ahnah 0 Report post Posted August 20, 2007 Poor consumer. .. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zeny 0 Report post Posted August 20, 2007 Poor consumer. ..it is always the case Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahnah 0 Report post Posted August 20, 2007 Btw .. eR1cWhen u ORD this 9 Dec ... where r u going to work ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Odielim 0 Report post Posted August 20, 2007 thanks erichmmm..... no comments... odex vcd also not very good quality to me... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
eR1c 0 Report post Posted August 20, 2007 Btw .. eR1cWhen u ORD this 9 Dec ... where r u going to work ?dunno yet, maybe trying out commercial aviation, or some other technical lines lor... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jamez 0 Report post Posted August 20, 2007 The story behind.Odex is a company which has the distributor's rights to quite a number of Jap Animes in Singapore.Few months back, they employ a US company to track down the IP Address of Singapore users who had been downloading Jap Animes.Thru the IP Address, they went to Singnet and Singnet gave them the particulars of which the IP Address belongs to. Odex sent lawyer's letter to them (about 17 of them) and got them to pay a fine ranging from $1000 to $5000.Odex went to Starhub, but Starhub decline to give the particulars of those IP Address. Odex went to Court and got an order for Starhub to release them. Starhub got no choice to give the particulars to Odex. (abt 1000 according to Odex) This made the Jap Anime Community very furious about it.Main complain was that Odex was slow in releasing their VCD for locals, and by the time they released the VCD, fans already can't wait and had download from the internet, watch it, and talk about it liao. Also the quality of the VCD release sucks and can't even compare to those fansub which is downloaded from the net. Also the fine that Odex wanted was too much for some as some of those downloaders are still students.Now, after successfully getting Starhub to release the particulars thru Court Order, Odex is going to Pacific Net with the same request liao.the thing bout Odex is...the boss claim on the newspapers that they juz wanna get back their loss. But they asking people to pay like $3k-$5k to them for episodes they download...worth so much meh? somemore alot of them are students who have no money to pay then the parents have to pay...wat if the family is not very well to do who cun afford to buy the anime vcds but the kids love it so much that they go and download without their knowledge? can these kids below the age of 16 yrs old be taken to task if Odex takes them to court? Alot of considerations lah...but i get the feeling that this Odex guy is really cashing in on all these poor people loh (but this is juz my own personal opinion of cos..and please note there is no fact to substantiate my opinion)...of cos got rich rich people can pay they should compensate lah...but i think of the not so well to do people i pity them loh...no give face one meh? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zeny 0 Report post Posted August 21, 2007 the thing bout Odex is...the boss claim on the newspapers that they juz wanna get back their loss. But they asking people to pay like $3k-$5k to them for episodes they download...worth so much meh? somemore alot of them are students who have no money to pay then the parents have to pay...wat if the family is not very well to do who cun afford to buy the anime vcds but the kids love it so much that they go and download without their knowledge? can these kids below the age of 16 yrs old be taken to task if Odex takes them to court? Alot of considerations lah...but i get the feeling that this Odex guy is really cashing in on all these poor people loh (but this is juz my own personal opinion of cos..and please note there is no fact to substantiate my opinion)...of cos got rich rich people can pay they should compensate lah...but i think of the not so well to do people i pity them loh...no give face one meh? well you are not the only one that think that way... check out hardwarezone forum and you will see alot of comments there thanks erichmmm..... no comments... odex vcd also not very good quality to me...that's wat i saw from other forums too... not only that their sub-titles lousy too !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
eR1c 0 Report post Posted August 21, 2007 There are much more than this.Yesterday, Straitstimes forum, a guy wrote and question on the list of animes that Odex has the rights to. Apparently, Odex website do not have the list and seems always down. Also, if those who can't pay the fine, are given the choice instalment plan with 10% interest.Anyway, the news did report that the guy reported police last time, coz got people in the forum are threatening him. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Cantona7 0 Report post Posted August 21, 2007 Such a big issue I don even knw. Poor students and parent must be veri worry over this blood sucker. As usual we consumer in Spore is alway in the losing end. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jamez 0 Report post Posted August 21, 2007 There are much more than this.Yesterday, Straitstimes forum, a guy wrote and question on the list of animes that Odex has the rights to. Apparently, Odex website do not have the list and seems always down. Also, if those who can't pay the fine, are given the choice instalment plan with 10% interest.Anyway, the news did report that the guy reported police last time, coz got people in the forum are threatening him.and one more thing...i read in one of the papers that the ODEX guy commented that consumers are free to get parallel imports if they dun like ODEX stuff...now if he had all the rights to the anime series...then if i sell parallel imports of the same anime series would it be illegal? dun understand leh... im sure there is a way to claim trial and win loh...how are they going to prove to the Court who used the computer to download the anime? eg: one computer in house...house only got parents and one son (10 yrs old), parents are not computer literate...then are they still held liable? how can take 10 yr old to task? 10 yr old commit crime also gv chance lah... if rich can counter-sue somemore..if not rich and dunno law..good luck... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
not 0 Report post Posted August 22, 2007 here is the link to odex website... I think its better that I dun copy and paste their statement here or else dunno will get into what infringement problem Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Odielim 0 Report post Posted August 22, 2007 can they stop everyone?? thanks for sharing~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zeny 0 Report post Posted August 22, 2007 we like to share one so no problem Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jamez 0 Report post Posted August 22, 2007 This is a dis-service to all Anime lovers!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Odielim 0 Report post Posted August 23, 2007 i dont think they can stop it lar..... good afternooon to all~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites