ck35

My New Mini Jumbo Flat

Hello there, thank you for your suggestion.

The kids are now 18 and 16 respectively and I think they'll prefer to stay in their own room for gaming, especially it's the first time they are going to have their own room :) But the suggestion is cool!

I am planning to hack down the wall and do an island from the kitchen and then use bedroom 2 as dining, with a wall of bookshelves. I love books. My kids love to read too :)

Hi ck35,

A dream home always start with the planning of space, function meet asthetic.

I've send you a private message. Hope to hear from you :)

Hi ck35,

Thanks Sarah. I've also sent you a reply.

Hi ck35,

Hahaz the 3 basis of interior designing. Space planning, functionality and aesthetic :thumbs up:

Anywayz ck35 i love your jumbo mambo~ woohoo great for design. So many ideas you can have.

Open your main door and you'll see a low height shoe cabinet with settee, then one the right your comfy sofa in front of the tv and feature wall, with shelves for decoration, maybe a rotatable TV console so that your family can watch while having dinner in the new dinning area. Book shelves around the dining area so you can grab a book while having breakfast, tea break or a small supper.

Over at the other side a see through kitchen divided by a half height wall, countertop and glass panel, with a little opening so food can be serve directly from kitchen :D

Two rows of bottom kitchen cabinets, and top shelves on the bedroom side. Your toilet is big so maybe can have 2 entrance, one from the kitchen the other from the dining area.

Hack away the small little area at the back of your Master, and a small cozy area near the windows can be found. I think a walk in wardrobe will be nice but area looks small so might be abit squeezy but can la queen size bed lo if you dun mind;)

As for your mom's bedroom, can be opposite yours, closer to the common toilet, or at bedroom 3, hack an entrance for master toilet sharing, even closer than the common toilet. The room itself can be of simple design using wood. :thumbs up:

Your kids' room can be design to their own liking. And if the store room is not required hack away to provide more space for a games area. hahaz

:yamseng: ,

Mike

Hahaz the 3 basis of interior designing. Space planning, functionality and aesthetic :thumbs up:

Anywayz ck35 i love your jumbo mambo~ woohoo great for design. So many ideas you can have.

Open your main door and you'll see a low height shoe cabinet with settee, then one the right your comfy sofa in front of the tv and feature wall, with shelves for decoration, maybe a rotatable TV console so that your family can watch while having dinner in the new dinning area. Book shelves around the dining area so you can grab a book while having breakfast, tea break or a small supper.

Over at the other side a see through kitchen divided by a half height wall, countertop and glass panel, with a little opening so food can be serve directly from kitchen :D

Two rows of bottom kitchen cabinets, and top shelves on the bedroom side. Your toilet is big so maybe can have 2 entrance, one from the kitchen the other from the dining area.

Hack away the small little area at the back of your Master, and a small cozy area near the windows can be found. I think a walk in wardrobe will be nice but area looks small so might be abit squeezy but can la queen size bed lo if you dun mind;)

As for your mom's bedroom, can be opposite yours, closer to the common toilet, or at bedroom 3, hack an entrance for master toilet sharing, even closer than the common toilet. The room itself can be of simple design using wood. :thumbs up:

Your kids' room can be design to their own liking. And if the store room is not required hack away to provide more space for a games area. hahaz

Mike

Mike

thanks for your suggestion.

The rotating tv is a good idea. Now we want to put the tv on the wall of the new bedroom and make part of the balcony the sofa area which means there will be sofa plus platform.

the reason was because if the tv is at the same wall as the main entrance, the sofa's space will take up walking space...

The kids will just chill in their own room haha coz i need the store room!! me and my mom always have tons of stuffs to put inside. unfortunately a walk in is not possible in my master bec i do not want to sacrifice the windows :(

the kitchen i'm thinking of doing dry and wet kitchen which means the one nearest to the balcony area will have full heights cabinet I don't know if it's feasible but still thinking :)

Getting keys in October so I still have time to play with the ideas.....actually the layout is not easy :(

Mike

thanks for your suggestion.

The rotating tv is a good idea. Now we want to put the tv on the wall of the new bedroom and make part of the balcony the sofa area which means there will be sofa plus platform.

the reason was because if the tv is at the same wall as the main entrance, the sofa's space will take up walking space...

The kids will just chill in their own room haha coz i need the store room!! me and my mom always have tons of stuffs to put inside. unfortunately a walk in is not possible in my master bec i do not want to sacrifice the windows :(

the kitchen i'm thinking of doing dry and wet kitchen which means the one nearest to the balcony area will have full heights cabinet I don't know if it's feasible but still thinking :)

Getting keys in October so I still have time to play with the ideas.....actually the layout is not easy :(

Hello~

No problemo. More suggestions the better ma since you are still planning and sourcing for more ideas~ :thumbs up:

Hmmm you were saying the tv area will be at the new wall... does that mean that it will eat into the balcony area? Gotta take note that the black walls cant be hacked=) Maybe can add a low height bookshelf behind the sofa right next to the black wall. Hide the back of the sofa~ :sport-smiley-004:

Walk in might be possible ;) ~ not at the window there (the WIW will block the natural daylight :o )~ instead, right next to your master bedroom entrance roughly about 6ft but got a few issues...

1. Space wont be enough for a king size bed. Queen size still alright.

2. Room will probably look abit squeezy (smaller walking space) :unsure:

As for the kitchen, dry and wet is common nowadays, with the wet kitchen further in. Full height cabinets are feasible too. More storage area, cheaper too cuz no countertop. hahaz :P

Oh ya another thing to take note. Actual situation on site might differ from the floorplan, especially piping lol cuz they are not shown~

Mike

Edited by mikeyong500

Hello~

No problemo. More suggestions the better ma since you are still planning and sourcing for more ideas~ :thumbs up:

Hmmm you were saying the tv area will be at the new wall... does that mean that it will eat into the balcony area? Gotta take note that the black walls cant be hacked=) Maybe can add a low height bookshelf behind the sofa right next to the black wall. Hide the back of the sofa~ :sport-smiley-004:

Walk in might be possible ;) ~ not at the window there (the WIW will block the natural daylight :o )~ instead, right next to your master bedroom entrance roughly about 6ft but got a few issues...

1. Space wont be enough for a king size bed. Queen size still alright.

2. Room will probably look abit squeezy (smaller walking space) :unsure:

As for the kitchen, dry and wet is common nowadays, with the wet kitchen further in. Full height cabinets are feasible too. More storage area, cheaper too cuz no countertop. hahaz :P

Oh ya another thing to take note. Actual situation on site might differ from the floorplan, especially piping lol cuz they are not shown~

Mike

Mike

The tv will not eat into the balcony. I know the black beams cannot be hacked :)

The tv will be at the wall of the new room. And then the sofa will be at the opposite side at the black beam..we are thinking of 'extending' the beam area and level up the balcony so it became an area of the sofa...

And yes, a console behind the sofa is a definite must. I need to have 'something' supporting the back of sofa...for some fengshui reason. I am not really into fenghsui but i would like to avoid stuffs that i know.

I'm fine with small walking space but apparently all designers/contractors i spoke to are not fine lol

so we shall see how it goes

ideally i don't even want to push back the kitchen wall. i'm trying to cut down as much costs as i can.

And you are so right!! full height kitchen cabinets with no countertop!! cheaper!! hahahaa but i think my island will cost :(

Chris

Mike

The tv will not eat into the balcony. I know the black beams cannot be hacked :)

The tv will be at the wall of the new room. And then the sofa will be at the opposite side at the black beam..we are thinking of 'extending' the beam area and level up the balcony so it became an area of the sofa...

And yes, a console behind the sofa is a definite must. I need to have 'something' supporting the back of sofa...for some fengshui reason. I am not really into fenghsui but i would like to avoid stuffs that i know.

I'm fine with small walking space but apparently all designers/contractors i spoke to are not fine lol

so we shall see how it goes

ideally i don't even want to push back the kitchen wall. i'm trying to cut down as much costs as i can.

And you are so right!! full height kitchen cabinets with no countertop!! cheaper!! hahahaa but i think my island will cost :(

Chris

Ello Chris,

Ah... understand liao... So your balcony will be part of your tv area. Hmmm your balcony got windows? or open air? From your floorplan seems like open air... :unsure: Asking cuz gotta take note since u considering leveling up the balcony for your tv area. Rain~ hahaz

Hmmm fengshui~ I agree with u. Since already know liao better listen, be safe than sorry~ There can be many designs behind the sofa :thumbs up: display cabinet, bookshelf or juz an artpiece~ :D

WIW can ah... Queen size bed... squeeze abit... and if u dun mind... can even try a hidden bed~ ;) But all this will depend on the onsite situation ;) WIW can be quite expensive tho :dribble:

Wont recommend to push back the kitchen... especially if ur family cooks alot~ :good:

Oh you going for an island? a dry one? take note of the walking space yo~ standard kitchen bottom cabinet depth 600mm hehez :rolleyes:

Mike

Edited by mikeyong500

Ello Chris,

Ah... understand liao... So your balcony will be part of your tv area. Hmmm your balcony got windows? or open air? From your floorplan seems like open air... :unsure: Asking cuz gotta take note since u considering leveling up the balcony for your tv area. Rain~ hahaz

Hmmm fengshui~ I agree with u. Since already know liao better listen, be safe than sorry~ There can be many designs behind the sofa :thumbs up: display cabinet, bookshelf or juz an artpiece~ :D

WIW can ah... Queen size bed... squeeze abit... and if u dun mind... can even try a hidden bed~ ;) But all this will depend on the onsite situation ;) WIW can be quite expensive tho :dribble:

Wont recommend to push back the kitchen... especially if ur family cooks alot~ :good:

Oh you going for an island? a dry one? take note of the walking space yo~ standard kitchen bottom cabinet depth 600mm hehez :rolleyes:

Mike

Hi Mike

We will put a king size bed..hence the room configuration is a problem now. Need to push back the kitchen...

The balcony has window :) The tv will be at the wall of the new room so it's bit further away from the window but yeah we'll still need to rush to close the window if it rains :)

And ya I'm aware of the 600mm depth it's really a pain!! i've a big place and yet it looks small when i try to work things around..hiaz...

Chris

Hi Mike

We will put a king size bed..hence the room configuration is a problem now. Need to push back the kitchen...

The balcony has window :) The tv will be at the wall of the new room so it's bit further away from the window but yeah we'll still need to rush to close the window if it rains :)

And ya I'm aware of the 600mm depth it's really a pain!! i've a big place and yet it looks small when i try to work things around..hiaz...

Chris

Heya Chris,

Hmmm... If u are looking at king size bed then probably can give the WIW idea a miss :rolleyes:

But then i dun feel there is a need to push back the kitchen... Standard size of King size bed is L2200 X W1800.

So looking at ur master bedroom should still have a walking space of at least 800mm unless u intend to put ur wardrobe opposite ur bed... :jawdrop:

From the looks of the floorplan you probably can put a 6 maybe 7 ft full height wardrobe at the wall right next to the room entrance. Can also add in another full height wardrobe L1200 X W500 opposite ur master bath :bath: at the right-angled corner there. (For towels, bathrobes, etc. :notti: )

Hahaz... dun fret that's why space planning impt :thumbs up: ( I like it lol been doing it for quite awhile :sport-smiley-004: ) anywayz shldnt ur ID/Contractor be helping and advicing u on the space planning?

Btw ur island will it be a wet or dry one? couple of thingst o take note if its wet :dribble:

Mike

Heya Chris,

Hmmm... If u are looking at king size bed then probably can give the WIW idea a miss :rolleyes:

But then i dun feel there is a need to push back the kitchen... Standard size of King size bed is L2200 X W1800.

So looking at ur master bedroom should still have a walking space of at least 800mm unless u intend to put ur wardrobe opposite ur bed... :jawdrop:

From the looks of the floorplan you probably can put a 6 maybe 7 ft full height wardrobe at the wall right next to the room entrance. Can also add in another full height wardrobe L1200 X W500 opposite ur master bath :bath: at the right-angled corner there. (For towels, bathrobes, etc. :notti: )

Hahaz... dun fret that's why space planning impt :thumbs up: ( I like it lol been doing it for quite awhile :sport-smiley-004: ) anywayz shldnt ur ID/Contractor be helping and advicing u on the space planning?

Btw ur island will it be a wet or dry one? couple of thingst o take note if its wet :dribble:

Mike

Hello Mike

We have thought of the ideas you mentioned :)

My current wardrobe is 6 ft n not enough hence a bigger one is needed. And yes the only way is to push back the kitchen so I can place the wardrobe directly opposite the bed ;)

Still thinking if I want to put a sink in the island or a dry one but definitely not going to cook on that island.

My contractor said push back the kitchen but since I am only getting keys in October hence I have lots a time to think of what other alternatives I can do....

Thanks for doing this on a Friday with me :)

Chris

Hello Mike

We have thought of the ideas you mentioned :)

My current wardrobe is 6 ft n not enough hence a bigger one is needed. And yes the only way is to push back the kitchen so I can place the wardrobe directly opposite the bed ;)

Still thinking if I want to put a sink in the island or a dry one but definitely not going to cook on that island.

My contractor said push back the kitchen but since I am only getting keys in October hence I have lots a time to think of what other alternatives I can do....

Thanks for doing this on a Friday with me :)

Chris

Hahaz no problemo. space planning is my rice bowl dunno why :dunno: but i kinda like doing it lol :thumbs up:

Somemore i'm slacking at home after a couple of days work at replacing window rubber gaskets. Look at this.

img1664vl.jpg

Shot at 2012-07-27 melted and yucky~

img1621dx.jpg

Shot at 2012-07-27 have to slowly dig it out~ :jawdrop::sport-smiley-004:

Alrighty back to ur reno~ hmmm what wardrobe size u looking at? 10ft? or more? btw the wardrobe at the wall next to the entrance plus the wardrobe opposite ur master bath adds up to 10 ft alr... :D hmmm then can also add a low height cabinet below the windows too... more storage space! :dribble:

Ah ic intending to have a wet island eh? hmmm do note that hdb rules dun allow concealed piping and wiring alright? means cannot hide them under tiles or partition block. must have access. box up still okays~ :thumbs up:

Mike

Edited by mikeyong500

Hahaz no problemo. space planning is my rice bowl dunno why :dunno: but i kinda like doing it lol :thumbs up:

Somemore i'm slacking at home after a couple of days work at replacing window rubber gaskets. Look at this.

img1664vl.jpg

Shot at 2012-07-27 melted and yucky~

img1621dx.jpg

Shot at 2012-07-27 have to slowly dig it out~ :jawdrop::sport-smiley-004:

Alrighty back to ur reno~ hmmm what wardrobe size u looking at? 10ft? or more? btw the wardrobe at the wall next to the entrance plus the wardrobe opposite ur master bath adds up to 10 ft alr... :D hmmm then can also add a low height cabinet below the windows too... more storage space! :dribble:

Ah ic intending to have a wet island eh? hmmm do note that hdb rules dun allow concealed piping and wiring alright? means cannot hide them under tiles or partition block. must have access. box up still okays~ :thumbs up:

Mike

Good job there on your window!

My very initial plan was to put the wardrobe as you have suggested but am thinking its funny n not exactly visually nice to have two wardrobes in a room.i don't know I might still change my mind to original plan but I also do not want to block the window. Am thinking of bringing the basin outside, at the wall opposite the toilet and the put bath tub n standing shower in the bathroom ;) this is if I really push back the kitchen wall :)

I shall leave the technical part ie, hdb restrictions, to my contractor :)

Good job there on your window!

My very initial plan was to put the wardrobe as you have suggested but am thinking its funny n not exactly visually nice to have two wardrobes in a room.i don't know I might still change my mind to original plan but I also do not want to block the window. Am thinking of bringing the basin outside, at the wall opposite the toilet and the put bath tub n standing shower in the bathroom ;) this is if I really push back the kitchen wall :)

I shall leave the technical part ie, hdb restrictions, to my contractor :)

It should look okays. The smaller wardrobe can be made flushed to the wall next to it. Can try to make it look the same as the wall to hide it. And also it wont block the natural light from the window no worries~ :thumbs up:

U've got a huge Master Bathroom so can do bathtub :) And many other things~

It's good to know about the rules tho hehez :)

Anywayz juz my suggestions. Hope it helps!

Mike

Hi Chris,

I think you are planning well... yes fengshui helps to ease the flow or qi but i know nothing bcos i believe fengshui is abt comfortness within home. Then naturally the qi will flow.

Back to your space planning, i believe you will have a dream home from the sound of the conversation. Home is where the heart is... I can see you are taking effort in planning it well.

It's nice knowing you having technical support from your contractors, but what are the question you are looking at??

Last but not least hacking is not expensive but the labour is.

Below link is the concept ideas.

http://s1196.photobucket.com/albums/aa420/sarahlix/Concept%20ideas/

Sarah Lim

Edited by SarahLim

It should look okays. The smaller wardrobe can be made flushed to the wall next to it. Can try to make it look the same as the wall to hide it. And also it wont block the natural light from the window no worries~ :thumbs up:

U've got a huge Master Bathroom so can do bathtub :) And many other things~

It's good to know about the rules tho hehez :)

Anywayz juz my suggestions. Hope it helps!

Mike

Hi Mike

We have new ideas again and this one seems so good!! Coz we no need to push back kitchen wall (can save money!!). What happened was we went to balestier last weekend and visited closet design for their pole system. My current house I'm using their pole system for my 6ft wardrobe. So I was thinking let's just go in and see what they can do for us.

They suggested the wall outside the bathroom and the wall opposite the bath room to be fitted with pole system. My concern is I don't want to block the 'lights' and so they suggested just do pole system without door. i love the idea!! the only concern is dust of course but between dust and pushing back kitchen wall, i chose the former!!

now i'm thinking if i should do see through glass door for both sides of the wardrobe so i wont block the lights from the window. of course the 'width' of that area has to be considered :)

Chris