ezys

Finally We Decided To Renovate Our Tanah Kayu Home..

hi guys thanks for viewing my simple T-blog of my home.. bought tis resale place 4A HDB in May 2010.. but due to wedding expenses ''dilly dallying'' & birth our precious SON.. finally decided to reno our house 2 1/2 years later.. y? because my toilet in bad condition.. n my kitchen cabinet was dropping off.. n off course la.. got some xtra cash.. so finally..

Budget:$ 15,000 (budget overblown.. read later post... if havent post... pls wait..... n wait.... n wait........hehehe..)

time for contractor sourcing.. total got 4 contractor quote.. 1 big name, 1 renotalk recommended ID firm, 1 direct contractor & my BIL friend ID firm..

cut things short before i start my long compo..

The 1st 2 contractor quoted me $20k & above.. we wow!!! hahaha

direct contractor (no. given by a member here) & BIL friend ID firm.. quoted me arnd budget.. so left to choose between 2... after doing my Risk Assessment ...finally choose BIL friend id firm

y? - cause shud aniting happen easy to find the co.. next HDB registered contractor..next after consulting with my BIL.. other than my id is also his football kaki.. he mention a lot of his SPF friends same dept use his co. no complains so far.. also quite easy to communicate with him.. so we go ahead lor..

Co name: Cosy Living Pte Ltd..

http://www.cosyliving.com.sg

ID: Derrick

Date commenced :24/12/2012

Expected date of completion :06/01/2013 (w/o kitchen cabinet... but after much thot wif a 15mths old son... might as well wait another week so... 13/01/2013)

now.. like all newbies.. now must figure out how to post pic... will also put my quotation oso.. put my pic oso..( i think not la.. not handsome n not important.. hehehehe)

Edited by ezys

finally... !! figure it out.. how to upload pics.. hehehe.. floor plan... of my tanah kayu house...

housefloorplanjpg_zps925ef97c.jpg

n my detailed quote... not finalised... as got some itchy piku ideas... :-)

01. HACKING / DISMANTLING WORKS

a Dismantle & dispose existing kitchen cabinet. $ 250.00

b Dismantle & dispose existing shower screens, vanity cabinet, sink and WCs. $ 300.00

c Dismantle & dispose wardrobe at master bedroom. $ 150.00

d Dismantle & dispose wardrobe, bed & storage cabinet at bedroom 3. $ 250.00

e Dismantle & dispose existing swing and naco window at svc balcony. $ 120.00

02. MASONRY WORKS

a Supply & overlay homogenous wall tiles at kitchen. $ 2,680.00

b Supply & overlay homogenous floor tiles at kitchen & svc balcony. $ 1,280.00

c Construct cabinet, fridge and washing machine base. $ 450.00

d Supply & overlay homogenous wall tiles at 2 toilets $ 3,580.00

e Supply & overlay homogenous floor tiles at 2 toilets. $ 1,080.00

f Construct 2nos. Shower kerbs. $ 200.00

03. PLUMBING WORKS

a Supply & install whole house stainless steel pipings. ( Cold ) $ 750.00

b Supply & install stainless steel pipings for 2nos. Shower area. $ 220.00

c Supply labour to install 2 nos. toilet bowls. $ 160.00

d Supply labour to install 2 nos. basins. $ 140.00

e Supply labour to install kitchen sink. $ 100.00

04. MISCELANEOUS WORKS

a Supply & lay corrugated paper to protect flooring. FOC

b Supply & install 2 nos. aluminium bifold doors at 2 toilets. ( $180 x 2 nos ) $ 360.00

c Supply & install fixed panel tempered glass at master toilet. $ 180.00

d Supply labour & material to paint 2 toilets ceilings and pipings. FOC

e Electrical Works KIV

-

05. CARPENTRY WORKS

a Supply & install kitchen cabinet in laminated finish c/w abs edging doors, stainless -

steel dishdrainer, cutlery tray and softy closing hinges. ( 20ft x $100 ) $ 2,000.00

b Supply & install solid surface worktop. ( 10ft x $70 ) $ 700.00

Total Amount Quoted : $ 14,950.00

how friends.... price ok??

so basically.. price was for service balcony(floor only.. was thinking to do e wall tiles as well.. but budget run.. run ... run... so still maintained with the current fugly wall tiles..) kitchen & my 2 toilets...

Edited by ezys

1st day!! Yeah!!! all the hacking done!!! ugly built in wardrobe gone for master n junior room gone...!!!

tiles from Hafary oso arrived... Yeah!!! :sport-smiley-004:

20121224_172712_zps7623fca8.jpg

IMG-20121224-WA0006_zps83ed7420.jpg

IMG-20121224-WA0004_zps103bd739.jpg

IMG-20121224-WA0005_zps64ccf979.jpg

alamak... en saw my junior room cornice going to drop off.. asked my ID who was also there carrying all e debris(didnt know id oso help carry debris) he say can patch up no worries... a bit kancheong la.. 1st time do reno... :dunno:

IMG-20121224-WA0007_zps07b3a997.jpg

Edited by ezys

2nd day - 25th.. No work.. y? cause its Christmas Day la..

juz sharing bout my ID Derrick.. on our 1st thots.. we thot he wuld be like most ID.. wear stylo milo.. cool hairstyle... nice pointed shoes but he was different.. wen he came to my house to do measurement & quotation... he was very casual.. with berms.. .. wen we confirm to do with him at his office at Fajar Road.. oso same.. with berms.. when we choose tiles at hafary.. me & wifey saw most people with their ID all dressed up... my ID .. releks 1 corner.. jersey n of coz his fav... as u guess it.. BERMUDAS.. so was thinking this Derrick is he a ID .. or direct contractor.. so asked e question to my BIL.. he mention Derrick prev assist in his family reno co. Reachwin.. join SPF as a regular.. after siansz from regular life.. go back to reachwin.. en he started his own firm with his partner.. Cosy Living.. so since young he is already a hands on person.. but he is also ID trained.. can give u 3d drawings & all.. most importantly for us .. he is knowleadgeable...he is always contactable.. easy person to talk to.. see his dressing already.. u noe can talk2 like friend.. hehehehe.... n trustworthy (y? will share with u.. on day 3...)

Edited by ezys

Day 3 - received call... my eldest sister family (she has 7 kids, lucky only 2 was in the car the rest was in my sis friends car) met with an accident on NS highway in Melaka.. so was bz with my sis who was in Melaka Hop ICU instead of reno.. For the whole week didnt managed to check on the house... but Derrick keep updating me via whatsapp on e progress.. at least with all e things in my mind.. he assured me not to worry bout the house.. shud he need clarification he will call or whatsapp me..

aniwae moving on... i read people tblogs... always see people buy from taobao & other china websites.. so me oso try2 la.. lucky got google translator.. if not this melayu dunnoe how to buy la...!!!! surveyed for wallpaper, kitchen & bathroom faucets.. rain shower.. so finally bought some stuff..

wallpaper bought from taobao via 65daigou

3 rolls of this for 1 wall in the MBR

IMG-20121221-WA0009_zps32bd542b.jpg

& another 3 rolls for 2 walls in living & dining room.. same as another t-blogger here.. forget the nick la.. (thank you for the link on ur tblog..) to those who needs wall paper can standby.. cause i think surely got extra...

wallpaper_zpsc3d2b83d.png

btw who got kangtao for wall paper installer?? Derrick mention he got 1 .. but he charge $200 for 1 roll of pasting on e wall... is that standard rate? hmmmm....... :unsure:

Edited by ezys

faucets & rain shower.. bought tis from another china website... managed to contact the supplier directly.. so easy to deal... got a gd deal.. cause juz saw e same rain shower in SG.. selling at more than 60% of what i buy... delivery was via fedex.. arrived in 4 days.. items received by ID workers.. & Derrick whatsappp me.. so happy & efficient.. weee!!!! :dancingqueen:

IMG-20121213-WA0003_zpseeaf27d3.jpg

item in real life!! quite solid & heavy.. it will be installed today... (12/01/2013)

IMG-20121229-WA0002_zpsaef522b4.jpg

rain shower with a different mixer... real life pic need to wait.. will post below ... low... low... cause already installed...

IMG-20121213-WA00021_zps2b908973.jpg

toilet faucet - waterfall version.. i loike.. !! :sport-smiley-004: today going to install!!

20121229_075426_zpsa4d44999.jpg

Royal Fanco - the name many mentioned in RT for toilet accesories.. for its friendly service n cheap.. went there before christmas.. & quite true.. they were awesome!! Hendry & Linda or lina (alamak forget la..) were friendly & knowledgeable.. they will take out the items from their small shop to show u.. .. price was acceptable.. bought my Turbo hob & hood there... bought my 2 crizto WC n basin there bought 4 fanco fans & 5 lights kits with remote there.. bought my undermount sink n other accesories la.. i never went to other shops.. but their hospitality already was enuff for me not to go other shops.. & also lazy la wanna go other shops...

Fast track - Yesterday Derrick called, the plumber mentioned need to changed my wc in my common toilet due to kerb at the back.. so need to look for P-trap WC.. me clueless.. WTH is p-trap?? so derrick called RF lady boss... they make arrangement.. RF lady asked me come down asap make selection (only got 2 :curse::-( sad )so will deliver by today...

think i betta fast track b4 my tblog become very lohsoh...

initial plan as per title.. was to do kitchen & 2 toilets... but seeing our living & bedrooms flooring.. oso not nice to e eye.. itchy backside decided to laminate e flooring.. we engaged Floorworks ( www.laminateflooring.sg ) Bhai.. the boss, was quite a nice guy... will surely call u SIR on e phone or even in person.. quoted us $2600 for Living, dining rooms & the 3 bed room + shifting of furnitures.. quite cheap.. saw other brands like evorich.. but my pocket not rich enuff so.. go with floorworks.. they are coming this monday & by tuesday all finish... :sport-smiley-004:

colour of choice.. dark wenge

darkwenge_zps2fb8f0a2.png

also was thinking of painting e house myself.. to save $$$ but afta all e bz schedule finally ask my ID to arrange.. amt was $_ _ _ labour + 3 colours for rooms.. the living dining room paints + matex provided by me.. cause.. i can get free from my sub contractors at work..*wink* hehehe ... here the colour choice ... this 1 i leave to wife to decide...

vanilla creme from common room 1 (MIL room)

IMG-20130109-WA0002_zps4f30dcbd.jpg

tiffany & co colour for junior rooms..

IMG-20121213-WA0005_zps91c3a17d.jpg

& my ahem ahem room... Rustic brown... (sorry no sample..)

aniwae painting all completed yesterday... will post pics later.. wen i drop - by...

3rd week till yesterday... my happy week.. so many stuff up up up n away.. so happy things coming to shape..

rain shower up!

20130111_061901_zps0c7a2cea.jpg

my mixer.. the tap can swivel around.. wa shi huan!!! :sport-smiley-004:

20130111_063151_zps393e06b4.jpg

my square shape bidet.. a bit expensive but i loike la..

20130111_062014_zpscca61fb1.jpg

crizto wc for mbr toilet -

20130111_062359_zps1a17a32e.jpg

kitchen tiles finally completed.. weee!!!!! :sport-smiley-004: (10/01/13)

20130111_062843_zps51dcc370.jpg

decided on citygas heater.. cause quite true... electric bill up.. gas bills... hmmm...... no up... so choose the macro model.. as all e heater at citygas all made in china.. (even rinnai) so might as well right...

20130111_063019_zpsfd2196f2.jpg

Yr Reno seem great with all the lobangs... And the quote is reasonable. Have fun !

thanks bro... lobangs oso got from endless camping at RT & reading other T blogs.. :thumbs up:

need to thank my another sub contractor... for sponsoring my legrand light switch, 3 point plugs & electrician for my house... heheheheh!!! :sport-smiley-003:

IMG-20130110-WA0010_zps802728d4.jpg

yesterday noon... kitchen cabinet uncle lai liao..!!!

20130111_152519_zpse602659d.jpg

20130111_113426_zps85302a58.jpg

20130111_113357_zps68964e72.jpg

by evening - 80% done... only final touches on kitchen cabinet... with vanity installing today... :sport-smiley-004:

IMG-20130111-WA0011_zps8bdec537.jpg

Edited by ezys