maintenance of ceramic tiles is easier. even if stains are left on them for a couple of hours, they can still be cleaned off. but not for cement tiles. but another thing i realised was, the stains tend to fade slightly over time (but not totally). my cement tiles in the kitchen are collecting all sorts of stains already. my dogs' poop/pee area is in the kitchen & sometimes there are hits/misses where they pooped onto the floor. by the time i realised it, it will be hours later & TADA! beautiful permanent stains on my pretty floor.

:angry2::angry2::angry2::angry2::angry2::angry2::angry2:

Oh paiseh, think both MK & I din read properly.. took ceramic tiles for cement tiles (the colorful peranakan-style tiles).. cement tiles indeed diff to maintain..

I think our grandma and mum old school plates much nicer than corella... U r so lucky to get them from ur mum, grandma and mil!

Have been kinda busy at work (company undergoing rebranding), preparation for our ROM and renovation. Wish I have more hours daily to do more!

Renovation is so tiring, physically & mentally! Initially we have wanted to go to JB to hunt for stuff so never managed to find the time at all. And our craftbricks are still at our cousin's place so will have to find time to bring them back bit by bit.

Another cousin who got really enthusiastic with our renovation bought us this:

8607791271_a9442e0d52_n.jpg

Bakelite switches by Makanology, on Flickr

Trouble is, they are made in china and we are skeptical if they will be sturdy. We have 20 pcs and will keep some for our own use.

Hi Makanology, i am actually looking for this...think you have two spare to sell??

hi jay, we bought most of our electrical appliances including the aircon from a family-run shop @ Jalan Kayu, Unilite. Not sure who they outsourced the aircon portion to but we will find out next Wed. We paid $2.8k for a Starmex system 3 inverter which we think is a fair price. Overall we got pretty good rates for our other electrical stuff bought over there.

Hi retch, i totally forgot aboutt dog poo/pee...yes sometimes they really aim horribly... will have to be really careful on the cement tile maintenance.

hi vanessa, sorry we do not have spare pieces for this :( we are not using them as actual switches as the internal wiring is of very poor quality and runs a high risk of electrocution! so we are converting them as art pieces instead.

hi jay, we bought most of our electrical appliances including the aircon from a family-run shop @ Jalan Kayu, Unilite. Not sure who they outsourced the aircon portion to but we will find out next Wed. We paid $2.8k for a Starmex system 3 inverter which we think is a fair price. Overall we got pretty good rates for our other electrical stuff bought over there.

Hi MK, I suppose u install 1 unit in each of the bedrooms & 1 in the living hall? Mind to share what model/capacity of the units? Mine also Starmex S3 Inverter inclusive of 2 x MSY-GE10Va (8530 BTU), 1 x MSY-GE18VA (16377 BTU) (bcos my expanded living hall quite big) & completely new installation (because previously nothing), & i paid $3.4K (think kena chopped carrot head :~ though it was 1 yr ago) for it. Thks!

Hi jay, wet works will be completed for sure, wiring, plumbing, painting, aircon installation , a doors and windows also. So left with kitchen cabinet which no rush for that. All our other cabinets, wardrobes will be from Ikea our best Swedish friend ;)

So keeping fingers, hands and legs crossed do work! :)

Hi June, haha you may be right :) just now Alan called us to give us an update and what's next to expect! Mr E said tomorrow we can strike 4D already!

Good! But errr... tmr no 4D leh.. Kekeke :)

Njoy ur LWE though! :)

Congrats! Everything is progressing well!

Hi jus4fun, I think our a/c not as power as yours. Don't know the model but I recall it is 3 units of 9000btu, also completely new installation with upgraded insulation cabling or something. Think Aron on RT is having a promo for this at $2899.

K thx! Mine oso all higher grade materials.. I guess I paid more for one more powerful unit ba.. Haha! :)