chan121 0 Report post Posted November 20, 2012 (edited) Hi Everyone, I just went for OTP, can i know any suggestion/recommendation of good ID or contractor for budget/simple renovation, coz after paid 20%+COV, has no much $$ left. Mine is 4NG flat.Can I know whether my budget $15k enough for simple renovation? Edited November 21, 2012 by chan121 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
multi888 1 Report post Posted November 20, 2012 Welcome and congrats on your otp...for id recoomendation, you can refer to the other thread on id which provide alot of info there. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chan121 0 Report post Posted November 29, 2012 (edited) Hi, I'm thinking, shld i hack the wall to make the living room bigger or hack the storeroom to make the 2 common rooms bigger?I can't hack both coz i will instal more cabinet at kitchen if i going to remove the storeroom. thanks. Edited December 6, 2012 by chan121 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MrsLoo 1 Report post Posted November 29, 2012 Hi Everyone, I just went for OTP, can i know any suggestion/recommendation of good ID or contractor for budget/simple renovation, coz after paid 20%+COV, has no much $$ left. Mine is 4NG flat.Can I know whether my budget $15k enough for simple renovation?Congrats to your new home. But seriously I think no matter how simple you want, 15K budget is very tight, unless you are keeping most of the original fittings like W/C, basins, doors, tiles etc. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chan121 0 Report post Posted November 29, 2012 Hi Mrs Loo,Thanks for reply.Ya, i also think $15k is not enough, maybe go for renovation loan to up my budget to $25k-$30k. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
iTalk 0 Report post Posted November 29, 2012 Depends on what you intended to do, can try asking for quotes to see what's the range and then probrobly see how. Anyway congrats to your new home. I'm redoing my old kitchen and common toilet - hacking, lay new floor and wall tiles, new kitchen cabinet, water proofing, replacement of old pipes, new basins, toilet bowl, doors, etc.... Overall it's about 18k plus which I think quite reasonable. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted November 29, 2012 Depends on what you intended to do, can try asking for quotes to see what's the range and then probrobly see how. Anyway congrats to your new home. I'm redoing my old kitchen and common toilet - hacking, lay new floor and wall tiles, new kitchen cabinet, water proofing, replacement of old pipes, new basins, toilet bowl, doors, etc.... Overall it's about 18k plus which I think quite reasonable.if kitchen and toilets only, then should be below 20k or so lah. but need to do living and bedrooms, even 30k is a bit difficult. so depending on how much you want to do. less hacking, less $$$. why not just keep the store room cos i think the bedroom size for 4NG is reasonable. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chan121 0 Report post Posted November 29, 2012 if kitchen and toilets only, then should be below 20k or so lah. but need to do living and bedrooms, even 30k is a bit difficult. so depending on how much you want to do. less hacking, less $$$. why not just keep the store room cos i think the bedroom size for 4NG is reasonable.I wish to keep the storeroom, is my husband want to hack it, he asked,"got so many things to keep meh?".For a family with 2 children, there must be a lot of thing to keep.maybe he didnt think for the future usage. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted November 29, 2012 I wish to keep the storeroom, is my husband want to hack it, he asked,"got so many things to keep meh?".For a family with 2 children, there must be a lot of thing to keep.maybe he didnt think for the future usage.there are a lot of things to keep in storeroom. my storeroom is almost full..... and there is only 1 person. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Valerie Low 0 Report post Posted November 29, 2012 I just did kitchen, toilets, change all windows and door grill less than 30K. Your house layout is similar as mine. Looking forward to your transformation Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chan121 0 Report post Posted November 29, 2012 I just did kitchen, toilets, change all windows and door grill less than 30K. Your house layout is similar as mine. Looking forward to your transformationHi Valerie,just went to ur blog for a look, actually mine also got the recess area same as urs.how is ur contractor's workmanship? do u mind PM me the quotation of ur renovation cost? can i have the contact of the contractor also? thanks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chan121 0 Report post Posted January 23, 2013 After discussion with few ID/Contractor, found that the quotation given by Defong is the most reasonable. Thinking to let them to do the renovation, if there is any good or bad comment on them, please reply.Thanks in advance. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lazyman 0 Report post Posted January 23, 2013 Hi Chan,i was looking at the original floor plan and the design done by you, i wish to know if the toilet bowl can be shifted as in your plan? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jus4fun 4 Report post Posted January 23, 2013 After discussion with few ID/Contractor, found that the quotation given by Defong is the most reasonable. Thinking to let them to do the renovation, if there is any good or bad comment on them, please reply.Thanks in advance.Hi, congrats on ur purchase! there was a blog earlier last yr by Akitsuki titled "Serangoon North Renovation by Defong Interior Designer" that documented a very comprehensive reno journey with Defong. had some good reviews. can check it out.IMHO, shd keep the storeroom, esp it's not in the way of your living hall & kitchen (unlike in my case even that i kept it). trust me, it'll b very very useful. if u intend to remove the wall between living hall & kitchen, it'll already create a more spacious feel of the whole place without having to do much other hacking & build-up again (all these cost).By the way, u bou the access area too? this already adds on to your living space Looking forward to follow ur reno journey and pics!Enjoy! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
chan121 0 Report post Posted January 23, 2013 (edited) Hi Chan,i was looking at the original floor plan and the design done by you, i wish to know if the toilet bowl can be shifted as in your plan?Hi Lazyman,Sorry, I'm not sure about the shift of the toilet bowl too,i think i not going to shift it anymore coz the space is too small and not able to put in shower glassdoor. But if u looking for the original floor plan, u can purchase on the hdb website at $5. Edited January 23, 2013 by chan121 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites