Nivle

Dream Home-5 Bedrooms Ea At Kk(Tpe)

Nivle, the raising blocks acts like a bathtub? can fill water and swim inside too?

I am stil thinking of should i or not as if don use it often, seem waste but when want it then don have.

If small baby can swim lah... I doing it for mbr only.. So maybe use only on weekends. Normal day I just step in n bath n kids will use common bathroom. bathtub I scared slippery also, so construct one using 'not so smooth' type of tiles to prevent the slipperiness ...

Yesterday Id called and said termites seen in 2 bedrooms...so today town council sending ppl to check n see wat can be done...those wanna see can pm me for the video..anyway not a 1 time treatment I believe

Town council will help on this too? as its in our house, do you have to pay them for the treatment

I suppose TC has to locate the original source of the termite nest. If your place is infested, it might mean your neighbours, up/down and sides might also be affected :jawdrop:

Updates slow down due to Termites issue-sianz 1/2.

Town council officer and 1 from pest control came.according to tco-it's out of goodwill cos its inside my premises,TC not in charge.

then pest controller start to see see look look n say heaviy infested, their limited equipment cannot help much... need more power company like aardwolf or origin to help:

summary-

limited free help not good enuff, need to pay extra..

So both professionals came n see..both suggested same same..

a)stop reno for 6-12 weeks, total exterminations..then continue reno

b)continue reno, then do treatment.

quite surprise these professionals are mostly female, one of them actually turn termite over to see if it is soldier or workers(realise that there are names for termites also)?

So after discussion and talking to Origin.from their experience, hdb usually will not continue treatment(contract) after a year.

So should be ok after 1 year of continuous treatment.

After convincing my wifey finally, we decide to proceed with reno.

5 bedrooms(no tiles yet till spraying is done on monday afternoon)

1 week After spraying, will check that everything is good.

then every 3 months, they will bring 'trained' dog to sniff(more accurate than equiment)for 1st year hopefully no need to recontract. :yamseng:

Updates slow down due to Termites issue-sianz 1/2.

Town council officer and 1 from pest control came.according to tco-it's out of goodwill cos its inside my premises,TC not in charge.

then pest controller start to see see look look n say heaviy infested, their limited equipment cannot help much... need more power company like aardwolf or origin to help:

summary-

limited free help not good enuff, need to pay extra..

So both professionals came n see..both suggested same same..

a)stop reno for 6-12 weeks, total exterminations..then continue reno

b)continue reno, then do treatment.

quite surprise these professionals are mostly female, one of them actually turn termite over to see if it is soldier or workers(realise that there are names for termites also)?

So after discussion and talking to Origin.from their experience, hdb usually will not continue treatment(contract) after a year.

So should be ok after 1 year of continuous treatment.

After convincing my wifey finally, we decide to proceed with reno.

5 bedrooms(no tiles yet till spraying is done on monday afternoon)

1 week After spraying, will check that everything is good.

then every 3 months, they will bring 'trained' dog to sniff(more accurate than equiment)for 1st year hopefully no need to recontract. :yamseng:

to read on termites, please check :dribble:

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=52185

Day 18

Mr Loh telling us how good is the 'toilet stuff'???not sure what he referring to...lol :dribble:

043zz.jpg

Door frame up for main door...

084of.jpg

Access area flooring done:

059vs.jpg

052im.jpg

Edited by Nivle

close up of our living room floor tile:

065rgi.jpg

MBR floor tile-yellowish :sport-smiley-018:

091uq.jpg

kids floor tiles:

081nt.jpg

079hp.jpg

Wife says the below dustbin brand rebun is very good, cockroaches cannot come in, etc etc..but after install, Andrew said this is actually the same one he wanted/quote(much cheaper)to install for us? :rolleyes::rolleyes: tiok pian liao :furious::furious:

067yl.jpg

Ahh .. learned something from you about treatment of termites. Thanky. Any idea how the termites landed up there?

Llching, same like u, I also wonder how come will have termites be there or how it start?

Does the previous owner know or how will we know if our HSE have termites.

Edited by MamaO

If there are termites, you will know. You can hear them eating away the wood (kitchen cabinet, wardrobe, platform etc) especially at night.

Termites usually comes from ground, but of high floor hdb have it means your neighbors also have this problem. Could be from ground floor slowly eating upwards or else brought in by furniture that have termites.

Ply wood won't bring in termites as ply wood have been treated with chemicals. So no eggs will be in the ply wood. Only untreated wood furniture might bring in termites which slowly grow and grow till everywhere also have termites, even inside the walls.

What you should do when do house viewing is check kitchen cabinets. If have termites, there will be lots of dirts like wood shaving in the cabinets. Termites work very fast. One day can eat a lot so no way the owner can clean everything.

Kitchen cabinets also shows whether it's infected with cockroaches. Mine have cockroaches nest at the cabinet near the rubbish chute. So I know and will never build cabinet to hide rubbish chute because you won't know when cockroaches started to build a nest

I am curious because:

1. My next door neighbour's 10 yrs old corian kitchen top collapsed at 1 corner because the wood structure below rotted. They kept the cabinet directly below permanently closed cos it smelt bad and they don't have the extra money to redo the kitchen. Wonder if their delay action will attract termites subsequently as the rotten wood is due to water seepage.

2. My friend's kitchen cabinet is 23 yrs old and she complained that everyday she has to wipe away small mounds of "black powder" on the table top as well as inside the cabinet. Wonder who the culprit is.

Ants also will create those black powders. Termites will usually be a lot of it, not just a little. And within months, whole cabinet will be destroyed. Get pest control to come check loh....

If there are termites, you will know. You can hear them eating away the wood (kitchen cabinet, wardrobe, platform etc) especially at night.

Termites usually comes from ground, but of high floor hdb have it means your neighbors also have this problem. Could be from ground floor slowly eating upwards or else brought in by furniture that have termites.

Ply wood won't bring in termites as ply wood have been treated with chemicals. So no eggs will be in the ply wood. Only untreated wood furniture might bring in termites which slowly grow and grow till everywhere also have termites, even inside the walls.

What you should do when do house viewing is check kitchen cabinets. If have termites, there will be lots of dirts like wood shaving in the cabinets. Termites work very fast. One day can eat a lot so no way the owner can clean everything.

Kitchen cabinets also shows whether it's infected with cockroaches. Mine have cockroaches nest at the cabinet near the rubbish chute. So I know and will never build cabinet to hide rubbish chute because you won't know when cockroaches started to build a nest

May, wow thanks for the information, its some knowledge for me.

Terminator came today. He did the spraying in 1 hour. next week got 1 more inspection. if ok, then will come back with dog

3 months later... if no good, then spray again.

will upload some pictures of dead termites soon..