bleucheeze

When Industrial Meets Mid Century Mod

Best to have how many days between handover from contractor and move house date? Anyone knows?

Handover means already rectify all problems?

I don't know if I'm understanding your question right, but some people pick their moving house date based on the almanac. Don't think there's a "best to have" between handover and moving in.

And handover usually means you would have to make your last payment too, so rectification should already be done. Our rectifications are taking quite a while :P

I don't know if I'm understanding your question right, but some people pick their moving house date based on the almanac. Don't think there's a "best to have" between handover and moving in.

And handover usually means you would have to make your last payment too, so rectification should already be done. Our rectifications are taking quite a while :P

Oh.. cos I thinking it might take a few days to clean up after handover mah. Can't be like move-in immediately the day after handover :D

I was referring to a website for auspicious date to move house, but kinda gave up after discovering another website said the totally opposite stuff/different dates... ZzzZzz :dunno:

Edited by bleucheeze

Oh.. cos I thinking it might take a few days to clean up after handover mah. Can't be like move-in immediately the day after handover :D

I was referring to a website for auspicious date to move house, but kinda gave up after discovering another website said the totally opposite stuff/different dates... ZzzZzz :dunno:

Hahaha I guess that then depends on how long you need to clean it. The place never feels clean after many rounds of cleaning after renovation :P

The websites always contradict. If you want to pick an auspicious date, use the Chinese lunar calendar and that's enough I guess. Haha :)

For us, we will probably spend at least 1 full day to clean as much as we can and then shift in immediately at the next weekend. Actually my Mr E will be staying in first during the reno phase. No doubt it will be inconvenient but I trust him to be the QC for the whole works and also to build rapport with the tiler, electrician, carpenter etc.

Edited by Makanology

For us, we will probably spend at least 1 full day to clean as much as we can and then shift in immediately at the next weekend. Actually my Mr E will be staying in first during the reno phase. No doubt it will be inconvenient but I trust him to be the QC for the whole works and also to build a rapport with the tiler, electrician, carpenter etc.

Wa, stay in during reno phase? Wouldn't it be very dusty? :ph34r:

Yeah but most of the damage is restricted to the kitchen and bathrooms. The other hacking are the windows and cornices in the living room. No built-in wardrobe to hack also. So Mr E will stay in the common room first and the contractor will have to concentrate on 1 toilet.

Now we hope the living room and bedroom floor tiles need not be hacked so that we can just do laminate overlay.

Actually hor, y must put rug har? Cannot dun put meh? Hehehe

A rug helps pull all the furniture together and adds a different effect. My favorite article about rugs and how to use them here!

Actually hor, y must put rug har? Cannot dun put meh? Hehehe

I feel rug can help to add a pop of colour/pattern to the room, and like what summersann said, can pull everything together. Also, cos I have marble flooring and I don't like the coldness of it, and in future when I have cats, I think cats prefer rugs to cold hard floor too. Another reason (which I think is very blah) is cos I don't like the beige colour of my marble flooring, so wanna cover it up as much as possible :sport-smiley-004:

Hi guys, thanks for "voting" for your preferred choice of carpet.

Now, I need some help for my pendant light choices. What happens is I bought a PH5 replica which I wanted to use above my peacil leg teak dining table. PH5 pic taken from a fellow renotalker:

simpleplanforsimplespace_ph5overdining_zpsf42f47a4.jpg

But now, I think PH5 though is an understated beauty, I prefer sthg more vibrant in the relatively empty space. Thus, thought of shifting it to the kitchen, where there are more textures and layers of different stuff. For eg, wooden cabinet laminate, grey-cement screed like floor tiles, subway wall tiles etc.

I bought 3 of these red cage lights for the kitchen. Really adore them :wub: Am considering to move them to above dining table, or hang it in my walk in wardrobe area, where I plan to have cement-screed like wardrobe laminate, this red beauty can add on to the industrial feel.

redcage_zpsf49aa8e7.jpg

I have also shortlisted another possible lamp above dining table, which is this ikea light. Chose green colour cos i think it adds a bit of vintage feel to the dining space. I haven't seen it in real life and I'm hoping it's not as pastel as it seems on my mac screen.

foto-pendant-lamp__0151898_PE310071_S4_zps0326594e.jpg

Will love to hear your thoughts! Thanks in advance! :yeah:

Edited by bleucheeze

Hmm I may have missed out your dining table... What size and shape is it?

Both the red cage and ikea vintage green lights are gorgeous. I absolutely like your original plan of having cement screed-like laminate in your WIW with these red beauties. Maybe adding a really plush lush carpet will contrast well with the laminate+lamps, one in a strong color like black?

Hmm I may have missed out your dining table... What size and shape is it?

Both the red cage and ikea vintage green lights are gorgeous. I absolutely like your original plan of having cement screed-like laminate in your WIW with these red beauties. Maybe adding a really plush lush carpet will contrast well with the laminate+lamps, one in a strong color like black?

Glad that you also like the red cage lamp. I was like totally :dribble: when I saw the real thing. Hehe.

I haven't posted pix of the dining table. Mine is similar to this, custom made to 140cm.

diningtable7a_zps762834a0.jpg

And here's my matching dining bench:

mydiningbench_zpsf5053b52.jpg

Thinking of getting either two Eames chair to match with it, or one Eames chair plus one vintage chair with vibrant fabric upholstered. What do you think?

Edited by bleucheeze

Nice combi for your dining set! Maybe put the ikea green pendant lamp in the middle and find a pair of matching smaller pendant lamps to be placed on each side of the ikea lamp? This pair can be naked Edison light bulbs (incandescent) and exposed wires which will make it more industrial? Then the ikea lamp will be the highlight, provided that this alone is bright enough? So you only turn on the 2 other bulbs when you have guests.

Edited by Makanology

Nice combi for your dining set! Maybe put the ikea green pendant lamp in the middle and find a pair of matching smaller pendant lamps to be placed on each side of the ikea lamp? This pair can be naked Edison light bulbs (incandescent) and exposed wires which will make it more industrial? Then the ikea lamp will be the highlight, provided that this alone is bright enough? So you only turn on the 2 other bulbs when you have guests.

WA, you are so creative! Why haven't I thought of that. Hmm, but I not into naked light bulbs... mine is actually not totally industrial but more towards vintage timeless style. You gave me an idea, perhaps can try the small wavy lamp shades summersann used in her kitchen? I know they come in white, green and a few other colours.

photo_zps271f9e4d.jpg

Or perhaps simple metal cage lights with bulbs inside, something like this?

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z0k.1000775.1.166.azbbo9&id=19430576233

Suddenly remember I saw this green industrial looking lamp shade, seems like a nice alternative to Ikea's? The real thing looks nicer than in the pix in tb. Lol...

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r.1.10.45.Hu150v&id=14908521023&_u=dmenna6ab2c

Edited by bleucheeze