jamez 0 Report post Posted August 28, 2007 james, recently is there any nice anime to recommend?not...im afraid i have to inform u although i love watching anime but im not SUPER up to date with the latest series going on...but heres wat i watch..1) One Piece....wah but i missed quite anumber of episodes and seems like got new members in their ranks...stopped for quite a while liao cos i cun catch up... 2) Bleach...besides the filler episodes..the whole concept is rather exciting...like "sard sard" like dat the Shinigami thingy...got hooked after watching the first 3 episodes loh...now cun live without watching it...but i dun download hoh... 3) Naruto Shippuden loh...missed the last arc in Naruto around the same time i missed One Piece episodes..so when Naruto Shippuden came i caught up with abit of imagination as to where it was left off haha...So far so good...hope the filler episodes dun come so soon...but the fighting very draggy...one fight can fight more then 5 episodes one haha...4) This one is a 10 series anime...the title is simply...."X". if u have not watched it yet..try it. No humour one...very dark....super twisty plot and super duper surprise ending...gets VERY confusing if there are no subtitles...if u like clever twist and turns and refreshing ideas...watch this...5) Watched a few episodes of Vampire Hunter D...eeee i dun like..but there are people who love it...6) Deathnote (no need to explain lah hoh )...and it has recently concluded... very clever story really...not as dark as "X" tho...and datz all i can watch with the little miserable free time that i have...will love to watch more...i usually borrow the DVDs from a close friend (whoz REALLY an anime freak...) he has tried to intro me to Gundam Seed...but i haven try yet...itz a very popular series also...So datz all...i guess all i watch one is the more popular ones...how bout u? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zeny 0 Report post Posted August 28, 2007 Home > Latest News > Singapore Aug 28, 2007 SingNet: We did not 'consent' to Odex SINGNET has clarified that it did not 'consent' to demands by Odex to hand over details about subscribers allegedly downloading pirated Japanese cartoons, called anime. The Internet service provider (ISP), which is being slammed online for its apparent capitulation in the controversial case, says in no way did it help Odex's application. SingNet spokesman Chia Boon Chong said, 'We reject all requests from third parties for information pertaining to our customers. We will release such information only under a court order or if the law enforcement and regulatory agencies demand such information from us.' In Odex's case, as it does in all such cases, he said, the firm would 'entrust the courts to apply the law and make a ruling'. The Telecommunications Competition Code prohibits ISPs from disclosing subscriber information without a court order, and a spokesman for the Infocomm Development Authority said SingNet had not breached the code. Odex won court orders earlier this year to get SingNet and StarHub to disclose names of subscribers allegedly downloading anime. When Odex failed to obtain a similar order against Pacific Internet (PacNet) last Thursday, people began wondering why. Online attacks against SingNet intensified after District Judge Ernest Lau published in his written judgement that 'for the SingNet case, the orders were made by consent'. He also said that SingNet did not even appear in court. Different judges had ruled in all three cases. Many people, including corporate counsel and Nominated Member of Parliament Siew Kum Hong, interpreted this to mean that SingNet had agreed to Odex's application, thus expediting it. Online users thus felt SingNet had betrayed them, and this probably fuelled the online outrage against the ISP, said Mr Siew, who maintains a well-read blog. Read the full report in Wednesday's edition of The Straits Times.Straits timesthis is getting more interestingOdex affiliate raided for counterfeiting 8 years ago A ONE-TIME firm started by the men behind Odex, the company at the centre of a crackdown on illegal downloading of anime, was itself raided by police for copyright infringement. The firm - Games Mart - was set up by Odex director Peter Go in 1994 to sell video game consoles, games and accessories. An Odex spokeman said it was raided in 1999 by the police for peddling counterfeit game controllers and other accessories. The spokesman said that Games Mart was shut down in 2004.Straits times Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jamez 0 Report post Posted August 28, 2007 Home > Latest News > Singapore Aug 28, 2007 SingNet: We did not 'consent' to Odex SINGNET has clarified that it did not 'consent' to demands by Odex to hand over details about subscribers allegedly downloading pirated Japanese cartoons, called anime. The Internet service provider (ISP), which is being slammed online for its apparent capitulation in the controversial case, says in no way did it help Odex's application. SingNet spokesman Chia Boon Chong said, 'We reject all requests from third parties for information pertaining to our customers. We will release such information only under a court order or if the law enforcement and regulatory agencies demand such information from us.' In Odex's case, as it does in all such cases, he said, the firm would 'entrust the courts to apply the law and make a ruling'. The Telecommunications Competition Code prohibits ISPs from disclosing subscriber information without a court order, and a spokesman for the Infocomm Development Authority said SingNet had not breached the code. Odex won court orders earlier this year to get SingNet and StarHub to disclose names of subscribers allegedly downloading anime. When Odex failed to obtain a similar order against Pacific Internet (PacNet) last Thursday, people began wondering why. Online attacks against SingNet intensified after District Judge Ernest Lau published in his written judgement that 'for the SingNet case, the orders were made by consent'. He also said that SingNet did not even appear in court. Different judges had ruled in all three cases. Many people, including corporate counsel and Nominated Member of Parliament Siew Kum Hong, interpreted this to mean that SingNet had agreed to Odex's application, thus expediting it. Online users thus felt SingNet had betrayed them, and this probably fuelled the online outrage against the ISP, said Mr Siew, who maintains a well-read blog. Read the full report in Wednesday's edition of The Straits Times.Straits timesthis is getting more interestingOdex affiliate raided for counterfeiting 8 years ago A ONE-TIME firm started by the men behind Odex, the company at the centre of a crackdown on illegal downloading of anime, was itself raided by police for copyright infringement. The firm - Games Mart - was set up by Odex director Peter Go in 1994 to sell video game consoles, games and accessories. An Odex spokeman said it was raided in 1999 by the police for peddling counterfeit game controllers and other accessories. The spokesman said that Games Mart was shut down in 2004.Straits times ahhh....so this bugger has been caught for same thing before... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
not 0 Report post Posted August 29, 2007 jamez, other than Naruto + N. Shippuden and Bleach, I am currently catching Claymore which i find it rather interesting. It's about an org of claymores, who are half human, half yoma hunting down human-eating monsters. The series is kinna violent (a lot of blood) but the effect is quite well animated. Another one is Kaze-no-Stigma which i jus caught 2 episodes... nice or not can't tell now but will update when i watched more. For those popular ones I have finished are Rurouni Kenshin aka Samurai X, 3x3 eyes (anime discontinued after 1 season), Captain Tsubasa, Shaman King etc. All I find them very entertaining.....think for now i will try to get Deathnote as I heard quite a lot of gd reviews (from u as well) on this anime. If there is any other interesting ones that both Jamez and I missed out, hope there will more ppl can share wat they like. Let's keep the anime spirit alive Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahnah 0 Report post Posted August 29, 2007 I am back ! ! ! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zeny 0 Report post Posted August 29, 2007 I am back ! ! !good ! any local delights for us Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahnah 0 Report post Posted August 29, 2007 (edited) good ! any local delights for us In House Steamboat @ in-laws house... at 1 of the table. Edited August 29, 2007 by ahnah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zeny 0 Report post Posted August 29, 2007 In House Steamboat @ in-laws house... at 1 of the table.notice you also go back eat steamboat one hor use charcoal one ..hearsay the soup taste better izzt true Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Odielim 0 Report post Posted August 29, 2007 busy month end closing~ setup anime fan club?hmm maybe i should change my blog name Anime Fan Club Join here~Register your nick and u will be given a number~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
not 0 Report post Posted August 30, 2007 busy month end closing~ setup anime fan club?hmm maybe i should change my blog name Anime Fan Club Join here~Register your nick and u will be given a number~ I chop one place here Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahnah 0 Report post Posted August 30, 2007 busy month end closing~ setup anime fan club?hmm maybe i should change my blog name Anime Fan Club Join here~Register your nick and u will be given a number~ Reserve 2 seat for us as well. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahnah 0 Report post Posted August 30, 2007 notice you also go back eat steamboat one hor use charcoal one ..hearsay the soup taste better izzt true Yes.. it taste better ... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zeny 0 Report post Posted August 31, 2007 Odex defends 'enforcement action' Serene Luo Fri, Aug 31, 2007The Straits Times SINGAPORE has become a hotbed of illegal anime downloads, said Odex, arguing that it simply had to take action.Responding to allegations on the Internet that the company had acted high-handedly, distributor Odex yesterday held a press conference attended by local and Japanese media.Odex recently made headlines after initiating what it calls 'enforcement action' - finding out the names of illegal downloaders and starting legal action. This triggered an online backlash, with some Internet users campaigning to boycott its products and wear anti-Odex T-shirts.Yesterday, the company revealed it had found that over 483,000 illegal downloads had been made here in the last 10 months, making Singapore 10th on the list of countries worldwide with the most illegal anime downloads.Singapore also has the highest percentage of illegal anime downloads per capita, far ahead of countries like the US, Australia and Hong Kong.To bolster its case, Odex brought representatives of the four Japanese studios which own the copyrights to blockbuster anime series like Naruto, Dragonball and Tsubasa Chronicles.They told reporters through an interpreter that they supported Odex's legal action, having issued authorisation letters for it to act on their behalf before the company went to the courts.'If there is a necessity from the courts of Singapore requiring us to come down (physically), then we will come,' said Mr Yukio Kawasaki from TV Tokyo Corporation, in response to The Straits Times' queries on their reactions to a judge's statement that it was copyright owners who had to initiate legal action.Odex is appealing a court ruling in which the company failed to force Pacific Internet to supply the names of illegal downloaders using its service. Its request was refused last Thursday.To date, Odex has sent out letters to suspected illegal downloaders, with user identities gleaned from the 1,000 Internet Protocol (IP) addresses provided by SingNet.Because a user can have multiple IP addresses, only 300 users were identified.IP addresses are strings of numbers that identify computers.StarHub has also been served with a court order to disclose the names of subscribers allegedly downloading anime.Only 105 of the 300 cases have been settled. The remaining 195 cases are still in negotiations or are no-shows, said Odex director Stephen Sing.The company, which has come under fire from Internet forum members and bloggers, clarified that it was neither charging interest on instalment payments nor profiteering, as Netizens have said.There were also allegations that every person had to pay $3,000 to $5,000, which would result in Odex making $15 million.Odex managing director Peter Go said that 'no one has been asked to pay beyond their means', and that the money would pay for lawyers' fees, the costs of tracking the downloads, administrative charges and ISP charges.Any excess will go to charity and an auditor will be called in, he said.In response to protests that anime is not quickly available here, the company is also starting a new video-on-demand service on its website today. Mr Sing said it will now only cost $2 for a user to download each anime episode.These shows will appear just a week after they are broadcast on Japanese TV.The week's delay will allow the episode to pass Singapore censorship laws and to provide English subtitling.-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------afterall that they have done, do you think pple will pay $2 to download their anime Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jamez 0 Report post Posted August 31, 2007 jamez, other than Naruto + N. Shippuden and Bleach, I am currently catching Claymore which i find it rather interesting. It's about an org of claymores, who are half human, half yoma hunting down human-eating monsters. The series is kinna violent (a lot of blood) but the effect is quite well animated. Another one is Kaze-no-Stigma which i jus caught 2 episodes... nice or not can't tell now but will update when i watched more. For those popular ones I have finished are Rurouni Kenshin aka Samurai X, 3x3 eyes (anime discontinued after 1 season), Captain Tsubasa, Shaman King etc. All I find them very entertaining.....think for now i will try to get Deathnote as I heard quite a lot of gd reviews (from u as well) on this anime. If there is any other interesting ones that both Jamez and I missed out, hope there will more ppl can share wat they like. Let's keep the anime spirit alive wah...samurai x very old skool leh... i also watched it last time....watz so interesting is all the sword techniques...and there therez some characters who apparently are based on real life people... the OVA about Kenshin's life b4 he became the Battousai...man the story made me cry... one of the seriously better story lines try deathnote man...u'll never regret... busy month end closing~ setup anime fan club?hmm maybe i should change my blog name Anime Fan Club Join here~Register your nick and u will be given a number~ one place here! Odex defends 'enforcement action' Serene Luo Fri, Aug 31, 2007The Straits Times .-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------afterall that they have done, do you think pple will pay $2 to download their anime seriously i dun mind paying $2 an episode....but to Odex??? hope other companies start this as well... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Odielim 0 Report post Posted September 1, 2007 later i give out number~ hmm i dont want to buy any Odex stuff...i dont mind other companies with no link to Odex... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites