Lina Lee

2Nd Nest @ Punggol With Rushed Reno!

HEHEHE... after looming RT for ermmm 1+yr, it's finally my turn to start my T-blog!!!!! Before MOP reached, our plan was to get an EM at hougang/Ser north area... Prices in Apr 12 which we were looking at was at 550-600+k... But nv expected the prices of these EMs to have gone up by quite alot... I tink the property market is just so MAD!!! Was hesitating on selling our flat first but HDB decided to have HIP at my current 3rm flat (3yrs ago did lift upgrade which i tolerated for so many yrs... nw they suddenly wanna upgrade our internal.. ZzzZZZz)...

OK... sorry to be so long winded... Haa... Juz feeling that sometimes these upgradings are so IRRITATING n so inconvenient... If the upgrades for lift and internal done tog... i tink it's ok but cos they do it seperate, i cant help feeling the irritating-ness...

after all e ding dongs, we went for a few viewings n decided to get a 5rm in Punggol... PRices are acceptable and it's high floor... Owner able to hand over keys slightly earlier so we settled for this unit... It's gonna be a mad rush reno which we're not sure if we can be able to shift in before CNY aka my due date ;P so tot of coming in to ask for advices and all...

THe attached is the floor plan... almost wanted to give up this unit cos the kitchen is very very small and there's a common with with odd shape... but well... i gain some n lose some... so juz hope everything can be smooth bah~~ sorry if i bore u with all my grumblings HAHAHA... but will be back again to upload some of my ideas for the reno.......... :yamseng:

IMG_5583.png

Congrats! Finally you getting your new flat.

Actually the kitchen not that small. Should be enough to do a decent size kitchen.

Hahaha.. Ya.. Close one eye it's decent.. But I tink cos I viewed another 2-3 5rm ones their kitchen is abt 1.5m

Longer n can be hacked to be open concept so somewhat feeling a lil not satisfied with it.. Bwahahahahha.. But e living rm for this place is much bigger than those I've seen.. My fren nagged me n said get so big kitchen for wat.. Cleaning more mafan.. We usually spend more time in living rm so no nid to be Sian abt small kitchen.. Which I tink true oso la.. (console myself ;P ) so nw can only hope Reno can go smoothly le..

Will most probably be getting keys in Dec.. I'm giving birth most prob early Feb or during cny!!! Oso dunno we can shift in bef that anot ;(

My understanding is dec to feb very hectic one.. Haizz.. Stress....................

Yes very hectic during that few weeks before cny do you got to prepare everything before that. Time to look for contractors/ID and tell them your tight deadline.

Congrats on purchasing your 2nd home! Me in sama sama situation as you - due in Nov, reno can only start after Deepavali. Congrats to your coming bundle of joy too! But I have finally selected my ID and hopefully I can do all the tiles and laminates selection, lightings and fixtures shopping before I go deliver. And reno will commence during my confinement (sign, I can't monitor the process thus a reliable ID is of utmost importance to me!). Hope I have found the right ID.

Yes very hectic during that few weeks before cny do you got to prepare everything before that. Time to look for contractors/ID and tell them your tight deadline.

Ya.. Preggy run ard is scary.. Lol I actually only shortlisted 2.. One is Andrew n another is S*****.. Lol.. Haf to see if they can advise mi if can take up my proj n finish on time anot le.. This wkend gg HK so most prob nxt wk will call n chk le..

Congrats on purchasing your 2nd home! Me in sama sama situation as you - due in Nov, reno can only start after Deepavali. Congrats to your coming bundle of joy too! But I have finally selected my ID and hopefully I can do all the tiles and laminates selection, lightings and fixtures shopping before I go deliver. And reno will commence during my confinement (sign, I can't monitor the process thus a reliable ID is of utmost importance to me!). Hope I have found the right ID.

Congrats to ya too!!! Haa.. It's not ez to be pregnant n shifting new hse.. I'm oso scared abt monitoring part that's y only shortlisted 2 highly raved ones.. See who can take up e proj n help me out.. Feel so helpless sometimes hor.. Cos I'll be staying at a fren hse during e Reno.. Hope confinement can be done at own home.. Supposed to stay at my uncle place but he consulted his master then I tink some folks told us cos I giving birth n MAY do confinement at his place, may not be convenient which I can understand.. Haa.. So find our not superstitious fren to help le ;P

Oh deepavali is in Nov.. Ur place is resale or new flat? Mine is resale so gonna hack everything.. May take sometime oso.. Let's cross fingers our Reno can be complete early n smooth! Haa.. N bb can haf a cosy cosy nice home! Haa

Tough for you to shift here shift there. Mine is resale, hack everything change everything since existing condition is quite worn - 2 months minimum.

Mine oso hacking all.. Haizz.. That's y need magic to happen!!! actually I juz hope at least bef baby's full mth can shift in n cel there.. LOL.. Hope early or mid dec can collect keys.. Haa..

Haa... finally the lazy me contacted e ID which i've always had in mind... shortlisted him since ayr+ ago when i was looming ard everyone's Tblog... got a quote from him yest and had a look at it... I tink e overall quote seems ok but i nv know my whole hse's tiles to be relayed will cost me abt 10+k :bangwall: haven met him yet but gonna make an arrangement to meet up soon bah... but e conversation with him over e phone, makes me feel tt he's very experienced and he knows abt my urgency to finish e reno and gave me some advices alr...

Okok... maybe i'll share what r the reno ideas i had in mind and these are wat i sent him..

LIVING RM

Pebble wash entrance from main door (optional - based on quote, it's gonna cost me abt $900... may opt out or use some other tiles i found at hafary tt time)

project059-4_big.jpg

False ceiling (shd be doing only at the tv console area - not intending to do feature wall + customised console so in e quote i tink can deduct another 3-4k)

livingrmfalseceiling.jpg

Theme in living rm (simple base plus color decos n lights? LOL)

homes_chroma_img1_0.jpg

Edited by jo'en

KITCHEN

- Yellow, silver, white... Actually i'm keen to do stainless steel tabletop for the kitchen and the tabletop for e living room's 'island' or table... I guess it's definitely cheaper than cesarstone rite ROFL...

Wet kitchen (L shape or U shaped) quote is based on L shape i tink... 1 side stove, sink and food prep area... the other side will be the fridge, stacked up dryer and washer plus full height cabinets for storage...

Kitchen-yellowsilverwhitetheme.jpg

The nice nice stainless steel tabletop that me n hub love

IMG_3857.jpg

Dry kitchen will be in dining area... intend to do a full height cabinet with inbuilt oven and microwave plus a dining table/island 'connected/non connected' to it... forgot to tell ID that my cabinet i wanna extend and make 2-3 more panels of full height ones for storage...

IMG_5635.jpg

BATHROOM

For common bathroom, we'll juz do basic without glass divider oso cos seldom will use it anyway...

IMG_3510.jpg

For the MBR bathroom, we intend to hack e walls n install a bathtub (standalone ones or built in one) will decide whether to do a full glass panel or 3/4 panel at the bathtub area... As for vanity top, not gonna do e big n atas ones cos my toilet is pretty small at e side so can only do a small one... found a few tt i loved n sent to ID... Also had tot of bringing the vanity area out of the bathroom to place beside e WIW but i tink it's gonna cost us quite abit oso so i tink simple vanity area will do la...

IMG_4134.jpg

IMG_4136.jpg

IMG_5649.jpg

MBRtoilet-3quarterpanelglasswithledge.jpg

WALK IN WARDROBE

WIW still tinking to place at the MBR or bedroom 3... but i tink hub prefer WIW connected to bathroom... We're doing a U shaped one... then might customise a mini dressing table beside the window (in between window n WIW)... might do with or w/o door... sliding glass door quoted wasn't cheap... might not spend tt kinda money and may not put tt cos it's reflective to our sleeping area...

IMG_4824.jpg

IMG_3852.jpg

Based on e quote given by e ID, I realised no mentioning of electrical works like power points... Izit a norm e quote nv indicate?

I nv know there's so many things that need to be done for e Reno until I see e quote -.-" I wonder if I can get any of e item price to be lowered or foc items

Edited by jo'en