Bigheadowner

Renovation

So happy to get my new house key & start thinking how to renovate house, i search for contractor & ID, at last friend of mine recommend me his friend.

He from V..... C........ pte ltd. So we have be discussing what to do, this contractor say my moving house schedule is very tide, left 1 & half month to renovate the whole

house so must act it fast. hearing this i confirm the job on the 17-11-12 for hacking the tiling job & pay a deposit of 50% (tiles i bought myself). But worse thing comes,

they start apply renovation permit & hacking on the 26-11-12 (1 week delay) saying the hacking contractor not free. the hacking work & haulage finish on 29-11-12 & the tiler start plastering on the second day.... till today 6-12-12 not even a tiles was up, floor screed not started. According to what i mention my window grill near the corridor will remain & those behind will be dismantle, but the hacking contractor dismantle all.... damage my kitchen window frame during hacking (1 hole) i did complain to him what he says- i ask them to took out. so disappointed with this contractor & i dun no what to do now, need advise, thank you. :furious:

So happy to get my new house key & start thinking how to renovate house, i search for contractor & ID, at last friend of mine recommend me his friend.

He from V..... C........ pte ltd. So we have be discussing what to do, this contractor say my moving house schedule is very tide, left 1 & half month to renovate the whole

house so must act it fast. hearing this i confirm the job on the 17-11-12 for hacking the tiling job & pay a deposit of 50% (tiles i bought myself). But worse thing comes,

they start apply renovation permit & hacking on the 26-11-12 (1 week delay) saying the hacking contractor not free. the hacking work & haulage finish on 29-11-12 & the tiler start plastering on the second day.... till today 6-12-12 not even a tiles was up, floor screed not started. According to what i mention my window grill near the corridor will remain & those behind will be dismantle, but the hacking contractor dismantle all.... damage my kitchen window frame during hacking (1 hole) i did complain to him what he says- i ask them to took out. so disappointed with this contractor & i dun no what to do now, need advise, thank you. :furious:

mine was similar to urs too but in terms of hacking and 1 week delay. My ID told me that idemnity form can't be used since HDB change the rules. However i ask ard and check with HDB and ID was bull****ting me. I've yet to confront him cos if i do, It will be deadly. Now back to your story and since i'm new to reno, what i could suggest is ask him what works can be done since ur time frame is limited. Since your friend recommend his friend to you, Probably you could seek his assitance as well & ask why are there so many hiccups. Whats the company name and mayb you could highlight to others about this to prevent the same thing to happen. Hope everyhting will go smoothly for u.

looking at your guys remarks, i felt so sorry for your bad encounters. I'm considered fortunate as my ID hasnt given me any headaches at this moment. In fact she has been helping us to load off our burden. I got my house keys on 25 Oct and the same day, the hacking permit (for floor and wall tiles) was submitted and approved. Next day hacking works started.

For hacking of partition walls, the permit takes about 1 week to be approved by HDB.

Bigheadowner, if i were you, i will let the existing contractor to do up to the value that you have paid for. If you are paying 50%, most likely only involve the masonry works. Then i will get another ID/contractor to continue with the rest of the works... carpentry, painting etc..

That is why they said that choosing the right ID / Contractor is very important. Some things, cannot be measured by money. Like someone mentioned before, cheap might not be lowest quality, expensive doesn't mean its good.

Hope things will be smoother for you going forward.

Thanks all, i ever ask ID quoted me for a 4A2 hdb 90sqm over 80k.....not include furniture, & electrical work. haha my heart going to drop off.

WOW, 80k..Major overhaul??

:angry2: I let the contractor (Vision C........ Pte Ltd) finish up the hacking & tiling ONLY the rest i find my own contractor. in the first place

they take China worker to do the tiling but... they use W1 for my toilet floor waterproofing :angry2:, 104 for wall...normal sand screed at the toilet. i cal up the Project Manager to come down & tell him, he say dun worry he get another malaysian worker to finish up the job. Before the tiling start, i change whole hse window & grills, the malaysian guy very fast they take 1 week to finish up the tiling, but the tiles is no level with the window frame. :~ they say ur window frame no water level.... i did check the water level, window is level the tiles is not. i cal the main contractor to come down to look, they say little bit never mind la...(about 10mm) so regret to use this contractor, they charge me for $10500/- for hacking & tiling...!@#$%^&*( (Tiles i buy myself)cardboard for floor protection also never buy for me says that is expensive :furious: i buy 2 big roll for $17/-each & lay myself idiot contractor, kana complain by Town Council they cal up the supervisor, the supervisor dun no how to answer them, quicky he cal me to call them see what is happening .....Fxxx.......

Edited by Bigheadowner

Every day bz doing my hse, electrical & painting. water piping i ask my friend to do.(also sien) things not enough ask me to go & buy(washing machine tap, sink wall plug, cement) after finish... pipes leaking. i call my friend saying pipe leaking, he tell me go & get spanner to tie tide myself...but i quiet happy with the window guy(Ah Hee) responsible workmanship not bad. now waiting for the carpentry works only :yamseng: hope this carpenter dont disappoint me other wise charm liao. now i worry is the waterproofing, scared after i move in, leaking. so need to redo.. & below hse also... :jawdrop: cant sleep well all since renovation start.

Edited by Bigheadowner