yokechye

Our First Home Sweet Home

Just got our keys to our unit last week. Defects list sent to HDB branch office and now waiting for them to rectify them.

A preview of our unit layout

4rtype4bcrop.jpg

The living room

Wall length only approx 1.8m, quite short considering it is for a TV wall.

dsc07597resize.jpg

The master bedroom. Bit small but got bay window for cozy corner

dsc07606resize.jpg

Bedroom 1 with baywindow too. Gonna be our spare room for the moment

dsc07610resize.jpg

Bedroom 2 is going to be our study room. Gonna have a full wall bookself

dsc07611resize.jpg

Kitchen. Tile colour not so nice but most of it will be hidden by the kitchen cabinets

dsc07612resize.jpg

Service yard. Pretty small considering we are getting a front loader washing machine

dsc07613resize.jpg

mosaic tiles in the bathroom shower area. Actually not too bad la. should be able to get used to the colours

dsc07630resize.jpg

Had a site survey with the aircon contractor and realised that there will be some problem with the aircon in living room.

The beam depth across between living and the bedroom corridor is low and is at the same height as the bedroom door. which means if I want to run the drain pipe via the 2 bedrooms, it has to run a full round at low level.

Another possible way is to:

Option 1, run across the HS wall to the common bathroom, but it would mean that I will see the 1 inch trunking for drainage across the wall at 2.1m height.

slide1tq.jpg

Option 2, still can run along the main trunking, but need to add a pump to pump the water up above door level and connect with the rest of the drainage piping for bedroom 1 and 2.

slide2h.jpg

Lastly, option 3, totally dun wan aircon for living room since we are having ceiling fan!

Now we are in a dilemma, To install aircon or not to install aircon in living room.

Anyone got any recommendations for the drainage or comments regarding a pump for the drainage system?

Edited by yokechye

Congrats on your new place! Which part of Queenstown?

Do install aircon in the living room. You'll appreciate the AC during hot months like this time of the year.

Congrats on your new place! Which part of Queenstown?

Do install aircon in the living room. You'll appreciate the AC during hot months like this time of the year.

thanks adidaem! I saw your t-blog a while back and love the simple design, especially your kitchen!

Our new place is just behind Dawson Place.

Thanks. :)

Is it Skyterrace or Skyville? Didn't know the new flats are already up. Congrats! I love staying in Queenstown. Welcome to the neighborhood.

Hi yokechye,

Congrats in getting your key and all the best in your reno.

Personally, i don't install a/c in living room. For me, utility bill already high liao, cannot afford to have a/c in the living room to draw more electrical power.

Thanks. :)

Is it Skyterrace or Skyville? Didn't know the new flats are already up. Congrats! I love staying in Queenstown. Welcome to the neighborhood.

It's Strathmore Green. Used to stay in Bukit Merah some 15 yrs ago and now back to a familiar place nearby :-P

Hi yokechye,

Congrats in getting your key and all the best in your reno.

Personally, i don't install a/c in living room. For me, utility bill already high liao, cannot afford to have a/c in the living room to draw more electrical power.

Thks!

Thought abt it, though I believe we won't be switching it on most of the time unless there's a home party or something

while waiting for HDB to rectify the defects and then renovation works, some of the things that we have bought/ordered so far:

Sofa

Mattress

Fridge

Washing Machine

Kitchen Sink

Kitchen Sink Faucet

Ceiling Fans

and some other small accessories....

Now researching on Oven.

Anyone uses Rinnai oven and have any reviews on it?

Had came out with a few layout. Doing very simple renovation.

The latest one:

4rmtype4b20120530.jpg

some of the switches and light position have to move.

Edited by yokechye