rockyAtRenotalk

East Side, Em, Top 1985

Day 32

This is one place that wife really has got issues - inside the small level 1 toilet. I shall call it the "hobbit" toilet from now on. :)

Recess area in the "hobbit" toilet (Wife doesn't like it)

b54acb787d5a759bd5cb70be8194402a_zps4c458d79.jpg

The "hobbit" toilet

5f0ad421c923db3f7dfb9b1cdacabab4_zps0361243c.jpg

SS pipings in the "hobbit" toilet

e7d508c666d626e4b0941b4f29f463d3_zpsf2589420.jpg

Edited by rockyAtRenotalk

Day 32

The issues keep coming... I thought that the recess area could be used for some decorative ornaments, but wife thinks otherwise. Well, the good about this partition is that we can conceal some electrical sockets. Let's see...

Stairwell area with a recess that wife also does not like...

d3ad50c1c29e28c00ebf30984d0956ec_zps85df8e82.jpg

Another view of Stairwell area with a recess that wife also does not like...

c62e88d493c523b5fc6d349b3b301f53_zpsc82e1c92.jpg

Day 32

Decisions, decisions, decisions...

Shopping for a dining lamp isn't a walk in the park! So many to choose from, yet none of them are suitable. What do you think about these?

Dining Lamp 1: 3 hu lu

bba654da67c2e57dbf735004be18d41d_zpsd97e6698.jpg

Dining Lamp 2: Black and white crystals

8a79b4192147495c32c3823555649bcd_zps08dcd2fd.jpg

Dining Lamp 3: Victorian styled round

071bfc769779fa3d7f43913ef8cdee45_zps4b6a0388.jpg

Dining Lamp 4: iLuma / Bugis+ design

d06f27537ae852b23f1862e359c51172_zps1bbbf58e.jpg

Your so-called 'hobbit' toilet on the ground floor is almost similar to ours! I dislike it and was hoping to change the direction of the toilet but was told HDB will not approved it due to the floor trap. We just have to live with it!

Wishing you a smooth reno journey!

This is something that really irks me out...

Ugly trunking

a437e71406e1c26657a25cbb2dac1d5f_zps45ed1ec4.jpg

Bro rockyAtRenotalk, u can consider some carpentry work or false ceiling to hide the trunking if u really Buay Tahan. Most of my trunking is hide this way through discussion with ID and Aircon specialist. But I quite kiasi..most of my hide trunking is able to access (incase of sweating and leaking) without much damage. I also request to do open panel in carpentry (where trunking is hide) incase I need to access the trunking.. Kiasu Singaporean..

f392421ba934b57a550510bea30090ba_zpsb49d75a1.jpg

Brothers and Sisters, any comments?

U mean to do a sliding glass door (to cover up the big space shown in he left side of photo) to separate the whole living area? So that u can have Aircon in living area? Think it will be very nice and class if u can have one big piece of glass sliding door. And sliding to the right side where the partition is. Hmm.. dunno is it possible and the cost might be very high as too big piece, glass sub-con will quote high to cover the risk of breaking during transportation.

Btw, we have a "hobbit" toilet in level one too.

Your so-called 'hobbit' toilet on the ground floor is almost similar to ours! I dislike it and was hoping to change the direction of the toilet but was told HDB will not approved it due to the floor trap. We just have to live with it!

Wishing you a smooth reno journey!

kooky,

The "hobbit" toilet bowl used to face the wall and I don't know how I could use that! To change the direction of the bowl, the pipe cutter had to join two elbow joints together to form a U-shaped channel. Then couple that with a p-trap wc, and it's done. My ID suggested to erect a small wall to conceal the U channel, which I think is a great idea. That way, we could put some deodorent or English reed diffuser.

Just change the direction of the WC, bro! Haha...

Bro rockyAtRenotalk, u can consider some carpentry work or false ceiling to hide the trunking if u really Buay Tahan. Most of my trunking is hide this way through discussion with ID and Aircon specialist. But I quite kiasi..most of my hide trunking is able to access (incase of sweating and leaking) without much damage. I also request to do open panel in carpentry (where trunking is hide) incase I need to access the trunking.. Kiasu Singaporean..

U mean to do a sliding glass door (to cover up the big space shown in he left side of photo) to separate the whole living area? So that u can have Aircon in living area? Think it will be very nice and class if u can have one big piece of glass sliding door. And sliding to the right side where the partition is. Hmm.. dunno is it possible and the cost might be very high as too big piece, glass sub-con will quote high to cover the risk of breaking during transportation.

Btw, we have a "hobbit" toilet in level one too.

HappyAng,

The access panel is a good idea, I might tell my ID about that. But then again, if the space is not enough then it is not useful to have the access panel.

Wife wants a 3 piece sliding glass - 2 movable, one static. The static one will replace the existing partition. To me, either way is fine: partition or glass looks just as great. Of course as you have mentioned, partition will be a bit cheaper.

HappyAng, it's not easy to visualise. I thought all toilet bowl will be mounted onto one wall? Mine will be mounted on the red tiled wall in the ground floor common toilet and if a person is huge, I doubt s/he will have much leg-room.

Day 32

The issues keep coming... I thought that the recess area could be used for some decorative ornaments, but wife thinks otherwise. Well, the good about this partition is that we can conceal some electrical sockets. Let's see...

Stairwell area with a recess that wife also does not like...

d3ad50c1c29e28c00ebf30984d0956ec_zps85df8e82.jpg

Another view of Stairwell area with a recess that wife also does not like...

c62e88d493c523b5fc6d349b3b301f53_zpsc82e1c92.jpg

I actually love that little hole in the wall! :P

HappyAng, it's not easy to visualise. I thought all toilet bowl will be mounted onto one wall? Mine will be mounted on the red tiled wall in the ground floor common toilet and if a person is huge, I doubt s/he will have much leg-room.

kooky,

Actually there are two types of WC (bowl). One type is p trap, the other is s-trap. P trap pipes stick out horizontally, eg. from the wall. S trap, on the other hand, have pipes coming out from the floor.

My "hobbit" toilet is a customized toilet and therefore can only use P-trap. The plumber also had to customize the pipes for me in order for me to use it.

The old toilet looks like this... how to use?

659bf0ec93339fe0383c5d5cea4d9c1b_zps318d7288.jpg

3b0b6cf42e2d0e2a1d16041034f193c6_zps46ba6d25.jpg

Ah, thanks for posting this pic :-)Yeah, it puzzled me how the person sits! Maybe the previous owner/occupants of the flat squat on the toilet seat! Hehe....

I think squatting seems challenging too!

I think the previous owners had good aiming skills... haha...