bleucheeze and makanology! I'm going to my place later to meet the ID to discuss rectifications. I'll go investigate the accordion lamp and let you guys know!

THANKS SO MUCH! Can you also ask your ID how much space between the lamp shades is recommended?

Eh, change of plan. I may be going ikea tomorrow instead! Since u work nearby, why not go during lunch and ask? hehe :P later i going tangs to check out electric appliances cos they got 12% rebate tomorrow. Thinking of buying Miele vacuum cleaner :sport-smiley-018:

bleucheeze! if you're planning to have animals in future (I somehow remember you saying you wanted to get a cat, but maybe I'm getting confused), make sure you pick a vacuum cleaner that can handle the fur! some vacuum cleaners don't clean as well when it comes to animal fur. we got the Dyson vacuum cleaner because it's powerful enough to clean animal fur (without getting clogged). Not sure about the Miele one.

Edited by summersann

bleucheeze! if you're planning to have animals in future (I somehow remember you saying you wanted to get a cat, but maybe I'm getting confused), make sure you pick a vacuum cleaner that can handle the fur! some vacuum cleaners don't clean as well when it comes to animal fur. we got the Dyson vacuum cleaner because it's powerful enough to clean animal fur (without getting clogged). Not sure about the Miele one.

Yes, it's me! I wanna get a cat! Perhaps you missed out my PM asking u about the magnetic screen, cos din hear from u about it :sport-smiley-018: The miele i'm eying is the basic model, they have another pet model but is more expensive - $778! :( which dyson model are you using?

Edited by bleucheeze

Yes, it's me! I wanna get a cat! Perhaps you missed out my PM asking u about the magnetic screen, cos din hear from u about it :sport-smiley-018: The miele i'm eying is the basic model, they have another pet model but is more expensive - $778! :( which dyson model are you using?

eh? I didn't get any PM from you about magnetic screens! What is it about?

I think ours is the DC29 multi-floor. Dyson also has one for animals, but that one is really expensive. The salesperson showed us the suction power and it's not much stronger than the multi-floor, so we decided to get the multi-floor since it can handle animal fur and also be used on parquet.

I'm not sure about Miele's ones because the boy was the one in charge of looking for a vacuum cleaner that could handle animal fur. Think Miele didn't turn up in his research (maybe he missed it). It was either Dyson or Karcher, or something like that. The most important thing for us was to not get one that operates on a bag system. Animal fur will get stuck in the bag and you'll probably have to change bags all the time, super not worth it!

Edited by summersann

Eh, change of plan. I may be going ikea tomorrow instead! Since u work nearby, why not go during lunch and ask? hehe :P later i going tangs to check out electric appliances cos they got 12% rebate tomorrow. Thinking of buying Miele vacuum cleaner :sport-smiley-018:

Oops I confuse you with summer. I thought it was summer heading to Ikea later! Sotong me! Iphone screen too small for me :sport-smiley-004:

Yes I heard of the Tangs rebate. I can't go for any of these sales yet especially when I have not even gone through my 1st HDB appointment! Hands super itchy BUT have to resist. So I will take summer's advice and wait for GSS.

For Ikea, no need to see liao. Mr E called them up and they replied that he should try again one month later to see if the stocks will be in. In other words, they don't know. I will place my bet on Ikea KL and try to figure a way to bring them over to Singapore, either wait till May for my colleague to come over or ask my Boss for help heeheee.

I think ours is the DC29 multi-floor. Dyson also has one for animals, but that one is really expensive. The salesperson showed us the suction power and it's not much stronger than the multi-floor, so we decided to get the multi-floor since it can handle animal fur and also be used on parquet.

My mom uses Dyson and the suction power is quite solid! She has a Jack Russell who keeps shedding and it seems to do the job well. Not sure of the model but I can check tonight when I get back.

Oops I confuse you with summer. I thought it was summer heading to Ikea later! Sotong me! Iphone screen too small for me :sport-smiley-004:

Yes I heard of the Tangs rebate. I can't go for any of these sales yet especially when I have not even gone through my 1st HDB appointment! Hands super itchy BUT have to resist. So I will take summer's advice and wait for GSS.

For Ikea, no need to see liao. Mr E called them up and they replied that he should try again one month later to see if the stocks will be in. In other words, they don't know. I will place my bet on Ikea KL and try to figure a way to bring them over to Singapore, either wait till May for my colleague to come over or ask my Boss for help heeheee.

Yah! There was a bed that we wanted to get from ikea, but it was also out of stock. they only stock their products once a quarter, so they usually just say they don't know cuz they really don't. we had to forego the bed in the end :P

I'm sure these rebate and discount things will come around again! they always do, it's their way of making us buy more things than we need :P

I'm not sure about Miele's ones because the boy was the one in charge of looking for a vacuum cleaner that could handle animal fur. Think Miele didn't turn up in his research (maybe he missed it). It was either Dyson or Karcher, or something like that. The most important thing for us was to not get one that operates on a bag system. Animal fur will get stuck in the bag and you'll probably have to change bags all the time, super not worth it!

Dc29 didn't come up when I use its filter to check for models suitable for home with pets. It's quite heavy yah - 8kg compared to usually 5+kg models. How is its ease of use?

My mom uses Dyson and the suction power is quite solid! She has a Jack Russell who keeps shedding and it seems to do the job well. Not sure of the model but I can check tonight when I get back.

Yes, please help me ask her and let me know again. Thanks! and summer is right, you should wait for GSS, can go apply membership cards from different department stores to get more discount/rebate. Super auntie but that's a way to save some money :sport-smiley-004:

I get notices from Tangs and Isetan but I think the Robinsons sales is still one of the best. But lucky me, I have few hundred dollars worth of Takashimaya and Muji vouchers respectively so I will be buying most of my stuff there!

Okay ladies! So it turns out that my ID "zhng-ed" the accordion lamp that we passed to him, so that it doesn't rely on the power socket that it originally comes with, and is wired together with the rest of the house's electrical wiring instead (they did the same with my pendant lights!).

image-12.jpg This is how it looks like from the outside. Note the wall that the lamp is fixed on.

image-13.jpg This is how it looks like from the other side, behind that wall. That's where our storeroom is, so he hid the trunking for the accordion lamp inside the storeroom.

Nice and neat! :)

Wa, that's super nice! looks so neat.

I went Tangs n Taka just now, tried Miele and Dyson and I prefer Dyson. Only tried the DC38 multifloor. Taka didn't have DC24 which is of upright design (shortlisted this cos I went to use Dyson website's filter and this model surfaced for homes with pets), not sure if maneuvering it as smooth/easy at the barrel ones. DC38 cost $899! I think i won't rush into buying it tomorrow at tangs sale, shall wait for next taka sale which i heard from promoter is in May.

Wa, that's super nice! looks so neat.

I went Tangs n Taka just now, tried Miele and Dyson and I prefer Dyson. Only tried the DC38 multifloor. Taka didn't have DC24 which is of upright design (shortlisted this cos I went to use Dyson website's filter and this model surfaced for homes with pets), not sure if maneuvering it as smooth/easy at the barrel ones. DC38 cost $899! I think i won't rush into buying it tomorrow at tangs sale, shall wait for next taka sale which i heard from promoter is in May.

You should check if the DC29 is a handheld vacuum cleaner (chargeable batteries) or a canister vacuum cleaner (that runs on AC). Generally, handheld vacuum cleaners that run on batteries are not as good/powerful/efficient as canister ones that run on AC.

If you're only going to keep a cat, my suggestion is to get one that's powerful enough, don't have to go all the way to a Dyson Animal. Use the Compare function on Dyson's website to compare the different models that you're interested in! That's what we did to decide if that extra hundred over dollars was worth spending :P

You should check if the DC29 is a handheld vacuum cleaner (chargeable batteries) or a canister vacuum cleaner (that runs on AC). Generally, handheld vacuum cleaners that run on batteries are not as good/powerful/efficient as canister ones that run on AC.

If you're only going to keep a cat, my suggestion is to get one that's powerful enough, don't have to go all the way to a Dyson Animal. Use the Compare function on Dyson's website to compare the different models that you're interested in! That's what we did to decide if that extra hundred over dollars was worth spending :P

Isn't DC29 the model u have? You are confusing me :sport-smiley-018: DC29 is barrel type and avail only in Courts. Yeah, I used Dyson's website to filter out models suitable for home with pets and DC24 came out. DC24 is what Dyson categorize as an Upright model, which is in between stick and barrel types.

Zomg I'm getting confused myself (for a moment I thought I was commenting on your t-blog, but then I saw your post in your actual t-blog and I was like, "Why is bleucheeze posting for suggestions on Makanology's t-blog?" HAHAHA :P). I meant DC24, not 29! Oops :drunk:

Just check if the DC24 runs on rechargeable batteries. We researched and the findings were to stay away from those (unless you plan to use the rechargeable vacuum for area cleaning, not heavy-duty-whole-house-cleaning). Again, test the models suitable for homes with pets, then test one that's almost similar in specs but not listed as suitable for pets. The price difference is often quite big, but the power is actually about the same. That's why we got the DC29 in the end, heh :D

Zomg I'm getting confused myself (for a moment I thought I was commenting on your t-blog, but then I saw your post in your actual t-blog and I was like, "Why is bleucheeze posting for suggestions on Makanology's t-blog?" HAHAHA :P). I meant DC24, not 29! Oops :drunk:

Just check if the DC24 runs on rechargeable batteries. We researched and the findings were to stay away from those (unless you plan to use the rechargeable vacuum for area cleaning, not heavy-duty-whole-house-cleaning). Again, test the models suitable for homes with pets, then test one that's almost similar in specs but not listed as suitable for pets. The price difference is often quite big, but the power is actually about the same. That's why we got the DC29 in the end, heh :D

Hahaha! Yah lah, pai seh Makanology for commenting on these here!

I believe DC24 doesn't run on rechargeable batteries, with this specs, I seriously doubt so! http://www.dyson.com.sg/store/product.asp?product=DC24-ALLFLOORS

Oh, it didn't occur to me to try Dyson DC39 Animal cos it's quite expensive. Should have try it out! The promotor told me I don't actually need it if I have one or two cats, she'd recommend that model for homes with dogs :)

Edited by bleucheeze