rockyAtRenotalk 0 Report post Posted January 28, 2013 Side track a bit...What do you do for the super small 1st level toilet? P-type? S-type? L-bend? I was told I need to get my contractor to do up a customized l-bend. And my ID said I can only buy the smallest of smallest W/C. Is that what you guys do? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
texas5 0 Report post Posted January 28, 2013 Rocky,Ave 5 good location. value can still go up when the future tampines town hub is up. i think 10k plus can do 3 toilets already. at least thats what im quoted for 3 toilets. maybe you have something grander in mind! rewiring at 7k also sounds abnormally high. In any case yours is probably a high budget reno so i will just look foward to the tranformation what theme do you have in mind? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
HappyAng 0 Report post Posted January 28, 2013 Side track a bit...What do you do for the super small 1st level toilet? P-type? S-type? L-bend? I was told I need to get my contractor to do up a customized l-bend. And my ID said I can only buy the smallest of smallest W/C. Is that what you guys do?1st level toilet indeed small. But we still can have toilet bowl, basin and shower area inside the small space. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rockyAtRenotalk 0 Report post Posted January 28, 2013 Rocky,Ave 5 good location. value can still go up when the future tampines town hub is up. i think 10k plus can do 3 toilets already. at least thats what im quoted for 3 toilets. maybe you have something grander in mind! rewiring at 7k also sounds abnormally high. In any case yours is probably a high budget reno so i will just look foward to the tranformation what theme do you have in mind?No leh, so far minimum 20k to do 3 toilets. We need to hack everything and repipe because the pipes are all oxided liao. The rewiring is the cheapest among 3 quotes leh, the other ones quote 10k+ during the preliminary stages. Shucks... maybe my requirements too high. I feel like a carrot head now... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rockyAtRenotalk 0 Report post Posted January 28, 2013 Rocky,Ave 5 good location. value can still go up when the future tampines town hub is up. i think 10k plus can do 3 toilets already. at least thats what im quoted for 3 toilets. maybe you have something grander in mind! rewiring at 7k also sounds abnormally high. In any case yours is probably a high budget reno so i will just look foward to the tranformation what theme do you have in mind?Theme? No theme, really. Just functional will be fine. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rockyAtRenotalk 0 Report post Posted January 28, 2013 Maybe veener stones will look nicer when combined with wood floor. Check out the link below: http://www.houzz.com/photos/22992/Photo--Norma-Molina-Lopez--Great-room-contemporary-living-room-san-franciscoParquet on lvl 1? or you thinking of other alternatives?Not parquet. Wife took a liking for HERF flooring from Evorich... and woah, that wall is really kickass sweet! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rockyAtRenotalk 0 Report post Posted January 28, 2013 1st level toilet indeed small. But we still can have toilet bowl, basin and shower area inside the small space.That's what I'm intending too! But it's really super squeezy. Wife keeps saying that it's not possible but I think can be done Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
spikedoll 2 Report post Posted January 28, 2013 (edited) spikedoll, Mine is similar. My re-wiring is closer to $7k. Aircon is about $4.5k. Do you have the problem where the piping is more than 15m and they charge you extra for that?And another question: what do you do for the 1st level toilet? P-type? S-type? L-bend? I was told I need to get my contractor to do up a customized l-bend. I have no clue about these things!Hi, I'm actually collecting my keys next Tuesday so I will be meeting contractor for Aircon and electrician next Wednesday to do on site assessment and quotation. It seems rewiring for EM is around 5k on average. Aircon depending on how many units and brand I guess. As for the WC piping etc, my ID haven't tell us anything on that yet so I also duno .. Also no clues on the types you mentioned... Mine is 2nd gen EM so L1 toilet comes with toilet bowl.. is small though. Shall share when time to start RenoThis is pic of L1 toilet Edited January 28, 2013 by spikedoll Share this post Link to post Share on other sites