Minerat

Journey Of My Minaret Walk

Finally, after 3 weeks and many trips to the tile shops ourselves, we have finally confirmed all the tiles for the whole house. Unfortunately in our haste, I'd actually forgotten to take pictures!

And I spent the most on yard tiles at $8.30psf! Hahahha.

We bought our TV today! Wasn't really looking to buy today, though we were looking for a 55" one for the living room. Went to Gain City at Marina and the next thing we knew...was that we had signed up for this

lgtvz.jpg

Model is LG 55LM6410. Well, we had always bought Samsung TVs. This is our first LG one. Hopefully it turns out well. What clinches it for me was the fact that it was $700 cheaper than a same-spec Samsung TV. Plus the 3D glasses were alot better. Hope this turns out to be the right decision :sport-smiley-004:

I am eagerly counting down to 01 Aug. Finally I can smell the keys to my house. First thing I am gonna do after collecting my keys??? Use the front porch to wash my car! HAhahaha :bath::sport-smiley-018::dancingqueen:

2:30pm!!!! :furious: The lawyer said earliest I can collect my keys is 2:30pm tomorrow!! Put me out of my misery already!! :help::bow::dribble::furious:

KEY COLLECTION DAY :sport-smiley-004: :sport-smiley-004: :sport-smiley-004:

Appointment at 2:30pm. I still had time to catch a movie at 12:10pm. Movie ended at 2:15pm and I have to fly down to the lawyer's office. Reached there at 2:40pm, and the legal secretary handed this bunch to me.

pic000181.jpg

"So which key opens the main door??" I asked. She shrugged..."I guessed you'd have to try out everything." :furious: Thanks hor...

What surprises me was that the original pouch by CDL was still available. That must have been at least 18 years old and passed down 2 owners before me.

So I said my bye and flew down to my house. Donny was already there waiting for me. Inserted the key, opened the front door.. and.........

......... THE ALARM WENT OFF!!! Some welcome huh!! :help::bangwall:

Panicked, I called the agent, who promised to give me the owner's number (not before laughing at me though). Called the owner and nobody picked up. All this time, the alarm continued blaring in the background with all its ferocity. After what seemed like an eternity, the alarm stopped. Donny's contractor switched off the power mains....okay, take note... that's theft 101. :P

Tomorrow is the BIG day. Finally my reno is going to start :yamseng::deal::good: Stay tuned!

Edited by Minerat

KEY COLLECTION DAY :sport-smiley-004: :sport-smiley-004: :sport-smiley-004:

Appointment at 2:30pm. I still had time to catch a movie at 12:10pm. Movie ended at 2:15pm and I have to fly down to the lawyer's office. Reached there at 2:40pm, and the legal secretary handed this bunch to me.

pic000181.jpg

"So which key opens the main door??" I asked. She shrugged..."I guessed you'd have to try out everything." :furious: Thanks hor...

What surprises me was that the original pouch by CDL was still available. That must have been at least 18 years old and passed down 2 owners before me.

So I said my bye and flew down to my house. Donny was already there waiting for me. Inserted the key, opened the front door.. and.........

......... THE ALARM WENT OFF!!! Some welcome huh!! :help::bangwall:

Panicked, I called the agent, who promised to give me the owner's number (not before laughing at me though). Called the owner and nobody picked up. All this time, the alarm continued blaring in the background with all its ferocity. After what seemed like an eternity, the alarm stopped. Donny's contractor switched off the power mains....okay, take note... that's theft 101. :P

Tomorrow is the BIG day. Finally my reno is going to start :yamseng::deal::good: Stay tuned!

hahaha.... a very good welcome.. i'm sure you'll huat big staying in this house given the "alarming" welcoming .... :) Have a smooth reno!

Today was a hectic day. So many contractors came. I dun even know who is who. First to arrive was the pest control guy from RENTOKILL.

He took some time to go through the house before telling me that there is no termite activities... Phew... BUT (there's always a but, isn't it?), one of the door frame was previously infested. Luckily owner treated it before the whole frame got gnawed off.

pic000188.jpg

Coincidentally the previous owner dropped by that evening and I asked him about the frame. He said he didn't even know about it. Oh oh, then where did all the termites go??!!

Edited by Minerat

Next BUT came swift and fast. One of the parquet skirting on the 2nd floor was infested with ants. And 3rd floor toilet had a cockroach infestation! Eeeeks!

pic000190.jpg

pic000191.jpg

Well, I guessed a man's gotta do what a man's gotta do....

pic000189.jpg

May_dream1, help! I need some of that magic chalk!

Edited by Minerat

We discovered a few other things today, mainly problems with the waterproofing and 2nd floor roof extension. Looks like my budget will be busted very soon :(

Day 1 (03 Aug 2012)

The contractor was already onsite when we arrived at about 10am. I believed today is the day that they started to place protection around the house for things that I intend to keep, starting with the front door.

pic000211.jpg

I hanged around for a while and I must say overall I am pretty impressed with what they were doing, even if it's just to lay out protection. I see the worker measuring and cutting out the staircase protection planks piece by piece. There wasn't any sense that they are rushing or doing things for the sake of doing. I must say this first impression was pretty good!

pic000213.jpg

pic000214.jpg

pic000212m.jpg

However, when I went back again at night, saw that they have killed one of my sunflowers....so sad :( We also saw a huge and heavy plank they rested against a big curry leaves tree outside our house, that is threatening to de-root that tree. We'd really hope they can take care not to harm the plants as they go about doing their work.

pic000217.jpg

Edited by Minerat

Day 2 (04 Aug 2012)

Hacking started in ernest today. Reached there around 10+am and can hear the noise the hacking is creating. Sincere apologies to my neighbours who were affected. Hang in there, it's going to be over soon.

img20120804wa0003.jpg

img20120804wa0000.jpg

Edited by Minerat