ehspro 0 Report post Posted September 20, 2012 The Wait"What?! Completion in 5.5 months time?" I looked at the acceptance OTP. Anyway we also $$ not enough..so wait for CPF to accumulate loh...LL.. The first few months was exciting as we bought every copy of Housing Lifestyle Design magazines we can get our hands on.... We went to take pictures at the Sellers place one weekend..."Never bring your ID today har?" Exclaimed the female seller. "Simi si ID? Bring NRIC for what??!" My wife slapped me and explained that ID stands for Interior Designer..."so Shua Ku!!" (old fashion or out of touch) We told ourselves we will not spend much on renovation as the condition of the house is excellent and like some forumers here mentioned "MOVE IN CONDITION"....ha we noded in agreement $30K should suffice... HOW WRONG WE WERE!!!... :bangwall: ------> To be continued Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Minerat 1 Report post Posted September 20, 2012 Interesting story...please continue. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Suyun 0 Report post Posted September 21, 2012 Ha Ha, we want to know more,,,,, Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Sunbird73 0 Report post Posted September 21, 2012 Wahhh eshpro,You do have a flair in writing and I like the local flavour you add to it.Higly entertaining... but the suspense is killing me Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
matrix0405 0 Report post Posted September 21, 2012 No need to reno. Just 1 coat of paint + '1' pail of water to clean up can move in liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ehspro 0 Report post Posted September 21, 2012 No need to reno. Just 1 coat of paint + '1' pail of water to clean up can move in liao. :huh: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shmj 0 Report post Posted September 21, 2012 wah.... dying to read your story! Please do continue.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ehspro 0 Report post Posted September 21, 2012 (edited) ID vs ContractorSome say ID will cost a bomb... Some say contractors may cost more than IDs "To get ID or not to get, that is a question?!!" If shakesphere is alived today and became a PR or Citizen of Singapore, he must be banging his head against the wall liao This was our dilemma. Thanks to "RENOTALK", it made our life even more complicated... Alas you only live once in this life "Let's go for the ID!!" I exclaimed .....You see, when I did up my 5 Room HDB 10 years ago, I vowed not not have built in cabinets and made all our designs and colourings ourselves....what a disaster it had become. The fact that I got F9 for my arts and craft back in secondary skool din help further.... 2 weeks before the completion date, we realized we had better start our homework....with the "RENO FEELING" gone 50%...we gotto regain that feeling again....alas...back to "RENOTALK" again..."Aiya this Lemon and pineapple from XXX ID very good I like" remarked one blogger"I gotton 20 quotes and still cannot decide lei" complained another"I know what I want! I don't need ID or watever" one booasted confidently"Please don't use Cha Kway Teow Ah Hue ID" warned one"This one I got feeling can click" advised by a chong hei blogger"I paid for a quote but the ID "SUCCESSFULLY" ate my money" exclaimed oneLaksa (not her real name for confidentiality reasons), ID cum contractor was introduced to us by my brother. Hmmmm...Laksa got hum or hiam bo...like an inspector from the ISD (internal Security Department)...I put my fingers to work on the google search panel...."L.A.K.S.A" I typed... "What the??!!" ------> To be continued Edited September 21, 2012 by ehspro Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ehspro 0 Report post Posted September 21, 2012 wah.... dying to read your story! Please do continue.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Suyun 0 Report post Posted September 21, 2012 You are a very good story writer. Make us asking for more!!!! Like reading the on-line book, waiting for the author to upload the lastest chapter.Really enjoy teasing us, ah ???? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ehspro 0 Report post Posted September 21, 2012 (edited) You are a very good story writer. Make us asking for more!!!! Like reading the on-line book, waiting for the author to upload the lastest chapter.Really enjoy teasing us, ah ???? Haha...now you have just released the pungent smell from the durian... U have been warned... Edited September 21, 2012 by ehspro Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ehspro 0 Report post Posted September 22, 2012 (edited) The ONELaksa has a bubbly character . At a glance there was a stark contrast between what bloggers wrote about her vs first impressions of her . She was frank and open on her style of working and was clearly enthuaistic about her profession. She was a Reno Ninja in disguise Being someone who is kiasu (and being a rookie as well) and upon reviewing the sifus (experts) in "RENOTALK", the following is a checklist of stuff to prepare before you see your potential ID:1. Your floor planNo, no just the floor plan that I have shown in the beginning of the blog you will need one with dimensions. Either your "competent" property agent can assist you or you will have to go down personally to BCA (Building Control Authority) to view the film and pay some $$ to print out for you. I was lucky, Agent 007 did everything for me ....sibei heng argh... A BCA layout plan (Top View) looks like this2. Your Interior StyleThis is where all the magazines, showrooms and friends' houses' designs come into the picture. You gotton ask yourself and your internal stakeholders (wife, mother-in-law, kids, girlfriend, mistresses what style they like). "Wah ni nia eh, country style belly siong one you know..." remarked Laska in her typical ah lian voice in a mix of English and Mandarin...We paused "That is an easy one for us" I whispered in my mind with a grin. Not done yet hor...Ran out of space----> to be continued... Edited September 22, 2012 by ehspro Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
shmj 0 Report post Posted September 22, 2012 Chek ah leh! Story write 1/2 way only... must finish & let us song song finish reading at 1 go mah! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ehspro 0 Report post Posted September 22, 2012 3. Your BudgetAs the saying goes "No money no talk" ....if you are looking for fancy tiles or other flooring like parquet or fancy designs like feature walls or other carpentry, prepare to folk out lots of dough for it. According to the contractors and IDs we have talked to and reinforced by the sifus in Renotalk ...carpentry is the best component of your quotation to negotiate downwards...As demonstrated by many forumers here, we tend to get our budget busted time after time.. :jawdrop: "Can we built an extension har?""How much to hack this wall?""I would like to have a feature wall with modern settings""Why is hacking the toilet so expensive?"Please don't forget you need need $$ for the hidden items sometimes contractors or IDs don't talk you about your renovation quotation a) Aircon ducting/piping replacement with hacking and plasteringb) Electrical Worksc) Install this and that lahd) Vector control lah (termite, ants, kakua infestations etc)e) Repairing leaking roofs Maybe the sifus can add more from their experiences... Among the IDs we looked that, Laksa seemed to someone we can work with and with her track record of being a responsible and strict renovation professional, especially dealing with workers...we decided that she is THE ONE!! (Although she is not the most economical) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Minerat 1 Report post Posted September 22, 2012 Laksa sounds like she's hot! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites