Kerlyn 0 Report post Posted September 17, 2012 Hi, has been reading renotalk for quite a while, 2 months plus and now it's time for me to contribute. It might be long and naggy(my english aren't that good)Well... hubby & I decide to try on SEP'11 Balance of Sales after he got his PR. Felt like kana jackpot when I received the email stating we got a slot to choose for Casa Clementi. At that time, my parents gave their dismay, thinking that 450k for a HDB flat is too much(theirs's merely 65K). But we bo chap, since we wanted to settle down. Another surprise came, I was pregnant with my princess. We are full of joy, next was our wedding on 20Nov2011. I couldn't believed that I was so lucky! But lucky things don't last long. I was asked to left my job. So bo bian, have to rest at home.Anyway, enough of my crap...Was informed by HDB that my key is ready for collection in May. But due to the some reason, we have to postpone the key collection till end Aug and finally we offically collected our keys on 7 Sep 2012, 11.10am.Well, we didn't do much research on our house like some others do. Hubby like to go straight to details.So, hubby was the one doing begining research on our ID. In all, we only got 3 quotes from 3 different ID. One was 1 of the leaflet at my flat, the others was my friend's friend and finally the third was my hubby's colleauge intended's ID(Miss A). Hubby's colleauge was planning to do her reno too, so recommanded us . So in the end, we decided to go with Mr L(a ID in Jurong East, not IMM). Able to communicate and the price matters most(we r running of low budget). The contract came within 1 week and after 2 - 3 wks discussion, we sign with Mr L, Miss A sign with him too.So enough of blah-ing... I'm starting my reno offically TML! Hubby will be there, but not me I will update more as the days passes by.Btw, tonight TOTO quite big winning, let's HUAT ah! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
and888 1 Report post Posted September 17, 2012 (edited) Hi, has been reading renotalk for quite a while, 2 months plus and now it's time for me to contribute. It might be long and naggy(my english aren't that good)Well... hubby & I decide to try on SEP'11 Balance of Sales after he got his PR. Felt like kana jackpot when I received the email stating we got a slot to choose for Casa Clementi. At that time, my parents gave their dismay, thinking that 450k for a HDB flat is too much(theirs's merely 65K). But we bo chap, since we wanted to settle down. Another surprise came, I was pregnant with my princess. We are full of joy, next was our wedding on 20Nov2011. I couldn't believed that I was so lucky! But lucky things don't last long. I was asked to left my job. So bo bian, have to rest at home.Anyway, enough of my crap...Was informed by HDB that my key is ready for collection in May. But due to the some reason, we have to postpone the key collection till end Aug and finally we offically collected our keys on 7 Sep 2012, 11.10am.Well, we didn't do much research on our house like some others do. Hubby like to go straight to details.So, hubby was the one doing begining research on our ID. In all, we only got 3 quotes from 3 different ID. One was 1 of the leaflet at my flat, the others was my friend's friend and finally the third was my hubby's colleauge intended's ID(Miss A). Hubby's colleauge was planning to do her reno too, so recommanded us . So in the end, we decided to go with Mr L(a ID in Jurong East, not IMM). Able to communicate and the price matters most(we r running of low budget). The contract came within 1 week and after 2 - 3 wks discussion, we sign with Mr L, Miss A sign with him too.So enough of blah-ing... I'm starting my reno offically TML! Hubby will be there, but not me I will update more as the days passes by.Btw, tonight TOTO quite big winning, let's HUAT ah!Welcome to Tblog. Huat ah. Edited September 17, 2012 by and888 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
casa 0 Report post Posted September 17, 2012 Welcome to Clementi Ave1hope to c your reno pics soon. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kerlyn 0 Report post Posted September 18, 2012 and888, I didn't managed to huat, I guess not even a single no turn out Anyway, today is the start of my renovation. Hubby is with Mr L at Casa since morning. Mr L even give hubby a call last night(10.30pm) to remind him on the site visit today. But till now, no news from him. So, I have to wait....... cuz my boss dun let me take leave Unlike most house that goes for simple color, mine is quite daring. 70% of my house was painted purple, living room is using bright orange and yellow as theme. Mr L even mention that my living room 3D's drawing is his most daring piece of work. Hubby would like to have a bright living room and I prefer a dim master bedroom. 2 common room has only painting work, 1 reason is that princess will be sleeping in with us till she's slightly older. Carpentry work for kitchen is using red and black lamination. So my house is rather "colourful", no special theme. So I shall hope there's no hit up in my reno Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
and888 1 Report post Posted September 19, 2012 (edited) and888, I didn't managed to huat, I guess not even a single no turn out Anyway, today is the start of my renovation. Hubby is with Mr L at Casa since morning. Mr L even give hubby a call last night(10.30pm) to remind him on the site visit today. But till now, no news from him. So, I have to wait....... cuz my boss dun let me take leave Unlike most house that goes for simple color, mine is quite daring. 70% of my house was painted purple, living room is using bright orange and yellow as theme. Mr L even mention that my living room 3D's drawing is his most daring piece of work. Hubby would like to have a bright living room and I prefer a dim master bedroom. 2 common room has only painting work, 1 reason is that princess will be sleeping in with us till she's slightly older. Carpentry work for kitchen is using red and black lamination. So my house is rather "colourful", no special theme. So I shall hope there's no hit up in my reno Awaiting ur 3D designs. Edited September 19, 2012 by and888 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kerlyn 0 Report post Posted September 19, 2012 and888, I will try to upload my 3D drawings after I figure out how to upload it.Hubby drove me up from my work place to Casa to take a look at the renovation. At last, my house isn't that empty.Suddenly have this crazy idea in my mind today. I want to lay my first tile for my house, or at least the mbr. Msg Mr L and he comment that my tiles are too heavy for me to carry. I feel that my idea is somewhat stupid, but stupid ppl have stupid ikeas Despite paying such a heavenly price on the flat(thought it might be somehow good in design), there is something really bothering me. My bed windows are so high. I have no idea what I am suppose to do with it? Can anyone living in Casa tell me what you are have create/do to that bed window. Dun think that hacking can be done. There is something I dun like too, the common toilet. A bit not three not four. But as I mention to Mr L during the house inspection, he actually told me that all the partition and doors cost around $700 and ask me whether I wan to throw away that $700. Hubby gave a NO answer to him, but... I really dun like the design at all. The next thing I told him is I wan install a door at the common toilet, facing the common room. But Mr L say it's not practical. So hubby agreed on him. Hubby aso say he doesn't want to spend on those unnesscary things. The fact that we trust on Mr L so much is that he will reason/tell us what is "need" and what is "want". Most of the time we want this, but it's not something that it will kill us if we dun have it. But I have not seem Mr L's work before. Hope it turn out too.Also, anyone who has a good curtain-marker can intro to us? I saw on renotalk about Mr Chew, but not sure if the pricing is okay. Do let me know if you have any good marker to recommand! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kerlyn 0 Report post Posted September 20, 2012 URL=http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/853/420120211floorplan.jpg/]my pathetic floor plan... my home is small Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kerlyn 0 Report post Posted September 20, 2012 Uploaded with ImageShack.usMy bright living room Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kerlyn 0 Report post Posted September 20, 2012 Uploaded with ImageShack.usMy purple room Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kerlyn 0 Report post Posted September 20, 2012 Uploaded with ImageShack.usKitchen Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kerlyn 0 Report post Posted September 20, 2012 Finally figure out how to upload the pic. My floor plan **** small right. I was shock when I see my house, at least 20% smaller than my parent's house.Nvm, bear with it. Smaller mean nothing much to clean.As for my 3D drawing, I'm quite a flicked minded "aunty". Except for the kitchen, the rest are all revised copy. Living room feature cabinet changed 3 to 4 times. Lucky Mr L is quite nice, nv complain at all. The reason why I wan such a big storage area is bcuz the house is freaking small, I'm used to those big rooms where I dump my things. However, this cabinet are solely for princess and her future sibling. Their toys are intended to store in there, no usage for my storeroom, scare she trap inside and nobody knows. How I wish my master room is bigger, so that I can have a WIW as many forumer have. But I have to bear with it. This mean that I should stop buying clothes(isn't it a torture to me?). But for the sake of princess, I have to endure. I guess woman do change once they have kid. B4 the arrival of princess, I'm a selfish lady who care only myself. Now, everything aso must think of princess. My hubby and I even had a home rule, "Tiffany first", which mean everything must thought of princess. went to franc franc at jcube yday. Some items are having 60% discount. Bought 1 water jug & 2 red mugs. Total spent was $15.60. I like the mug v.much, but not sure if hubby like it, so bought 2. If he dun like, I wun feel much heart pain, cuz not much damage. But hubby comment that he dun like to drink with mug. Mugs are meant for coffee and tea. The next thing I thought, doesn't MIC like to drink tea? He's a weird MIC. haha...Hubby went down to have a site review yday, but was locked outside, due to the titling work in the living room. Hubby mention that they seem to be working hard on our project, much job been carry out. So hopefully can finish on the expected week. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
El LoCo 3 Report post Posted September 20, 2012 hey its not a stupid idea to lay the 1st tile....its innovative...u r laying the foundation of yr beloved hm... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kerlyn 0 Report post Posted September 21, 2012 Thanks EL LoCo for praising the idea. But decide to give up due to hubby not responding.Today is the 4th day of reno, no updates from Mr L except the schedule of work. Hopefully no crop-up. Think will be visiting tonight or tml. If going tml, have to bring princess.Yday night was spent surfing the net for my clocks. Bought 5 clocks in total. Like what some forumer do, go buy at taobao, cheaper. 1 of the clock I bought from taobao is only 30RMB, when I saw in sg is SGD30, quite a huge difference. I have previously show hubby this clock, but he argue that too expensive, so therefore dun wan to buy. This time round, he support my idea, buy 3 in 1 go. In total, I spend $52 including sea transporation. I dun mind the waiting, since my house is not ready yet. Today morning, saw in some website and bought the bio-cutting board, a set of 4 is $16 - $18 Havent told hubby yet, but dun think he will nag too much. Kitchen is nv ren de tian xia, unless hubby wan to cook. If not, everything leave it to me.I still have loads of things not purchased yet. Given my "gan-cheong" attiude, most of the things should be ready b4 the hand over date. Ohya, Mr L give me my hand-over date on 20 Oct. 1 month down the road. Should be moving in by end of Oct(only if everything is okay). 80% of my big furniture will be in on 3 Nov, but scare that the company will not delivery it on time. The reviews they had in forum is not that good, but still give them a try, hope they will be better off this time, or least for my house. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kerlyn 0 Report post Posted September 24, 2012 Thanks diva79, I always thought nobody could accept my 3D ideas. Weekend was burnt this week. **** tired to go back to work. Sat meet 3 curtain maker. But we still couldn't decide who to enagage. 1 main reason is that the ugly bed window and the L-shaped window for 2 rooms. Has been struggling the thoughts of getting rollar blind (easier to maintain) for bed rooms and curtains for living room. So currently not sure what we want for bedrooms.Sun is a **** sway day. Went to collect our lightings for the electrian to start work on Wednesday. However, my poor car broke down in Rocher Road again, its our 2nd time that the car broke down in Rocher Road, but luckily this time priness not on the car. So as SG is having F1 and Rocher Road is near there, EMAS quickly sent their response team down. Then my dad came along with his van and we went a few place to collect our lights.6001 Beach RoadThe only lighting shop at there. I must say their chandeliers are quite reasonably cheap. Total damage is around $400 plus for 3 lightings. Their down point is that not much design, but lucky for us, the design we want are all showcase. But there's something I'm not sure, I do not know whether they sent me their display set. Cause the lights are not pack in their orginal box and all my 3 lights has since being taken off from the display. But uncle(around my dad's age) claim that the display set is sold off. But hubby say, as long as they give us the new lights and the set still look new, it's okay.3 Kaki Bukit RoadThis warehouse has been doing quite a fair bit of advertisment in the strait times. The salesman(Desmond) is **** pushy, however their things is quite cheap(to me). We initally wanted to get a quote, but in the end take up the package. Being a Singaporean, I thought I will be getting Philip or OSRAM light. But my T5 is some brand that I never see b4. Spent around 1 to 2hours over there, despite having to inform them I will come today. Desmond even asked me why I do not want my items to be deliver, causing him so busy. A bit pissed off with him, but lazy to argue with him. He's the type of saleman that is **** pushy, didn't bother to write down the quote until hubby told him that we r sincere. As they have loads of room to showcase different products, he's very rush. We are 1/2 way looking at the lights and he quickly tell us to get this, get that. I'm a very flicked minded person, so I need to think hard hard b4 I finally decide. Then at the stage where we are discussing the price, hubby told him that we will need to think about it. Desmond seem not happy, but we still buy the lights(lazy to search for more)We bought from him the following- 4 T5 lights- 2 LED downlights- 5 round lights- 1 3-tube rectangular lights for kitchen- 2 2-tube rectangular lights for bed room- 1 2-tube sqare light for mbr- 1 ceiling fan with lights- 2 water heaterTotal damage : $1.5kWe also bought from the bathroom section- 1 small undermount sink- 1 tapTotal damage: $400My comment is that, if you find a salesman too pushy, just walk off. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Kerlyn 0 Report post Posted September 25, 2012 Today mark the 7th day of renovation. We are a bit ahead of the intended process. Mr L supppose to hand over the flat to us by 20 Oct, but now look like he can hand over to us on 13 Oct. Yday finally sign my curtain contract. Got this contact from Miss A. Suppose to meet May(the curtain contractor) on Sun, but due to unforseen circumstance, I was unable to meet her. For those interested, she got a "make up" showroom at Blk 271B. As it was a contact from Miss A(hubby trust his colleauge), hubby was quite a good listener despite May was late for nearly 1 hour. By the time she arrive, it was quite dark in my house. I was on the phone with Mr L when May came, so both hubby and her was discussing about the house. Finally, he decide to do curtain for all bed rooms and a roller bind for my ugly air con window. Hubby aso guai guai accept the ideas that we need to build a laminate board on our bed window. Total damage was $1250 for 4 set of day and night curtain & 1 set of rollar bind.We also bought a non fire-safe from home fixed at IMM. It was quite a steal, as it is a big safe. I order the safe on Sat but was told that I do not need to pay the safe as the stock has not arrive. But received a call from them saying in order to lock the deal, I must pay first. A bit pissed off as I need to make an additional trip down to secure this deal that I wanted to pay on last Sat. Tml will be a meeting session with Mr L, hopefully nothing goes wrong. I wanted to be there, but cannot take leave Share this post Link to post Share on other sites