hi all would like to seek your opinion:

my contractor has changed the windows in the toilets to the top hung type

74793_10151114611058078_1143001989_n.jpg

do you think it's necessary to install grilles for these windows? i'm staying on 3rd floor..the whole house is installed with grilles except for the toilets.

why would you need grilles there though? Perhaps sharing the reasons can help people give more feedback! :)

If there's a Spiderman wannabe,he can climb in through that window?

3rd floor can be quite accessible for cat burgers! How is your neighborhood? Maybe ask your neighbours to see if they have also installed grills? Having grills would look bit odd but better check around first?

I look up & down but all their windows are lourve.

Can you ask to change your windows to louvre? We originally meant for our windows to be casement, but our ID suggested we change it to louvre eventually for safety.

Hi retchlow,

Interesting, I am also on the third floor and would have to change my window to the top hung window due to my shower screen and ventilation fan installation.

I went down to my flat and nearby flats and looked at all the windows that are top hung, as far as I can see, there doesn't seem to be anyone putting grills, but I think the ultimate decision is based on you and your comfort level. Also previously with the other type of windows, you didn't have grills too right?

So my opinion is see how you feel, if you feel disturbed a lot, then put it so that you feel safe. =)

Haiz...don't know why the neighbors downstairs like to complain...kept complaining abt the pipes.. :(

Which pipes are they complaining about? The one in the bathroom? What to do, HDB builds 'functional' flats not aesthetically pleasing ones. But actually not as functional as what we hope...

Can you ask to change your windows to louvre? We originally meant for our windows to be casement, but our ID suggested we change it to louvre eventually for safety.

it was originally louvre. i asked to change it to top hung..LOL

Hi retchlow,

Interesting, I am also on the third floor and would have to change my window to the top hung window due to my shower screen and ventilation fan installation.

I went down to my flat and nearby flats and looked at all the windows that are top hung, as far as I can see, there doesn't seem to be anyone putting grills, but I think the ultimate decision is based on you and your comfort level. Also previously with the other type of windows, you didn't have grills too right?

So my opinion is see how you feel, if you feel disturbed a lot, then put it so that you feel safe. =)

yar..there was never any grilles in the toilets but that's because im used to staying at high floors (always 10 & above). hmmm..maybe i should leave it first.

Which pipes are they complaining about? The one in the bathroom? What to do, HDB builds 'functional' flats not aesthetically pleasing ones. But actually not as functional as what we hope...

i'm not sure. the first time it was bathroom pipes which caused a leakage & they went direct to HDB to complain :furious:

2nd time which is today, they said they kept hearing sounds from the pipes downstairs (something which my next door neighbour told me) & they will feedback to Town Council. :unsure:

i think need to PR abit liao..any suggestions? friend suggested buying fruits & to drop them a visit to say hi.. :unsure:

Cat burgers! This is so funny...i nbr think of that...

I am staying at 3rd floor too..having louvre wdws ...i dun think need grills but perhaps u may consider change back louvre to save the hassle in future for any other burgers like birds pigeons for low floors too...

Cat burgers! This is so funny...i nbr think of that...

I am staying at 3rd floor too..having louvre wdws ...i dun think need grills but perhaps u may consider change back louvre to save the hassle in future for any other burgers like birds pigeons for low floors too...

if change back to lourve my contractor will 8|

coz i kept changing stuff along the way :bleah:

contractor did a chemical wash today..which means to say..my flooring is uncovered! will take photos & update.

finally chosen colors for my doors. it will be a mixed combination of yellow, blue, white & black. :sport-smiley-004:

smeg fridge this sat... :sport-smiley-004: