Z3phy

Resale 4Rm Flat In Pasir Ris

we might turn to other options.

like >> http://www.universalunion.com.sg/product.asp?id=222

we'll need the actual measurements to buy off the rack. save on carpentry costs.

yup. my idea of using the sink from both sides was to get a rectangular sink and place the tap (with two "switches/handle" dunno wat u call it) at the width instead of at the length of the sink. so can use both sides lo.

Ok..Hope to see the final product in pic soon.. Looking forward.

Hi hi, 'spoke' to you in Icez's blog! Ha ha! :P Welcome to RT! Looking forward to ur reno journey updates & pics too! :yamseng:

hullo! i saw ur msg.. then went to icez blog to see wat we "spoke" lol...

{Hi Z3phy, yup, walls represented by thick black lines are not hackable thus there are limitations to wat Icez can do to change the layout..

by the way, visited ur blog too! wonder how u will overcame the pillar (if u remove the rest of the wall next to it) smacked right in the middle of ur big big MBR? haha! }

My reply: thanks for confirming.. abt the thick lines. as for the second question, only one side of the wall is hacked. Thus it becomes 2 connecting rooms and not a huge MBR. the wall facing the toilet entrace is still intact. we are living it there lo. and putting a glass door at the hacked wall instead. We dun wanna waste the aircon mah.. room big oso hard to cool leh. :drunk:

Met up with Contractor yesterday. He passed us the paint and laminate catalogue, said we'll need a lot of time to decide. i think we do have a lot of time coz we can only have the keys a month later! (1 mar 2013)

Then probably going for tile selection mid or end feb.

:sport-smiley-004:

So exciting. =X

Met up with Contractor yesterday. He passed us the paint and laminate catalogue, said we'll need a lot of time to decide. i think we do have a lot of time coz we can only have the keys a month later! (1 mar 2013)

Then probably going for tile selection mid or end feb.

:sport-smiley-004:

So exciting. =X

Ya take ur time & njoy the process! :thumbs up:

I was wondering if anyone could help me decide which idea to use...

Please once again bear with my horrendous drawing. (i'm no artist as you can tell)

KitchendiningAorB_zpsede9eb28.jpg

Which will you choose?

Bar top height or normal dining table height?

Some assumptions:

1. The cooker hob is same height in both pictures

2. The dining table is against the wall, facing the living room.

3. Built in over below cooker hob

4. It's hollow below the dining table. (is it better hollow?)

5. pls ignore the chairs in the picture.

6. No children or elderly living in the hse.

7. Do not intend to sell this place.. living long term.

10/1/2013 - anyone any idea?

If you're planning to use that countertop as a dining/bar area, it's definitely better for the bottom to be hollow so that your legs won't constantly hit into a wall when you sit down. We're doing our island that way too, and we chose dining table height because I don't really like sitting at bar top height because it gets uncomfortable after a while.

I also think it may look nicer if everything flows in one line, so having the table drop down slightly from your cooker hob would look better aesthetically than having a table suddenly stick out beyond the hob :)

Edited by summersann

with your comments in mind, I am still trying to solve this problem and came up with a few "costly and impractical" solutions.

Here's one of the more practical ones.

Toiletplan2_zpsd27e4c61.jpg

1. The wash basin can be used from both sides.

2. i can choose not to conceal the pipes if budget doesnt allow.

some cons

1. walkway from shower screen to basin is approx only 50cm. is this ok?

2. limited basin size

What do you think?

A walkway needs to be around 90cm for one person to walk through comfortably, and for the space to look generous and not cluttered. Have you tried using a measuring tape to gauge the space that you'd have to walk through if it were 50cm? I find that helped me a lot when I had to visualize the slightly narrower walkways we have when we were designing our home. You could try it and see if you're okay with 50cm! :)

If you're planning to use that countertop as a dining/bar area, it's definitely better for the bottom to be hollow so that your legs won't constantly hit into a wall when you sit down. We're doing our island that way too, and we chose dining table height because I don't really like sitting at bar top height because it gets uncomfortable after a while.

I also think it may look nicer if everything flows in one line, so having the table drop down slightly from your cooker hob would look better aesthetically than having a table suddenly stick out beyond the hob :)

Hi summersann

yah.. that's my dining table lo. urmmm... i think i need to explain abit more.

the entire table plus cooking hob is abt 9 ft x 2.5 ft. The width of the table is against the wall. this means the table is perpendicular to the wall. Hence the legs do not hit the walls.

but yes, we do intend to keep the bottom hollow.=)

i get what you mean abt the difference in height. for normal kitchen work top it's abt 90cm rite? drop is only 10 cm for dining table. but it has to be raised by 20 cm for bar top.

hmmm... *headache*

A walkway needs to be around 90cm for one person to walk through comfortably, and for the space to look generous and not cluttered. Have you tried using a measuring tape to gauge the space that you'd have to walk through if it were 50cm? I find that helped me a lot when I had to visualize the slightly narrower walkways we have when we were designing our home. You could try it and see if you're okay with 50cm! :)

I've yet to have a chance to go down and measure the exact distance. will only get to do that when i get my keys in march. i guess based on floor plan, the visual is kinda hard. i've very limited imagination.

we also thot of doing the sink parallel (to the pipes) at the "concealed area". which will also leave us with abt 55cm walkway.

hope we dun grow fatter. lol.

these 3 nights been sleeping late. searching TB for taps and lights.

We are doing LED track lights for the entire hse. gonna go with our intuition and buy the tracks and lights. if not enough, next time order again or buy in SG (if no choice, coz SG really overpriced)

like our brick wallpaper, wanted to order from catalogue.com.sg. but the staff not responsive and unhelpful.

their wallpaper cost like $55/metre. my 20sq m wall will cost me close to $1k. installation not inclusive.

it's ridiculous.

Hi Z3phy,

Do you need boxes from moving? I am giving it Free although i paid for it, if you are interested. Let me know... :thumbs up:

Edited by multi888

Hi Z3phy,

Do you need boxes from moving? I am giving it Free although i paid for it, if you are interested. Let me know at ... :thumbs up:

thanks for your kind offer. i've got boxes, things all packed and stored in warehouse.

wah.. u announce ur hp number.. =) who need boxes may contact u =)

Ok, we're thinking of getting digital locks online.

http://list.qoo10.sg/s/DIGITAL-LOCK?keyword=digital+lock&keyword_auto_change=

for example the SHS 6020 is priced at ard $350 but local suppliers selling it at more than 2x the price.

Anyone know if it's easy to install? my contractor has never done it before. :dunno:

I also read that the korean parallel imports may not fit our SG doors. Anyone tried yet?

Hi fellow pasir ris neighbor,

Most of the tiles we can select is min. $3 and some till $3.80 and have u decide on your table? I would prefer the lower one instead of high table coz the able space can be a work space for cooking baking, etc.

Hi Ment0s

i might have missed your msg..

As a matter of fact, i have decided on my table!

Will be taking the practical route and have a normal dining table. Thanks for sharing!

but my tiles are up to $2.80 only. we're ok with it as we made a trip to the Geylang Soon Bee Huat and saw our kitchen tiles already. got some choices within budget la.. =) mai hiam buay pai. :sport-smiley-018:

we're only having tiles in the kitchen and toilet anyway. no tiles in living and rooms. so need to top up oso minimal.

As for the laminates, not sure what the usual rate is but we are allowed to select up to $60 ones.