junmover 0 Report post Posted June 25, 2012 i would say our expectations are realistic, no design, no frills. just our requirements. basically our discussion will always be, this row of cupboards to be where and the color of the laminates to be this. and even paint colors we leave it to our ID, our only requirement is we need to move in by end of this month so we did very minimal and only things we need. all these were confirmed and penned in agreement in april, but now all carpentry works will be delayed, so the situation will be we move in even when then carpenter are doing their works! mothers with young toddlers and doing housework will view this as a complete nightmare. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
junmover 0 Report post Posted June 25, 2012 not to mention all the little defects that have yet to be put right. with so many 'off days', i'll be lucky if the cleaning takes place at all before we move in. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marble 0 Report post Posted June 25, 2012 yes, that is our suspicions too, they are taking in more cases than they can swallow.electrician kept asking me why is it that the lights are not sent over for installation yet, another sign of poor coordination. and the poor electrician actually made 2 wasted trips to our unit. toilet accessories were sent on a day when 'no workers' were around, if not for the fact that my hubby happens to be up there, i wonder are they going to leave all the toilet bowls etc along the corridor??? my ID actually got the cheek to says if i were to check on the works every day, it is difficult for him to carry out his job. What logic is that? if he was reliable enough, i wont need to go to all these trouble with 2 young toddlers in tow and not to mention the waiting game. my meeting with him was always a long waiting game, the last which happened on saturday, we agreed to meet between 3pm - 4pm at my unit, we were there at 3pm. waited till 4.45pm, called and no answer. finally my hubby called him using his hp and he answered, so is he avoiding my calls or wat? best thing is, he says he's with his son at wild wild wet and forgotten abt the meeting!right now, i just want the handover to be over quickly and keeping my fingers crossed that there will not be defects. i want them out of my life.I check everyday to spot mistakes and changes. Looking at the process i also can change timings for stuff like deliveries or changing of gas pipe. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
EMRENO 0 Report post Posted June 25, 2012 Your masonary and wetwork done already? If yes, and like you say doing minimal is still lah. But what about your stuffs from old house? How do you moved them in if carperty are not done? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marble 0 Report post Posted June 25, 2012 Your masonary and wetwork done already? If yes, and like you say doing minimal is still lah. But what about your stuffs from old house? How do you moved them in if carperty are not done?my wet works still got a lot to go. I also talk to the workers, get them coffee, see if timing is okay for them. my first place i moved in before carpentry. installation quite fast, about half a day. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
junmover 0 Report post Posted June 25, 2012 yes, always check even if you think your ID is reliable. bound to have blind spots.masonary and wetworks all in drips and draps, box up not complete, toiletries and toilet bowls not up yet. they really do not see my urgency.my movers will move all stuff in this friday. and because of the carpentry not ready, i cant get agent to mount my TV. so ID says he can mount for me, but i really doubt getting a contractor to do rather than agent?in short, headache, big time! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
marble 0 Report post Posted June 25, 2012 yes, always check even if you think your ID is reliable. bound to have blind spots.masonary and wetworks all in drips and draps, box up not complete, toiletries and toilet bowls not up yet. they really do not see my urgency.my movers will move all stuff in this friday. and because of the carpentry not ready, i cant get agent to mount my TV. so ID says he can mount for me, but i really doubt getting a contractor to do rather than agent?in short, headache, big time!whats left for your wet works?? from what you say, the remaining works more or less by different people.wet works -- 1 groupboxup -- another grouptoilets and toiletries -- call the shop that sending recco you a installer. remove labour fee from your ID..TV -- depends on type of bracket, some need very straight some can rotate so can have some allowance. Agent cannot delay?? Carpentry alot? if not keep your stuff in a room that doesnt have carpentry first and live out of a box lor. xiong but now no choice liao Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
EMRENO 0 Report post Posted June 25, 2012 yes, always check even if you think your ID is reliable. bound to have blind spots.masonary and wetworks all in drips and draps, box up not complete, toiletries and toilet bowls not up yet. they really do not see my urgency.my movers will move all stuff in this friday. and because of the carpentry not ready, i cant get agent to mount my TV. so ID says he can mount for me, but i really doubt getting a contractor to do rather than agent?in short, headache, big time!You are in a bad situation, hope everything will turn out well. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
May_dream1 14 Report post Posted June 25, 2012 yes, always check even if you think your ID is reliable. bound to have blind spots.masonary and wetworks all in drips and draps, box up not complete, toiletries and toilet bowls not up yet. they really do not see my urgency.my movers will move all stuff in this friday. and because of the carpentry not ready, i cant get agent to mount my TV. so ID says he can mount for me, but i really doubt getting a contractor to do rather than agent?in short, headache, big time!sorry to hear about your problem. that was my worry too when i have very tight deadline to move in. just hope that at least the wetworks and masonry will finish by thursday so at least you can move in by friday. then carpentry would normally take a day or two to install if you do not have a lot of them. do you have a clause with your ID on compensation since they late in handling over? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cleong 1 Report post Posted June 25, 2012 I had similar problems to yours, and had to start chasing them a month into renovation commencement when I realized it was in danger of missing my customary wedding. In the end, it did overshoot by more than a month. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
junmover 0 Report post Posted June 25, 2012 but cleong, ive been following ur thread, nice house u've got! worth it after the frustrations lah. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mikeyong500 4 Report post Posted June 25, 2012 yes, that is our suspicions too, they are taking in more cases than they can swallow.electrician kept asking me why is it that the lights are not sent over for installation yet, another sign of poor coordination. and the poor electrician actually made 2 wasted trips to our unit. toilet accessories were sent on a day when 'no workers' were around, if not for the fact that my hubby happens to be up there, i wonder are they going to leave all the toilet bowls etc along the corridor??? my ID actually got the cheek to says if i were to check on the works every day, it is difficult for him to carry out his job. What logic is that? if he was reliable enough, i wont need to go to all these trouble with 2 young toddlers in tow and not to mention the waiting game. my meeting with him was always a long waiting game, the last which happened on saturday, we agreed to meet between 3pm - 4pm at my unit, we were there at 3pm. waited till 4.45pm, called and no answer. finally my hubby called him using his hp and he answered, so is he avoiding my calls or wat? best thing is, he says he's with his son at wild wild wet and forgotten abt the meeting!right now, i just want the handover to be over quickly and keeping my fingers crossed that there will not be defects. i want them out of my life.Hi Junmover,Welcome to Renotalk. And really thanks for sharing these with everyone.Man this guy is giving us interior designers a bad name and reputation sia... Hope everything gets better for you. If you have any queries please do post on the forum, so we can help at least by giving you some ideas on what to look out for:)All the best!Mike Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
potatoes 0 Report post Posted June 25, 2012 yes, always check even if you think your ID is reliable. bound to have blind spots.masonary and wetworks all in drips and draps, box up not complete, toiletries and toilet bowls not up yet. they really do not see my urgency.my movers will move all stuff in this friday. and because of the carpentry not ready, i cant get agent to mount my TV. so ID says he can mount for me, but i really doubt getting a contractor to do rather than agent?in short, headache, big time!Sorry to hear about your bad experience. Monitoring the reno progress and making sure everything is going the way u want is a tedious and challenging process. Some people leave it completely to ID / contractors. Moving in is another big challenge esp when u have a lot of barang barang..... So make sure u have a good mover and also already have installed plenty of storage space! Haha .... Relax and enjoy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
junmover 0 Report post Posted June 26, 2012 really worried, as of yesterday, this is the current state of my place and moving in this friday. Unless superman appear, otherwise Share this post Link to post Share on other sites