Odielim

Odie & Roy Humble Home

say... odie... how are you?

heh heh... sorry ah... this gorilla is getting old...

wrote on the wrong thread :P

my apologies... so, how you like the new place?

quiet and peaceful at nite rite?

with the strong sunshine at your place, did you plant any thing yet?

Edited by GnM

busy day.. :P

tired.. tired..

hahaha everywhere have politcs.. even home...

;) Not got mileage, u drive across only mah.. :notti: kidding ;)

then i must tell zeny my krisflyer card no liao 8|

then i must tell zeny my krisflyer card no liao :D

yah...for me to transfer your mileage to my krisflyer :notti:

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Monday April 2, 3:38 PM

At least 15 dead in Solomons quake, tsunami

A powerful undersea earthquake unleashed a tsunami that pounded into the western Solomon Islands early Monday, destroying entire villages and reportedly killing at least 15 people, officials said.

The wall of water triggered by the 8.0-magnitude quake -- which witnesses said was up to five metres (16.5 feet) high -- swamped towns, flattened homes, and sparked panic among residents of the impoverished South Pacific state.

Communications to the quake-hit area were patchy, making it difficult to assess the number of dead and injured and the damage, Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare told CNN.

The Pacific Tsunami Warning Centre issued a regionwide warning immediately after the quake, stretching as far away as Japan, but later cancelled it.

At least 15 people were killed in and around Gizo, the main town in Western Province and a popular tourist and diving spot 40 kilometres (25 miles) from the quake's epicentre, the provincial leader said.

"Reports have come in that more than 15 people died, just around Gizo, but with the other islands I cannot tell you," premier Alex Lokopio told Radio New Zealand.

The central government reported 12 deaths and the police at least four, but Sogavare warned the death toll would likely rise once rescue teams reached the area.

"Most of the islands are low-lying, and the extent of the damage is yet to be known," the prime minister said, adding that a team from his office, the Red Cross and the police were headed to the area.

"It's a very trying time for us."

In the capital Honiara, the head of the Solomons National Disaster Council, Fred Fakari, told journalists: "Some villages are completely wiped out."

The government's communications unit reported six bodies found floating in seas near Gizo town, hours after the shallow quake struck at 7:40 am (2040 GMT Sunday).

The US Geological Survey reported a series of aftershocks measuring up to a magnitude of 6.7.

Across the Pacific, governments from Australia to New Caledonia and the Northern Marianas evacuated schools and ordered coastal residents to move to higher ground, but no damage was immediately reported.

Lokopio, the premier of Western Province, said there was a desperate need for emergency supplies in the Gizo area, where residents remained on a hill behind the town amid strong aftershocks.

"What we desperately need now is water, tents and food because almost 3,000-4,000 people are now living on the hill at Gizo," Lokopio said.

He said residents had been surprised by the giant waves, which hit just minutes after the area was rocked by the initial quake.

"There wasn't any warning. This was a very sad thing because the warning was the earth tremors. It shook us very, very strongly and we were frightened.

"All of a sudden the sea was rising up so all the people living around the coastal area, they ran up on the hill."

Lokopio said most of the government buildings and businesses in Gizo had been destroyed, along with houses in low-lying areas.

Police quoted witnesses as saying waves washed up to 500 metres (yards) inland and destroyed houses, triggered landslides and forced residents to evacuate.

The tsunami forced the temporary closure of the airport at Gizo. It later reopened, and aircraft were rushed to the area to distribute some limited emergency supplies and assess the damage.

The Solomons government disaster council was meeting late Monday afternoon to decide whether to declare a state of emergency.

In Honiara, news of the quake sent people running from waterfront markets, said Daniel Evans, an Australian lawyer.

"I just saw everyone on the street start to run and scream," he told AFP.

The Solomon Islands, 2,575 kilometres east of Australia, has a little over half a million people living on dozens of islands.

It is part of the Pacific "Ring of Fire" where continental plates meet and frequently experiences volcanic and seismic activity.

Australian officials shut beaches on the east coast and some ferry services in Sydney were cancelled, but scientists said the wave did not pose a serious threat to Australia

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/070402/1/47kdk.html

dunno what has the world become... these days natural disasters like more frequent...haiz...want to plan trips also must think THRICE now :P

Edited by zeny

Monday April 2, 3:38 PM

At least 15 dead in Solomons quake, tsunami

A powerful undersea earthquake unleashed a tsunami that pounded into the western Solomon Islands early Monday, destroying entire villages and reportedly killing at least 15 people, officials said.

The wall of water triggered by the 8.0-magnitude quake -- which witnesses said was up to five metres (16.5 feet) high -- swamped towns, flattened homes, and sparked panic among residents of the impoverished South Pacific state.

Communications to the quake-hit area were patchy, making it difficult to assess the number of dead and injured and the damage, Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare told CNN.

The Pacific Tsunami Warning Centre issued a regionwide warning immediately after the quake, stretching as far away as Japan, but later cancelled it.

At least 15 people were killed in and around Gizo, the main town in Western Province and a popular tourist and diving spot 40 kilometres (25 miles) from the quake's epicentre, the provincial leader said.

"Reports have come in that more than 15 people died, just around Gizo, but with the other islands I cannot tell you," premier Alex Lokopio told Radio New Zealand.

The central government reported 12 deaths and the police at least four, but Sogavare warned the death toll would likely rise once rescue teams reached the area.

"Most of the islands are low-lying, and the extent of the damage is yet to be known," the prime minister said, adding that a team from his office, the Red Cross and the police were headed to the area.

"It's a very trying time for us."

In the capital Honiara, the head of the Solomons National Disaster Council, Fred Fakari, told journalists: "Some villages are completely wiped out."

The government's communications unit reported six bodies found floating in seas near Gizo town, hours after the shallow quake struck at 7:40 am (2040 GMT Sunday).

The US Geological Survey reported a series of aftershocks measuring up to a magnitude of 6.7.

Across the Pacific, governments from Australia to New Caledonia and the Northern Marianas evacuated schools and ordered coastal residents to move to higher ground, but no damage was immediately reported.

Lokopio, the premier of Western Province, said there was a desperate need for emergency supplies in the Gizo area, where residents remained on a hill behind the town amid strong aftershocks.

"What we desperately need now is water, tents and food because almost 3,000-4,000 people are now living on the hill at Gizo," Lokopio said.

He said residents had been surprised by the giant waves, which hit just minutes after the area was rocked by the initial quake.

"There wasn't any warning. This was a very sad thing because the warning was the earth tremors. It shook us very, very strongly and we were frightened.

"All of a sudden the sea was rising up so all the people living around the coastal area, they ran up on the hill."

Lokopio said most of the government buildings and businesses in Gizo had been destroyed, along with houses in low-lying areas.

Police quoted witnesses as saying waves washed up to 500 metres (yards) inland and destroyed houses, triggered landslides and forced residents to evacuate.

The tsunami forced the temporary closure of the airport at Gizo. It later reopened, and aircraft were rushed to the area to distribute some limited emergency supplies and assess the damage.

The Solomons government disaster council was meeting late Monday afternoon to decide whether to declare a state of emergency.

In Honiara, news of the quake sent people running from waterfront markets, said Daniel Evans, an Australian lawyer.

"I just saw everyone on the street start to run and scream," he told AFP.

The Solomon Islands, 2,575 kilometres east of Australia, has a little over half a million people living on dozens of islands.

It is part of the Pacific "Ring of Fire" where continental plates meet and frequently experiences volcanic and seismic activity.

Australian officials shut beaches on the east coast and some ferry services in Sydney were cancelled, but scientists said the wave did not pose a serious threat to Australia

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/070402/1/47kdk.html

dunno what has the world become... these days natural disasters like more frequent...haiz...want to plan trips also must think THRICE now :P

scary... even here will gena earthquake.... seems like no place is safe anymore :notti:

busy day.. :sport-smiley-004:

tired.. tired..

hahaha everywhere have politcs.. even home...

:) Not got mileage, u drive across only mah.. :sport-smiley-004: kidding :P

everyone is busy ... :notti::rofl:

FIFI

your phantom of the opera Track 13 = All I ask of you is sang by who ??

is it SARAH BRIGHTMAN and Cliff Richard :notti: if yes...can borrow borrow :deal:

They are the original singer... the vocal POWER

except me :notti:

why u so eng ... because Kon out of town so you very eng eng nohing to do ? ?

busy like **** .. rushing for last min. request by the old man in Company.

say... odie... how are you?

heh heh... sorry ah... this gorilla is getting old...

wrote on the wrong thread :P

my apologies... so, how you like the new place?

quiet and peaceful at nite rite?

with the strong sunshine at your place, did you plant any thing yet?

Hi wee,

still adjusting to married life.. :lol:

work sometimes free sometimes busy.. 8| just today everything went wrong.. :notti:

guess going to sleep and hope tomorrow better..

Wee, u cant be that old right? :P hee hee

well still getting used to it.. living in clementi too long still miss home very much.. trying hard to maintain the place.. i wish i can afford a maid to clean up the place.. hahahaha :P

erh only afternoon sun that is good for my clothing... love to wash clothing over the weekend and hang it out to dry very fast... the only problem is always have to keep toilet windows so the place will be more dry lor.. if not abit smelly... sigh.. cant find the solution.. roy says he dont smell it... :deal:

no, i dont like to do gardening.. :lol: only my kitchen have the most sun... the MBR dont feel so hot though.. using the fan still quite ok..

ur place dark meh? i remember i used to go there alot of wind and sun quite good leh.. :unsure:

##########################

:lol: zeny, good life at work :P hee hee

quite sad to hear the tsunami again... :(

why u so eng ... because Kon out of town so you very eng eng nohing to do ? ?

busy like **** .. rushing for last min. request by the old man in Company.

begining of the month i always eng one wat :unsure:

since when kon is out of town :lol:

:notti: zeny, good life at work :lol: hee hee

i wont say good life... not bad only :lol:

my job is seasonal now :deal:8| now off-peak :P

FIFI

your phantom of the opera Track 13 = All I ask of you is sang by who ??

is it SARAH BRIGHTMAN and Cliff Richard :notti: if yes...can borrow borrow :deal:

They are the original singer... the vocal POWER

i dun tink is the original singer coz the cd i bought is the version in the esplanade performance

but Brad Little's vocal is not bad either! very powerful and touching!

begining of the month i always eng one wat :notti:

since when kon is out of town :deal:

I thot he is away then u very eng mah ..

like me ... regina is away then I super eng.

i dun tink is the original singer coz the cd i bought is the version in the esplanade performance

but Brad Little's vocal is not bad either! very powerful and touching!

then you should listen to Sarah and cliff one... it is powerful until can melt your heart lor...

well at least that is how i felt lor 8|

I thot he is away then u very eng mah ..

like me ... regina is away then I super eng.

btw he still around lah...haben fly yet

i meant office hour eng lah... :notti::deal:

Hi wee,

still adjusting to married life.. zz

work sometimes free sometimes busy.. zz just today everything went wrong.. :(

guess going to sleep and hope tomorrow better..

Wee, u cant be that old right? zz hee hee

well still getting used to it.. living in clementi too long still miss home very much.. trying hard to maintain the place.. i wish i can afford a maid to clean up the place.. hahahaha zz

erh only afternoon sun that is good for my clothing... love to wash clothing over the weekend and hang it out to dry very fast... the only problem is always have to keep toilet windows so the place will be more dry lor.. if not abit smelly... sigh.. cant find the solution.. roy says he dont smell it... :lol:

no, i dont like to do gardening.. zz only my kitchen have the most sun... the MBR dont feel so hot though.. using the fan still quite ok..

ur place dark meh? i remember i used to go there alot of wind and sun quite good leh.. zz

##########################

zz zeny, good life at work :P hee hee

quite sad to hear the tsunami again... :(

heh heh... my place is not dark, but no direct sun other than the morning at the kitchen clothes area... so not much of a chance to grow plants. Your place on the other hand has very good morning and afternoon sun at the corridor, so can grow some very sturdy plants there zz