OnTheRoad 0 Report post Posted May 23, 2012 thanks bro, dont mind to share the id?Hi Jenova, have pm'ed u. I'm a sista btw. haha. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
OnTheRoad 0 Report post Posted May 24, 2012 There's been many half-naked men in my house lately.... Gentleman levelling up my balcony with my MBRM floor... Gentleman smooth screeding my kitchen walls... Gentleman constructing a "skirting" in my backyard, so that water will not flow into my neighbour's backyard... Gentleman mixing sand & cement in preparation for tiling of living room tomorrow... yay! On a more serious note, progress seem to be slowing down... sometimes when I look at all the sand, wires, cement, it's really hard to imagine how these mess will transform into my house... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Valerie Low 0 Report post Posted May 25, 2012 So you have decided to extend your MBR? Good decision! I think a balcony is not very useful if it is just facing the backyard of another house. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
OnTheRoad 0 Report post Posted May 25, 2012 So you have decided to extend your MBR? Good decision! I think a balcony is not very useful if it is just facing the backyard of another house.Hi Valerie, the balcony faces the main gate & the peaceful street actually, but we'll jus have to chillax at the porch for now, cos need space for our mbrm. 2 kiddos gonna bunk with us for next 2 yrs.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
OnTheRoad 0 Report post Posted May 28, 2012 Over the last 2 days, the tiling for my living room & storeroom was done up. The wall tiles for the ground floor toilet was put up. The false ceilings for MBRM & 2 common bedrooms were taken down.... I never imagined my roof structure would be made of wood. I thought by this era, maybe steel or something? I asked hub if he knows how long the wood can last... he says "999 years... they build these things to last". Erm... ya I guess when they built the houses in that estate in 1989, the technology should be advanced enough & construction regulations rigorous enough to ensure wooden roof trusses can last. Maybe not 999 years, but perhaps another 20 years. While admiring the structures, I had half a mind to do away with the false ceilings & have an exposed-rafters look, like those ang mo houses... I can envision my ID in the background looking incredulously at me then the other one will tell me it will cost $xxx more because you need to do this & that... Haha. Maybe I shall just try & see their expressions. Think I will just start saving up to build a 3rd floor 10-20 years down the road... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
OnTheRoad 0 Report post Posted June 1, 2012 (edited) Whew, been busy few days juggling between son's holiday activities (his school holiday is not our holiday), visiting reno site & keeping my gym regime... wanna lose the pregnancy weight before I return to work! Finally got to check out the website that Adidaem posted on a beautiful inter terrace reno: http://emrenoblog.wordpress.com/2012/04/15/inspirations-the-cambridge-road-inter-terrace/The colour scheme is pleasing to my eye... Uploaded with ImageShack.usMy hub is not into industrial theme though I'm trying to slowly convert him...hehe...What I like most about this house - besides the colour scheme - is the ample bookshelves... So, decided that besides the shelves at my living room, I will build more at the stairwell...maybe part 2. Also digging the chair & the black fan... Edited June 1, 2012 by OnTheRoad Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
OnTheRoad 0 Report post Posted June 1, 2012 The tiling of the ground floor's living spaces are almost done. The entire space is 60x60 homogenous gloss tiles, but for the dry kitchen, we made the decision to use the 15x60 wood plank homogenous tiles as we expect to be preparing food there & need less slippery tiles. Safety before aesthetics. Tilers at work on the dry kitchen...my IDs were kind enough to not charge me for the extra labour for this area & for the subway tiles backsplash, as areas are not big... Kitchen backsplash - subway tiles with white grouting... hope it wont be hard to maintain! Prefer to make these shelves instead of using stainless steel toiletries rack... reluctant to drill holes & risk metal rusting... MBRM toilet2nd Floor toiletAh Soon's people are also finishing up the rewiring... the electrical is also quite eye-opening for a reno-suaku like me, never knew that hardcore drilling, laying of metal pipes on the ground & covering it with cement & tiles, & routing through pvc pipes in the ceilings are what concealed wirings require...Conceal wiring looking good... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jumbopanther 2 Report post Posted June 2, 2012 Hi On the road, reading through your interesting T-blog on your terrace. Guess what, my new buy is also at D19, and coincidentally, I was also choosing tiles at Hafary this pm. Good wide range of tiles and excellent service I received from them.My house is >30 years old, so mine need a total transformation. I am doing A&A, totally rip off much of the stuff in there, doors, windows, tiles, ceiling, you name it, its gone, new water pipes, new electrical wiring. Mine was like yours, using wood above ceilingGuess what, today, after seeing above my ceiling, had just decided to do high sloping roof, going to exposing the trusses!You are right, didn't see many landed housing blog around here. Hope to see more to share experiences. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
OnTheRoad 0 Report post Posted June 3, 2012 Hi On the road, reading through your interesting T-blog on your terrace. Guess what, my new buy is also at D19, and coincidentally, I was also choosing tiles at Hafary this pm. Good wide range of tiles and excellent service I received from them.My house is >30 years old, so mine need a total transformation. I am doing A&A, totally rip off much of the stuff in there, doors, windows, tiles, ceiling, you name it, its gone, new water pipes, new electrical wiring. Mine was like yours, using wood above ceilingGuess what, today, after seeing above my ceiling, had just decided to do high sloping roof, going to exposing the trusses!You are right, didn't see many landed housing blog around here. Hope to see more to share experiences.Hi jumbopanther, oh, we're district neighbours! Hmm... am curious to know where u're at, since is a 30 yr old house... If you need alternative quotes for decking, windows & electrical, let me know... I'm so envious of your exposed trusses!!! That's one of my "if onlys"...I imagine I can do loft style, etc... aiya so envious!!... I will have to bu yao lian invite myself to your reno site once u start. Hahaha... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jumbopanther 2 Report post Posted June 3, 2012 Hi jumbopanther, oh, we're district neighbours! Hmm... am curious to know where u're at, since is a 30 yr old house... If you need alternative quotes for decking, windows & electrical, let me know... I'm so envious of your exposed trusses!!! That's one of my "if onlys"...I imagine I can do loft style, etc... aiya so envious!!... I will have to bu yao lian invite myself to your reno site once u start. Hahaha... Cool. I have got the electrical, plumber, aircon, and wet work contractor already. What I need now are:1) windows contractor, changing the whole house window2) canopy contractor, doing front and back canopy3) staircase stainless steel railing and glass + teak wood stepI have no wood decking, but am using homogenous tiles which are wood-lookalike so as to reduce maintenance problem as decking for the front beside the carporch as outdoor alfresco style. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
OnTheRoad 0 Report post Posted June 4, 2012 Cool. I have got the electrical, plumber, aircon, and wet work contractor already. What I need now are:1) windows contractor, changing the whole house window2) canopy contractor, doing front and back canopy3) staircase stainless steel railing and glass + teak wood stepI have no wood decking, but am using homogenous tiles which are wood-lookalike so as to reduce maintenance problem as decking for the front beside the carporch as outdoor alfresco style.Hey I've pm-ed u liao, for windows & wood. For canopy, I'm not sure what is that? Isit sails? I'm installing awnings but have not installed yet, just got 2 quotes so far, so can't really recommend. So you're also the practical sort? But wood for decking is very nice leh...haha.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
OnTheRoad 0 Report post Posted June 4, 2012 (edited) Last night, we popped by Scanteak's sale... Shortlisted this $499......& bought this! about $539 My parents have 2 chests of drawers bought from Scanteak...they've lasted for > 10 years & still looking good. Altho Scanteak's is likely plantation teak, it should still be a very lasting table made of solid teak: durable, insect + rot + water resistant. Happy! Bought another study table made of solid plywood for $199. Was initially going to buy from Ikea, but I consider this good value. Edited June 4, 2012 by OnTheRoad Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jumbopanther 2 Report post Posted June 4, 2012 Hey I've pm-ed u liao, for windows & wood. For canopy, I'm not sure what is that? Isit sails? I'm installing awnings but have not installed yet, just got 2 quotes so far, so can't really recommend. So you're also the practical sort? But wood for decking is very nice leh...haha..Canopy I was referring to are those outdoor glass roofing over my alfresco porch area.Yes, i am the practical sort, must be good to maintain, example even where i mount my aircon compressor also very important, as they need to be reached for maintenance easily.Right, I was very tempted to use wood for decking initially, but after some time of considering and re-considering, decided to change to tile which is wood-lookalike, was quite surprise at its displayed effect. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
OnTheRoad 0 Report post Posted June 5, 2012 Canopy I was referring to are those outdoor glass roofing over my alfresco porch area.Yes, i am the practical sort, must be good to maintain, example even where i mount my aircon compressor also very important, as they need to be reached for maintenance easily.Right, I was very tempted to use wood for decking initially, but after some time of considering and re-considering, decided to change to tile which is wood-lookalike, was quite surprise at its displayed effect.Oh ya, that'll be similar to the awnings I'm going to install. But ur reno seems to have started wks ago? Wld be nice if can show some pictures of ur wood tiles... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jumbopanther 2 Report post Posted June 5, 2012 Oh ya, that'll be similar to the awnings I'm going to install. But ur reno seems to have started wks ago? Wld be nice if can show some pictures of ur wood tiles...My reno only started about 1 wk only, just hacking on the L2 laminate floors and the windows.The external decking not done yet. Think the contractor will only do the front hacking and relaying of tiles much later as they still need to access in and out.Anyway, only seen do preliminary selection of the the tiles at Hafary, have not confirmed qty and final cost yet.Once done, i will post the photos. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites